We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views, Great Food, Excellent Location”
Review of Casa Del Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Del Soul
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I visit Nicaragua 2-3 times a year and over the years have been trying to find a place inviting enough to return to again and again...I found that place at Casa Del Soul. The house is located on a beautiful bluff overlooking a gorgeous bay with a nice sand beach within a 5 minute walk from your room. The whole time I was there only 2 other people were on the beach and they were local fishermen...it could not have been more peaceful with a feeling of absolute remoteness. The key element of Casa Del Soul is although you feel remote, you are only a 10 minute taxi ride into San Juan del Sur. Randy and Brenda have two excellent taxi drivers who will take you in/pick you up from town at any hour of the day. OR during the day, you can walk into town which took us about 25 minutes, a nice way to start the day.
Randy is an excellent host and will arrange tours, drop off/pick off at the border...even having a pizza delivered to us so we could spend the rainy evening in bed watching movies. It was like staying at your good buddies home. Another benefit of staying at the house, is Randy gives you a local cell phone to use. The phone has the two taxi drivers in it as well as Casa Del Soul. An excellent idea and very much appreciated.
With all the attractions found in San Juan Del Sur, we found ourselves staying at the home, wandering down to the beach with Chucho, and lounging by the pool. Always with binoculars in hand as the property just south of the house and out onto the bay headlands is secondary forest government land (won't be developed) with see a good amount of bird activity. For dinners, we hired the fabulous Fabiola to make a couple of our favorite dinners, one of which is Churrasco with chimichurri sauce..Fabiola nailed it..absolutely nailed it. The cut of meat she bought was tender and we used butter knives to cut the meat with...she prepared rosemary potatoes, string beans, and a delicious salad to accompany the dinner. AND for dessert she made my favorite, Flan. Needless to say, with an awesome cook like Fabiola we had dinners covered. Breakfast, cooked by Yami, was hearty enough to get us through the afternoon (accompanied by snacks) to get us to Fabiola's dinner. Breakfast was a choice of omelettes, banana pancakes or eggs your way..each included juice, toast, gallo pinto, and fruit.
We were fortunate enough to have the house to ourselves the majority of the time which was great. We felt safe and secure with Randy and his family and especially with Chucho who is an excellent guard dog. I would take him to the beach with me, and being a solo female, felt completely secure with Chucho by my side. HE HAS YOUR BACK.
I recommend Room #1..yes, it is a bit more money but the view is stunning. You feel like your on a boat with the huge windows looking out onto this beautiful bay and headlands. Many an hour was spent lounging on the bed taking in the marine life activity and bird life.
As my friend and I discussed, it felt like we were visiting our buddy. Randy is a cool guy with a lot of travel stories..he is easy to hang with and invites you into his home in earnest. Good people.
If you are looking for a place to rage and party until all hours of the night, this is not your place. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all, but still be close enough to bar and restaurants then Casa del Soul fits the bill. I recommend for women travellers, close friends and couples.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManaNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 326 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned from 3 nights at Casa del Soul. As others have stated, Randy is incredibly helpful and accommodating. He helped us arrange a private driver from Granada, and then to Managua for our return flight. You should make use of this service for transport. The cell phone that Randy lends comes in very handy for when you want to explore San Juan del Sur or the local beaches, as do the two taxi drivers that service Casa del Soul (no other taxi drivers will be able to find the house!) Randy took us to the fish market at the south end of the beach and brought our fish back to the house while we stayed in town, and Yami (the housekeeper) cleaned the fish for us.
The view is great, and the private chef, Fabiola, was great! She is a super nice woman and cooked a delicious meal, and we enjoyed talking to her about life in Nicaragua and getting a local's perspective. We had the house to ourselves while we were there, but this place would be great for a group of friends or a family that wants to come down. You can purchase amazing seafood at amazingly low prices and cheap beer/liquor and cook your own meal in the awesome outdoor kitchen...all while overlooking the bay.
The seafood in SJDS is so fresh and tasty, beer is cheaper than water on the beach, and the beaches are undeveloped compared to other resort destinations. What more could you ask for?
There is no AC, but there are plenty of fans and a nice breeze. However, I get very warm when I sleep, so woke up hot every morning. But that comes with being in the tropics, so just go hop in the pool when you need to cool down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Casa del Soul is a pristine beach getaway! It offers a stunning view of the bay in a peaceful and quiet setting. We had the most relaxing and romantic honeymoon staying in the beautiful premier suite. Randy and Brenda were extremely helpful and friendly, we loved getting to know them. The staff was also very helpful and welcoming. The kitchen access was particularly nice because we love to cook and were able to cook often. We enjoyed the walk to town each day, it provided magnificent views of San Juan del Sur. We hope to stay at Casa del Soul again! The dog Chucho is very cute and sweet.
Waverly and Reid

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at Casa Del Soul in April, 2013, and had a fine experience with Randy and his staff. The location, just outside of San Juan del Sur, afforded a spectacular view of the bay, with easy access down the hill to a series of lovely beaches. Randy was more than accommodating, offering us use of a mobile phone with a list of local taxis by which we could travel into the town, and even transporting us there himself when he was heading that way. Breakfasts, included, were very good, and we were also invited to avail ourselves of the services of a local woman who would come and prepare a wonderful dinner on Randy's premises for $7 plus the cost of food. All in all, a great experience for us - quiet, scenic, and restful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just returned from 8 nights at Casa del Soul and it was fantastic. We wanted to relax and honestly there could be few places better suited or set up for that anywhere.The combination of the setting and the house and service itself is just perfect.
The Premier suite has a fantastic view of the bay, is nicely furnished, and was a great room. The pool, palapa, and common areas are all well thought out and offer so many options to lounge, read, or whatever. We pretty much did all three.
Within the area there are things to do and randy is extremely knowledgable and helpful with suggestions. We didn't do much of anything which was our goal to begin with! We did one trip to another beach and a couple of afternoons in town, otherwise we just enjoyed the casa itself. Chucho the dog is a really nice addition to the staff and good company.
Breakfasts were good and twice we had Fabiola come cook for us (once was the Mahi-Mahi mentioned in the previous review, well caught fish, eh!).
If you want to relax and enjoy the tropics and a stunning view (Monkeys optional) this place just can't be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenglandtoyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Such a peaceful and relaxing place, away from the noise and hustle of town. Randy and Brenda are such wonderful hosts who fully welcome you into their home. After a day fishing, we came back to a home cooked meal featuring the 2 mahi mahi we caught (enough for us and the other house guests) not to mention steak, lobster, plantains and about 6 other side dishes

If you're looking for a relaxing hammock, a refreshing swimming pool and a very cute dog, you must stop by Casa del Soul

Room Tip: The apartment in back is the only room with a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4soup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Casa del Soul is unlike anything I've seen in my years of travel. The only sounds I heard when I woke up were the waves on the shore of the deserted bay below. Oh, and the eerie sound of howler monkeys which were in the area all the time.

What more could one ask for than a clean, quiet place in a truly gorgeous setting? If only I could just live there full time like Randy!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Cheyney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#5 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
245 reviews
3.1 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#27 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
315 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#12 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#7 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#14 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Soul

Address: Pacific Marlin N 34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 73 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $99 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Soul is an oceanfront, luxury 4,000 sq. ft. home. It is situated on Nacascolo Bay, 5 minutes from San Juan Del Sur. It has a large outdoor deck surrounding a 4 by 9 meter swimming pool. The big balcony off the 2nd floor bedrooms give it a commanding view of the ocean and the tropical forest. Cable TV, DVD, ipod music systems, refrigerator, coffee makers make your room very comfortable. A full breakfast is included. We give cell phones to our guests and I help you do anything you want to in Nicaragua. Transportation,tours,volcanos,surfing,fishing,shopping, REAL ESTATE, ATV's,zipline,horseback riding,etc... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Soul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Del Soul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing