We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Rate hotel in the 3rd World”
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1st Rate hotel in the 3rd World”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I found out that I have the record for longest stay at the El Jardin! I was there for six wonderful weeks. But you are not reading this to find out about me, so lets get to it:

The Good:

1. The Owner/Operators are some of the nicest people you would ever want to meet. Each day was started with a pleasant greeting, and a nice hot cup of coffee.

2. The Service was excellent. Whether it was help getting a taxi, the serving of a meal, or (in my case) taking me to the hospital, they were always gracious and helpful.

3. The Food! The food was first rate. Breakfast was provided, and it usually consisted of freshly baked bread, butter, and jelly, served with a plate of fresh local fruit. This was followed by a couple of scrambled eggs and two strips of perfectly cooked bacon. Why perfectly cooked? The first day I told them that I liked my bacon crisp, and for the rest of the stay that is exactly how I got my bacon. Oh, did I mention the coffee? Not only was there Java from heaven, but each breakfast gets a fresh-squeezed glass of juice!

For dinner, prepare yourself for gastronomical delights! My personal favorite was the Filet. It was served to order, and it was twice the size of a filet that I would have received for 3 times the price back home. The beef was fresh and cooked to perfection. The dish was complimented by two sides, usually some crispy potatoes and a veggie. But don't limit yourself to the delicious steak! The menu was varied, and each dish I tried was fantastic. They have seafood, pork, fish lasagna, chicken curry, a beef stew type dish (my French is atrocious, so I won't even attempt to type the real name), and appetizers such as salad and duck pate.

Desert your thing? They offered a tantalizing crepe Suzette, a scrumptious sundae, and one other dish that I can't remember because I just got lost in memories of the sundae...

4. The View!! Wow! A half million dollar view for a whole lot less. The ocean is right in front, and the hotel sits up high enough on the hill to give a really great view of the bay below. Sunsets from the patio at dinner time were worth the whole trip!

5. The room. Clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. What more can you ask? I looked around San Juan Del Sur quite a bit during my six week stay, and I did not find a single hotel with better accommodations. Some rooms have A/C, but the fans worked fine for me.

6. The Pool! The pool measures about 30 feet by 12 feet, and is four feet deep. The staff was conscientious about keeping it clean, and the sun had it warm enough by 10 am. There is a shower to rinse off in next to the pool, and nice lounge chairs if a tan is your thing.

7. Location, location, location. The hotel is located about two miles from town, so you get to miss the drunken college children acting up, which the people who stay in town have to put up with.

8. The other guests. People were friendly, and I got to meet people from all over. Of course, some obnoxious people stayed there (I remember one particular young man who threatened to write a bad review if he didn't get his meals/room discounted), but for the most part it was an energetic and eclectic bunch. Everything from hippies to WASPs from the middle of the US of A.

The Bad:

1. If you have bad knees, then you will have to take a taxi to town instead of walking... That's it.

Other Info:

If the owners call a cab for you, it will cost you about 150 Cordobas, or six bucks, to go into town. No biggie. Expect that if you want a ride back to the hotel at night to cough up ten bucks.

There is a bank in town in a white building with an ATM sign out front. It is located at the far end of the harbor. After copying your passport, they will provide you currency exchange services. Very nice people. Be sure to take your hat and sunglasses off before you go in, as the security guard will tell you to.

Henry's Iguana serves cold beer and a decent meal for the money. Just be sure to be out of there by 10 pm if you are over 30. Too many teenagers/young adults for an old-timer like me, and the music gets very loud.

There is an excellent restaurant located behind the rear of the Catholic Church downtown. It is open at night. A good local restaurant is located on the road one block over from that. You will know you are in the right spot when you see the whale skull on the wall. One other gets honorable mention. I ate several times at Dave's Big Wave (or something like that... I also drank a lot of beer). The food was reasonably priced, and very good. Beer was cold, and on a Sunday there I got to watch a movie!

If you want to hike around the cove below the hotel, do it at low tide! It is a nice walk, and if you go far enough to the right you end up in a secluded cove with a sand beach.

If you are not adverse to walking to town, then turn left at the bottom of the hill. In about 15 to 20 minutes you will be at a fork in the road that is created by a chain link fence around a pump building. Go to the right. In about 100 yards you will cross a foot bridge, and be in downtown!

Well, I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did.

Room Tip: If you need cool air, then get a room with A/C. Nicaragua gets kind of warm. The fans were fine fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wolfgang60747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    41
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
115
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Loved El Jardin! The owners were out of town during our stay but the lovely Frenchman who tended to the place while they were gone was Im sure equally as wonderful. Home cooked meals on the patio right outside your room with a fantastic view of the bay right below. The room was clean and the A/C oh so needed! Cheap taxi into town, you cannot really walk, it's far and hot and all uphill. Loved this place, for the price and location, it cannot be beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ligwa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just returned from Nicaragua and had an amazing trip! We started at El Jardin (pronounced El Hardeen). The owners at this property were wonderful and accommodating, The food was excellent! The view is stunning and the rooms comfortable. We loved coming back and having a swim in the cool pool each day. The shade of the roofed deck with tables allowed you to still be outside in the heat of the day without getting too much sun. Each day we walked into town - about 25 minutes to the center of town and then if we were too tired to walk back we caught a cab up. There are awesome beaches to the north and south of town and you can catch a cab or arrange a day with one of the tour companies in town to go there. We loved El Gato Negro bookstore and coffee shop. We picked up snacks at Pali - the grocery store in town. If you stay here, be sure and eat a dinner early in your stay at the restaurant at El Jardin. We ended up having a second meal in our short stay as the food here was the best we had in San Juan del Sur. We highly recommend this place. San Juan del Sur can get busy and noisy so staying a bit out of the center of town allowed us to get into the action when we wanted to and then to escape to a tranquil oasis when we were done!!! Perfect spot to start our Nicaraguan adventure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Kraken777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is small but so confortable, the staff is so special, the breakfast delicious and the view is amazing.
We expend just to nights, a short time to be in that place...
Every thing was just perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArqJCastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. The rooms are simple, functional--but very clean, and all with balconies that allow customers to sit and admire the beautiful view of the bay below. Bright tropical colors provide character to the buildings. Nice size pool. The couple who own the place also attend to all tasks and details--taking pride in providing customers with a personalized quality experience. The breakfast (included) is excellent--lots of fresh fruit, eggs, fresh bread and preserves, juice, etc. In addition, the restaurant (dinner only, no lunch) serves local and french-infused dishes that were definitely some of the best meals we'd eaten in Central America. It is located about 10 mins drive (30 mins walk) from town at the top of a steep-ish dirt road--but that's exactly what gives it a getaway feel. It is a welcome contrast to the hustle and bustle of San Juan's intense parade of beach goers and vendors. There's nothing like sitting on your balcony and watching the flocks of green parrots swoop by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

First, we are a little older than the surfers. We want to be in the midst of things, but at the end of the day we want calm beauty and wonderful food. We found all that at the delightful El Jardin Hotel. About a 10 minute drive from the heart of San Juan del Sur (on mostly paved roads, but about a kilometer or so unpaved - our compact Toyota had no problem), El Jardin was a beautiful resting place with interesting architecture, gorgeous ocean views, and comfortable rooms - and very reasonable prices. The European couple who own and operate it (he's Belgian and she's French) are extremely hospitable. And the food is excellent and plentiful. In fact, we were chiding them for giving us too much. My wife and I heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you are looking for a fun, unique yet relaxing, quiet place to stay in San Juan del Sur, this is it! It is a totally different experience than staying in the main town. It is quite a drive to get to though. $30 taxi from the Costa Rica border. And $6-$12 (day or night) taxi to downtown. Despite the other posts I really do not feel it is possible to walk to the beach or to town, unless you are in amazing athletic shape. The hotel is literally on top of a small mountain. Excellent views but the taxi barely made it up the steep road so I know I would never make it on foot. But since there is a pool and a restaurant there is no problem just staying there all day.

Rooms were large and clean. Nice bathrooms. We put 3 in a room with no problem as Room #3 and Room #4 have nice third beds. There is a nice balcony/terrace to eat breakfast or play games. Some of the rooms have a private balcony.

One thing I thought was nice during our stay was the quiet and tranquility. There were a few other guests but everyone seemed to just be relaxing.

Most of the other posts mentioned how wonderfully friendly the hosts/owners were. We did not have this experience. In fact, we felt so uncomfortable by how we were treated by Delphine that we decided not to stay at the hotel for dinner as she was so obviously annoyed with us even though we tried our best to be kind. This was disappointing since the food had such rave reviews. However, I do believe that everyone is entitled to a bad day. I am sorry it put a damper on our stay, but hopefully was an isolated incident. We are guessing she did not have enough help that day and was overwhelmed.

Breakfast, served outside on the terrace was excellent.

We paid approx $80US plus $10 extra for third person. More than accommodations in main town BUT well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACMC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
288 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Property: El Jardin Hotel
Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nacascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur
El Jardin Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing