We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A paradisiac week in great place”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A paradisiac week in great place”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had no idea what to expect from Nicaragua...last time we heard about this country, they were fighting each other... Well, it is peaceful, safe, absolutely magnificent and "authentic" I imagine toursim in Europe in the 70's like this. The beaches are the best (Hermosa, Madeiras, Mayagual), the food is fresh, healthy, tasty and cheap, and you won't ruin yourself drinking maragaritas ...
Casa Olimar is as good as it gets... Amazing view, great comfort... Even if it is super warm, there is always a gently breeze that allows you to stay outside on the terrace. The people that you can hire during your stay (Felicita that cooks, and Byron that drives) are the most delightful, helpful and welcoming people. You will ove tour stay there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: People and view
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssforcey
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The view you've dreamed of.”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights with my 2 teenage daughters. Wow. We came in at night so we weren't able to see the view but the house itself is something to see. Luxury and nicer than any house we've ever stayed in. Treat yourself to the lounge chair outside at night to take a look at the stars. Wow! How beautiful. Waking up in the morning was....wow. What a view. Words can't explain it. We had Felicity cook for us 2 days and OMG...she is fantastic and very affordable. We had a traditional Nicaraguan breakfast with gallo pinto. Ask her to make so pico de gallo too. Elizar (the caretaker) was incredible also. Very, very helpful. Personable, easy to communicate with and just a general nice guy. He's got a lot of great ideas of things to do while you're there. We had the driver pick us up at the airport as well and YES I'd do that again. It would be difficult to navigate at night and we've driven in other countries before. I'd go back again in a second and will!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
food4thou...
Niskayuna, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The tranquility of paradise!”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We looked at literally 40 homes online. We finally chose Casa Olimar with no regrets. Norm and the owner was responsive and helpful. Eliezer the caretaker was kind and helpful. San Juan del Sur is hoping but the house is quiet and private. The view is emblazoned in my mind forever. The slow days and breeze at night made this a family trip we will cherish. You do need 4 wheel drive and automatic unless your accustom to standard. Just a perfect location!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert_pi...
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MD”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were two families in this great huge villa during christmas week 2015 and we all liked the place very much. The house is located on a mountain with stunning view over the hills and ocean. The area is very calm, no sounds except for the song from birds and crickets. The road to get there is protected with gate and guard 24 hrs. Its walking distance to the centre of San Juan del Sur and beach, although we prefered to go with rental car. Roads are very steep, 4 weel drive is to prefer. On the owners recommendation we hired private cook very cheap, and we had most of our meals on the terrace. We always chose Nica food and really enjoyed. Also Eliezer, the guy taking care of the house and pool, is a lovely and caring person. He is very helpful and has loads of contacts and useful info.
We really recommend Casa Olimar!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuarteNo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful home in paradise!”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed in Casa Olimar from August 9-13th, and it was unforgettable. We arrived to San Juan del Sur in a few hours from Managua, the house is easy to find and provides all the comforts from home and more - the kids would not get out of the pool during the morning, I would go for my morning jog while the rest of the adults had their coffee watching the beautiful beach from the balcony of Casa Olimar.
Eliazar - the caretaker is very knowledgeable and provides tips on all the activities that are available in town.
The house is close enough to different beaches that in a 10 min drive you are at the beach.
I highly recommend Casa Olimar to any family who is looking for privacy and comfort.
Thank you Normand.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alina945
Managua, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing