We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace.”
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed at El Jardin a couple of weeks ago and it was the perfect place to unwind and relax after several days of commotion and stress. The room was great, the food was kind of amazing, and the view is stunning. It is a several dollar cab ride from town and a bit of a hike up a hill if on foot but worth it for the peace and beauty here. We hiked down to the beach in the morning (15 minute walk) and climbed around the rocks to a beach even more pretty and secluded than the one visible from the hotel. There were 3 other people on this beautiful beach. To us it was so much nicer than Playa San Juan del Sur. I'd recommend it to anyone wanting peace and quiet with a great view.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elijah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 238 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

El Jardin is a wonderful place that I'd strongly recommend for couples, families or anyone looking for a cool, relaxing place slightly away from the louder surfer/backpacker vibe in San Juan del Sur.

El Jardin feels a lot like a B&B versus a large hotel. Its fairly small (12 rooms) and its pretty easy to meet to meet other guests, staff and the cool, interesting couple who own the place Delphine and Tim. The vibe is relaxed, casual and welcoming. People hang out on the various decks or by the pool enjoying the sun and the great views. The rooms are pretty basic but clean and tasteful and many have decks with views. We had a high room and the view of Nacascolo Bay and the ocean were spectacular. We had A/C (which we used) and got pretty good warm water in the room (they have a solar system). We ended most days on the deck outside the room with a cocktail ;-)

One secret benefit is the food. Delphine and Tim serve a dinner menu most nights and El Jardin may actually be the best restaurant in San Juan del Sur. The food is primarily French and it was kind of a shock (the good kind) to see homemade pâté, white cabbage, apple and blue cheese salad and beef bourguignon on the menu. The meal was pretty awesome and they serve on the deck with the beautiful ocean view in the background. This trip was with friends but I wished I'd brought my wife because the setting was definitely romantic and the meal was memorable.

Some reviews mention the road to the hotel and distance from town. The road is legitimately crummy - its a bumpy dirt road and a 10 min drive or 35 min walk to town. But we had a car and it was really fine. We walked a couple of times during the day too and that was also fine. I'd imagine that at night after a meal and a few drinks a taxi would be preferable to the uphill walk back. El Jardin is actually closer to the nice northern beaches (Marcella, Maderas, Majagual) then the hotels in town. And the fact that its out of town is why you don't have club music blaring at 1 am. You just have to decide what you want.

Net-net, its a pretty special place and definitely recommended.

Room Tip: If you are in a group, 5a and 5b are connected rooms that share one of the best balcony views in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DavKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

A friend and I just completed a wonderful stay at El Jardin. At first we weren't sure about the location as it felt a bit too far outside of town initially. However, that changed quickly and we came to appreciate being a bit out of town, the spectacular view, warm hospitality, clean, comfortable rooms, and lovely breakfasts and dinners. We found it easy to arrange transportation in/out of town and to the nearby beaches. Delphine and Tim were delightful and helpful in every way. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at El Jardin. The hotel is a short drive from the central town but so worth the effort. Close to lovely beaches. The view is gorgeous and it is so peaceful. The room was great. Really big, so great for families. We were 2 adults and 2 young kids, we had an extra mattress in the room. Very comfy beds. Yummy breakfast. The owner Delfin was really helpful too. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My family of three just returned home from a wonderful week stay at the El Jardin. I would describe this hotel as a most charming inn or perhaps bed and breakfast which is situated just outside of the town of San Juan del Sur. We came to Nica so that our 9-year old son could catch some good waves and we weren't disappointed.

Our stay included a delicious breakfast of fresh, homemade baked bread, local fresh fruits, assorted cheeses and fresh squeezed juice, eggs and bacon upon request. Great place for families with young children who want to escape the somewhat rowdy nightlife in town. The view from the hotel of the bay is spectacular and the surroundings are so peaceful. A short, 10-minute walk down the hill is Nacascolo Bay, but the walk back up may be a challenge for those who aren't fit.

Some of the rooms have A/C and you need to request this option. Our room was cleaned with turn-down service every day. The owners are lovely and most accommodating. A cab ride into town is about $6 US. If you are not completely delighted with these terrific accommodations, then you simply cannot be pleased. Anyone would be lucky to find this hidden gem!

Room Tip: You need to request a room with A/C. Don't forget, you are in a developing country!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jess_Basi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited San Juan del Sur over New Years and did not know it was such a popular destination for New Years Eve. Therefore, we had trouble finding a hotel but were very happy to find this one. If you don't have your own car, the location could be inconvenient as it is quite a drive (and on some undeveloped roads) from downtown San Juan. But, if you're looking for a more secluded hotel with an amazing view this is the place. The owners (husband and wife) were very nice and shared some champagne with us and a few other guests at midnight (we were in town earlier that day and didn't want to venture in again). The room was clean and comfortable, and we really enjoyed the pool! Breakfast was included and it was great to start the day with some good food while overlooking the beautiful ocean.
My boyfriend's parents and grandmother arrived to San Juan del Sur our second day, and El Jardin was able to open up their "extra/we overbooked room" for them which was a large room with kitchen and seating area. They stayed one night and really enjoyed the hotel, location, and view.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are more expensive. Unless you plan on spending a lot of time in your room I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elyse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We were there 2 nights and it was great ! The rooms are so nice and practical. Service is very good.

You have a nice quiet beach just 15 minutes walking from the hotel. The owners are nice friendly people. The breakfast is outstanding and included in the room price. The pool is refreshing !

The road to get there is a little bumpy but it's not a big problem : the View is worth it !

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaBello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
329 reviews
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
2 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
129 reviews
8.6 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $66 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nacascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur
El Jardin Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing