We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Although I did not stay at the hotel, my friend and I decided to eat at the restaurant and it was by far the best meal we've had in a very long time. The owners are extremely nice and accommodating, and Mauro, the Italian chef, is incredible. Every bite was like little fairies blowing on my tongue. The bruschetta, eggplant parmesan, fettucini alfredo, tenderloin, and the chef's special desert were all extremely delicious. I highly recommend having dinner here if you are looking for some good eating.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
Thank jstawiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 247 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2011

A friend and I stayed for 2 nights at El Jardin, and had a lovely time. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, and the owners, Timothy and Delphine, went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and pleasant. The restaurant serves amazing food- (best we had in Nicaragua), and the Chef, Mauro, is lots of fun too! (Breakfast is included, and the restaurant is open for dinner). I would highly recommend this setting. You may want to consider renting a car as it is a bit out of town and a short drive from the beach. Otherwise it is a $5-10 taxi ride, which is a small price to pay for such a beautiful setting. Go stay at El Jardin- you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatasalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Tranquility is the word that comes to mind when I remember my stay at El Jardin in San Juan del Sur. The location, views, architecture and colors schemes all worked together to give one a sense of calmness and serenity which was highly desirable after a week or so spent in the noisy, busy cities of Nicaragua.

April and her family were attentive to our every need and assisted with making reliable travel arrangements both to and from the hotel from Managua as well as getting around to see the local sites.

El Jardin is definitely a place I would highly recommend to any one seeking a relaxing environment, enjoys originality, good food and good company. I hope to visit again soon.

Cherie Melton

Depoe Bay, Oregon

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meltch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My husband and I along with another couple spent 5 wonderful days at El Jardin in December. Location: El Jardin is located about 5 minutes by car from the town center of San Juan del Sur. We were so happy to be in this location and not in town. Very peaceful and clean, yet still close to everything. Look & Feel: The architecture of El Jardin is beautiful, its a series of small buildings centered around the pool. With only 11 guest rooms, you feel like the place is all yours. One of the highlights of staying at El Jardin is getting to know the owners - truly special folks who do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. We miss the family as much as we miss Nicaragua! Food: As many others on this page have said, April is a great chef! All of our meals had the freshed of ingredients, were simple, elegant, and delicious. Recommendations: 1. Be sure to ask April about the hiking trails near the property. Great views! 2. Take the hour walk down to Plaza Maderas, spend the day at the beach, then cab back to El Jardin. 3. Ask April to set up a day fishing and boating trip. It's a great way to see the coastline and many secluded bays.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simpson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

If you are looking for a romantic getaway, you couldn't ask for a better place than El Jardin. The rooms are colorful and unique, with comfortable beds and gorgeous views. The American owners are fantastic and helpful. The food is amazing. April bakes the most delicious muffins every morning and there is fresh fruit and coffee to enjoy them with. The restaurant is amazing, easily the best food we ate in Nicaragua. April's tortilla soup and fresh roll appetizers are exceptional.

The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool if you want to enjoy the sun and relax, or the beaches and town of San Juan del Sur is a very short drive away. There are gorgeous ocean views, and the jungle begins right behind the hotel. I highly recommend a morning jungle hike to see the monkeys.

If you are interested in a secluded, romantic getaway at a beautiful B&B where the owners treat you like family, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fancygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

didn't pick this hotel because I'm highly allergic to cats and dogs, both of which are found at this hotel. Too bad because it would have been a great spot.
i just wanted to mention how responsive the owner was to the numerous questions I sent via email while I was doing my hotel research. I must have asked her 30 questions about her hotel. I know she understands what good service means. If youre ok with pets, you should consider this place. Have fun!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank ecoseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

April and co. at El Jardin really know what they're doing. From the outrageous sticky buns in the morning to the scrumptious fish tacos at lunch to the hearty beef enchiladas at night, you will not be disappointed by the food. It's hard to leave this place.

Rooms are clean, spacious and top floor units have amazing views of the bay...straight from your pillow you can see out to the ocean.

Just outside of town(maybe 2 miles) on the road to Maderas beach, a great beach to learn surfing and relax(just make sure you have a 4 wheel drive b/c the road is pretty dicey).

Great place, great people...I will be back indeed.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank obsurfer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#24 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#13 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
338 reviews
2 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.8 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
72 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $62 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nacascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur
El Jardin Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing