We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful!”
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So beautiful!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. After booking online we had made a mistake and not booked enough rooms, the owners were super accommodating and helped us out to make sure we all got rooms. Tim and Delphine are fabulous hosts and the food out of this world! Yes the location is a little remote but it's worth it for the view and taxis are cheap and easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    40
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
115
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We just left this lovely little place. The hotel is on top of the hill about 3.5km on the road from SJDS (it took us 20 minute to walk into town via the short cut across the suspension bridge). The cab is between 150 C and 200C depending on the time. This place has the most spectacular view and is so peaceful after being in the heart of SJDS. The rooms are simple but have everything you'd need. There is a delightful pool with a gorgeous view of the bay. The owners are super friendly and excellent cooks. We rarely have 3 courses for dinner but did so last night and wish we could have had another meal to try the stuff we missed. The owners also allowed us to hang around the pool today and shower before heading to the airport which was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four days on the last part of our trip in Nicaragua. It was the perfect end to a great trip. Tim and Delphine were terrific hosts and ensured we were having a good time during our stay. The food for breakfast and dinner was outstanding. The tenderloin with Gorgonzola sauce was one of the best pieces of meat I've eaten in a long time. The breakfast of fresh fruit and eggs cooked to order was a great way to start the day each morning.
The hotel itself is nice. The rooms have air conditioning and hot water (a true luxury in Nicaragua). There are some bugs, but the hotel is up in the hills and bugs are to be expected. Each morning we woke up to a nice ocean breeze and a view through our french doors of the bay the hotel overlooks. Each night we would watch the sunset over the bay from our balcony with a couple of glasses of red wine.
Yes, the hotel is outside the city of SJDS. It takes ten minutes and costs $7 during the day and $10 at night for a taxi. Tim goes into town all the time and gave us a ride two of the days. The other two days he arranged a very cheap taxi driver, Miguel, who took great care of us.
Tim and Delphine can give you tips on things to do around the city. We went sailing one day which was very fun and went to Hermosa Beach on another. We spent one day just sitting around the pool at the Pelican Eyes resort which has a nice view over the city and the bay of SJDS. We also walked to the beach down the hill from the hotel. It takes about 15 minutes to walk down there. It was very secluded and there was only one other local family on the beach. The walk back up the hill is not that difficult as stated in other reviews and was some nice exercise for us.
Overall my experience at EL Jardin was perfect. We spent time in the city when we wanted and relaxed in the mornings and evenings away from the noise and bustle of the city. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Room #9 is the best room. You lie in bed and look out on the bay. The breeze blows over you while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yardsale16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed at El Jardin in January 2012. This was our third time in San Juan Del Sur and I feel that El Jardin was the best accommodation. The family that runs the place is great and hospitable. It is a very relaxing spot with a beautiful view. And best of all it is not expensive at all - definitely the best spot considering the bang for your buck.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Tim, Delphine, and little Charlotte, along with their gracious staff, provided a great getaway for me and my buddy. Beautiful and clean hotel, and the meals were top rate. Tim is a wonderful chef, and the spaghetti bolognese was the best i've ever had! wonderful tenderloin as well! they work hard at making sure the guests get the best deals with travel around the area, willing to call a taxi ($10 per car) to get to town. they also got us two great deals with a sailboat captain and a tour guide and driver to Granada. Breakfast is included, which was wonderful--eggs cooked to your preference. fresh fruit too. No complaints at all, and I would recommend the El Jardin to any traveler who'd like a quiet/clean place to stay. Extremely safe. American food prices, but it's well worth it! Buen viaje!

Room Tip: get the two bedroom suite on the top floor of the place....beautiful view of the bay and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james P m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights for the second time in El Jardin. We love the place and the owners. Our 2y old kid loved to play with the owners daughter and both of the had great fun! Be aware that the hotel is about 4 km from San Juan del Sur, you need a taxi (cheap) or your own car. Enjoy the beautiful view over the pacific. I love it!

Try out in the restaurant the "beef tenderloin". It is just fantastic!

Room Tip: Book in advance, especially during holiday seasonl. The hotel is not very big and the best rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miluethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was our third time to go to Nicarauga, but it was our first time without our kids. My husband was playing around and looking for a resort that would be special to us and he came up with El jardin. The resort itself is located up in the mountain and has a beautiful view of the pacific. The resort is extremely clean and the hostess that took care of us was very warm and welcoming with his wife. He went out of his way to make us feel very much at home and made us wonderful breakfast's and his menu for the evening was very accomodating. There is a pool at the resort that was always a delight to jump into to get refreshed at all hours of the day/night. The resort is very quiet for the ones that just want to soak up the rays, and town is very close for the ones that like to do some bar hopping. I would recommend this resort to everyone! We definately will return there, thanks for a great time, Paul and Cathy Nov 5th/12

Room Tip: Might be a good idea to get a 4-wheel drive for the trip up to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicarauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
282 reviews
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.4 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
418 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Property: El Jardin Hotel
Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nacascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur
El Jardin Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing