We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“A little piece of paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two nights in October 2013. The view was SPECTACULAR and we loved having breakfast on the terrace each morning. The breakfast served was superb, with fresh juice, eggs, bacon, toast and fresh jam! The staff was competent, friendly and accommodating. Delphine is a beautiful, sweet woman we enjoyed chatting with. We loved the colors and layout of the hotel and its rooms. It was fun to hike down to the beach and explore the rock formations. The only drawback is the road to the hotel, but it was worth the drive! We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDRWAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    39
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
112
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

El Jardin is a beautiful, family owned hotel. Pros- excellent service, beautiful property, scenic location, safe, quiet, perfect for couples, families, or groups. Cons- no AC in our room, located up a steep road outside of town $7 taxi ride each way.
SJDS is a bohemian party town with a gritty feel. El Jardin is a great location if you want the convenience and price of the beautiful Nica beaches by day, but not the drunken frat party by night. It is best if you have your own vehicle.
It is an easy walk down to an almost private beach, but the return walk up the hill is a bit strenuous. Breakfast included fresh fruit, bread, cheese, eggs, bacon, coffee, and juice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbqErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I just returned from a trip to San Juan with some friends. We stayed at El Jardin and I cannot imagine staying at any other hotel in San Juan. The views are fabulous, the food is AMAZING, and the service was awesome. It was fabulous to be able to go to they city and then escape to the relaxing scenery and pool. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

El Jardin is a wonderful hotel with fantastic views of the Pacific Ocean. You wake up by the sound of birds sitting and singing just one meter from your window. The hotel is painted in exuberant colors, but the room interiors are of a minimalist beauty. The breakfast was one of the very best we had during our 24-day holiday in Costa Rica and Nicaragua. We did not have dinner in the hotel but the text of the menu alone was mouthwatering. (We had dinner in a beach restaurant in San Juan, enjoying an awesome sunset). We hope we will be able to return some day ....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I started my month long trip with 5 nights in this hotel. I was looking for a place to relax and take some time out. This hotel was perfect. Not too far from San Juan Del Sur, you can easily spend time in this touristy, surfer town then retreat to your spot in the mountains where you can watch the birds and hear the howler monkeys in the mountains.

I had a room to the back of the hotel with a private terrace. Not that I needed to worry about privacy, there are many shared areas which feel equally private and relaxed. The pool is clean and boasts an enviable view.

Whenever I ate at the hotel the food was first class and very reasonably priced. The steak I ate was, without doubt, the best I have ever had. Bottles of wine were kept in the fridge overnight as needed. Delphine went out of her way to accommodate our every need. If you want a taxi, you get one. Information about local beaches, it's yours and no fuss or bother.

I will return to this hotel again. The location is perfect for a relaxed break within distance of restaurants and bars in the nearby town. The hosting is relaxed and yet attentive. The food is, incredible, unlike any other place I've stayed in Nicaragua. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. This hotel is a triumph!

Room Tip: I had room 10 towards the back of the hotel. It was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have travelled extensively in Central America and El Jardin is a jewel. Parrots in the tree-tops around the pool and howler monkeys add to the ambiance of staying at a "villa" in the jungle. The view of the bay is incredible as well as the surrounding hills. El Jardin is located just far enough out of town for a bit of seclusion but close enough to enjoy the restaurants, shopping and other attractions in San Juan del Sur. The best meals however, are skillfully prepared by Chef Timothy at the hotel. The cuisine was one of the highlights of the trip. The other great attraction at El Jardin are the owners, Timothy and Delphine. No reasonable request is denied and Delphine has a knack of knowing what you would like before you do. Truly a wonderful and hard-working team. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys good food, good service and natural beauty.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice however when I return, I will get a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeL5507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was the perfect place for us to end a two month trip of Central America. El Jardin was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, especially for the value. The room was impeccably clean, and the bed nice and comfy... The buildings are all made of stone so it kept the room nice and cool. The whole place had a very nice mediterranean feel to it. We had a room overlooking the ocean and the view was incredible!! It was so nice having a beer in the evening, watching the sky change colours at sunset (unfortunately it was too cloudy to see the actual sun setting, haha).
And the food- oh my goodness the food... I don't even know where to begin on how good it was. Our first night at the hotel we walked into town for dinner, but upon having dinner at the hotel the second night we stayed, we immediately regretted going to town the first night!! We only had three nights there, if we weren't flying out the next day we probably would have stayed longer just to try another meal! I would recommend going into town for lunch as the kitchen doesn't open until 6:30PM, but do NOT eat anywhere else for dinner, or you will regret it!! The breakfast was also delicious, even the bacon had some sort of seasoning that made it the best bacon I ever tried.
El Jardin is run by a French family... The wife seems to do a lot of the housework and serving and the husband does the cooking. They have an adorable little girl who likes to help them out whenever she can- sooo cute!! They've got a great little system worked out :) This is like a 4-star resort with a relaxed, family feel to it... I don't think I can give it enough praise....
Thank you for a perfect ending to a great trip!!

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean view... but I think the majority of the rooms do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachaeljean13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Property: El Jardin Hotel
Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on Nicaragua's Emerald Coast. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. The access road has been repaired in December 2016. All types of vehicles can go up. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nagascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur
El Jardin Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing