We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views, amazing food”
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gorgeous views, amazing food”
Reviewed January 10, 2010

If you are looking for a romantic getaway, you couldn't ask for a better place than El Jardin. The rooms are colorful and unique, with comfortable beds and gorgeous views. The American owners are fantastic and helpful. The food is amazing. April bakes the most delicious muffins every morning and there is fresh fruit and coffee to enjoy them with. The restaurant is amazing, easily the best food we ate in Nicaragua. April's tortilla soup and fresh roll appetizers are exceptional.

The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool if you want to enjoy the sun and relax, or the beaches and town of San Juan del Sur is a very short drive away. There are gorgeous ocean views, and the jungle begins right behind the hotel. I highly recommend a morning jungle hike to see the monkeys.

If you are interested in a secluded, romantic getaway at a beautiful B&B where the owners treat you like family, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fancygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    41
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
115
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dc area
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

didn't pick this hotel because I'm highly allergic to cats and dogs, both of which are found at this hotel. Too bad because it would have been a great spot.
i just wanted to mention how responsive the owner was to the numerous questions I sent via email while I was doing my hotel research. I must have asked her 30 questions about her hotel. I know she understands what good service means. If youre ok with pets, you should consider this place. Have fun!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ecoseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2009

April and co. at El Jardin really know what they're doing. From the outrageous sticky buns in the morning to the scrumptious fish tacos at lunch to the hearty beef enchiladas at night, you will not be disappointed by the food. It's hard to leave this place.

Rooms are clean, spacious and top floor units have amazing views of the bay...straight from your pillow you can see out to the ocean.

Just outside of town(maybe 2 miles) on the road to Maderas beach, a great beach to learn surfing and relax(just make sure you have a 4 wheel drive b/c the road is pretty dicey).

Great place, great people...I will be back indeed.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank obsurfer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, florida
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at El Jardin. The hotel is completely creative and unique and the Thai-fusion cuisine is amazing. April is the owner and chef at the restaurant. You will not find a better hostess. She is truly a gifted chef and always makes you feel at home. There is a very calm and peaceful atmosphere at the hotel. The sunsets over Nacascolo Bay are mesmerizing and are different every night. It is our favorite place to stay!

  • Liked — atmosphere, friendly service
  • Disliked — nothing, totally positive experience
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gogators08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria b.c.
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2009

El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant is a fabulous place to stay!!! We
thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
The American family that own the hotel/restaurant were wonderful, very helpful as far as beaches to see etc.
April is owner and chef, and she prepares beautiful gourmet fusion meals daily. Every day was a mouthwatering treat, she would suprise us with a choice of Japanese, Thai or Mexican
delicacies.
The rooms were spotless, and the staff very friendly. We loved the location, very quiet, you can hear monkeys in the distance, and birds chirping, while lounging by the pool. The view over Nacascolo Bay is beautiful!
We could walk into San Juan del Sur in about half an hour, and there were several great surfing beaches near by.
I am sure we will be returning to Nicaragua, it is a very inexpensive holiday, and for sure we will be staying again at El Jardin hotel and restaurant. Five stars!!!!

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank perky59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chieti
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2008

What a wonderful time we spent in this amazing place!
El Jardin is a very romantic getaway, amazing view, and a special FOOD! Here you have everything you need for the perfect vacation!April the chef, is so talented and her energy will make you feel at home! The menu is so good. so many choice and the ingredients are so fresh!We will be back for sure...
Thank you for made our time so unforgettable!

  • Liked — the energy
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sogno71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2008

We just spent three days/two nights in El Jardin by San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. The hotel itself is well designed and decorated ... unlike any other we've seen. See the pics. They also have a restaurant on premises with a Thai twist to the cuisine, and the food is excellent. It's hard to say what the best part of the stay was ... it was quiet and low-key, and we were really able to relax. As a matter of fact, it was hard to get motivated to go anywhere at all as the hotel was had everything we wanted: pool, view, breeze, beautiful surroundings and a very friendly/accommodating staff. We finally asked for a recommendation on a beach, and were sent to Maderas ... which was one of the top five beaches we've seen. Ever. Anywhere. We didn't want to leave, but we left with a caviat: we'll be back! If you're in the area or if you're planning to visit ... come see and experience El Jardin.

  • Liked — Friendliness, beautiful surroundings, "non-rowdy" atmosphere ... one of peace.
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LittlesInNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
423 reviews
3.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Property: El Jardin Hotel
Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nacascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur
El Jardin Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing