We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Jardin Hotel & Restaurant”
Review of El Jardin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Jardin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“El Jardin Hotel & Restaurant”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Amazing Place and wonderful people! The only thing better than the great food and spectacular views were the warm, friendly, people who run the hotel! Truly a relaxing experience. By far the best place I have stayed!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cybersailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    41
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
115
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in July nd had a wonderful experience. Rooms are unique, meticulously clean and comfortable. Do reques a room with AC even though they do cost a little more. The owners are a married couple who provide excellent service and hospitality. Breakfast is included with your room and dinner may be purchased. All food is made fresh to order with local ingredients and the quality is exceptional.

I read the reviews of others expressing safety concerns. Common sense goes a long way. The hotel has a picturesque locaton on top of a small mountain. But the access road is primitive and runs through a heavily wooded, isolated area. Most people would not attempt to walk along such an isolated area, day or night in Nicaragua or elsewhere. Use good judgement and you will be safe. A taxi ride to and from town from the hotel is only $6 each way. The owners will gladly give you a lift into town when they go to the market-which is just about every day.

If you are looking for a peaceful, beautiful locaton with easy accessto town this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: pay the extra cost and ask for a room with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robnsue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at El Jardin back in July. The room we stayed at as well as the dinning area boasts a beautiful picturesque view of Bahia Nacascolo. I don't think you will find a hotel with a better review in all of San Juan Del Sur. Owners Timothy & Delphin are excellent host, even giving us a lift into town in the morning. The hotel also boasts a great restaurant. Timothy is an amazing French chef. Very relaxing, peaceful, and quiet. Keep in mind this hotel is not right in the town of San Juan Del Sur. If it is during the day I would say it is perfectly safe to walk to town from the hotel. Taxi cabs are also very cheap. Nice size room, Great Pool, and a great complimentary breakfast make El Jardin te place you will want to stay at while in San Juan Del Sur.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were robbed at gunpoint by three masked men on our way back from the beach. The woman who runs this hotel did not warn us about the recent muggings. Only after we returned did she let us know that staff have been robbed on the way to the hotel and guests have been robbed on roads that lead to the beach. Only after were we told that this happens weekly at San Juan del Sur. This is a dangerous place. The hotel owner at El Jardin would not allow me to use the phone to cancel my credit cards. She did not offer me that strong drink on the house.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Marzia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a great hotel with an absolutely stunning view! The owners are very friendly and helpful and will even give you a ride to town if they are going (short car trip or 30 minute walk to central San Juan Del Sur). The food was outstanding. Since the hotel is located on the outskirts of SJDS it is very quiet as well. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 525AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was the highlight of my trip to Nicaragua, I meant to stay 3 nights and I think I stayed close to 10 nights. The rooms are excellent and the design of the whole place ought to receive an award. Food here is amazing. People that do not have a room come here for the food. Timothy, the owner, is a talented chef. Co-owner and his wife Delphine serves up drinks and great conversation. They have the most beautiful baby named Charlotte.

Stunning views of the ocean and they have a pool that is big enough to do laps. It is not in the town proper and I liked that. It was easy to get to town with Timothy on his daily food run, or a cab. What I liked best was, as others have said, you are treated like part of the family. Delphine was a tightrope walker in the circus and Timothy was a bush pilot in the Congo. They have some great stories.

Room Tip: There is no TV here, so bring a book or your computer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galveston
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

we went up to dine at el jardin with friends.the sunset is so beautiful.the food sublime.delfine &timothey are a delight.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
423 reviews
3.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Hotel

Property: El Jardin Hotel
Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nacascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your El Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur
El Jardin Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing