We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, close to beach”
Review of Hotel Gran Oceano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gran Oceano
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Hotel is good, clean, close to the beach. Breakfast is pretty simple, but it's fine. The only bad thing is that there were geckos (or maybe other animals) living above the ceiling tiles, so we could hear them at night.

Hotel is a short walk to the beach and city center. We recommend eating at the local market like the locals instead of the overpriced restaurants elsewhere.

Separate from the hotel, we were not that impressed with Sao Jao and cut our stay short to go to Laguna Atitlan. The beaches in Sao Jao are not really that great and when the cruise ships come, the town is filled with tourists. Some things that are worth doing there - the sailing trip, a trip to another beach (booked from hostel), and turtles (when in season - also booked from hostel).

Stayed: November 2009
Thank cheburashkaIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

We arrived in SJDS with no reservation. We had an idea where we wanted to stay and when we arrived to our original place we were not impressed. We asked our cab driver where we should go and he brought us to Gran Oceano. This place had been recommended to me on TA but their website did not look good. I was suprised to see that Gran Oceano is much nicer then the pictures on their website.

The family that runs and owns this property is just wonderful. The mother and father don't speak much english but couldn't be better hosts. When their kids are home they speak perfect english and the manager speaks excellent english. We had a fun time with the family practicing our spanish and them practicing their english.

The price is excellent for what you get. The location is perfect. It is along a road that has lots of lodging options. It is very close to the beach and centrally located in SJDS. There isn't a better location IMO if you want to stay in town.

The rooms are very basic, nothing fancy, but clean. We had a/c and a tv. The bathrooms need to be renovated. Our sink was missing a handle, but the cold handle worked so not a big deal. The shower had electrical tape on one of the handles, but it all worked. Not a big deal considering the price. We were just in our room to sleep.

The best part of the hotel is what they call The Ranch. This is a very nice covered outdoor area with a kitchen, flat screen tv, pool and some very entertaining parrots. We spent a lot of time playing cards and visiting with people at the ranch. It was a wonderful place to relax. They have 3 parrots that kept us entertained, especially Ruben. When we first arrived we thought they had a baby, but it was just Ruben crying and laughing like the neighbors baby.

Gran Oceano also offers excellent sports fishing. I had neve been before and it was a blast.

We couldn't have asked for nicer people to spend our time with while in SJDS. For the price you can't do better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrolfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Guy at the front, seemed like he was going to rob us when weren't looking. Room was small and not very clean. Service in the restaurant sucked! We were going to stay 2 nights, but luckly found a better place to stay the second night....which was cheaper too....place to stay is at cafe barrio/hotel azul...cheaper, clean, and service was amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank melany_bautista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

There was a leak coming from the toilet that would not stop despite repeated pleas to management. Water pooled in the bathroom and ran out into the sleeping area requiring us to keep suitcases off the ground. Would have been nice if they'd have given us another room or fixed the leak.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srfpunk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Booking - we called them by phone for a last minute stay as we were already in Nicaragua. They only speak Spanish so you need to speak a bit of the language. THAT is one of the beautiful things about this town ! Very little English so it feel authentic and gringo aspect is minimal so far ... may it STAY that way ! If you are staying for a long period of time you can negotiate a discount especially if it is the slow season. TALK TO Alba !
Rooms- small but clean on the main floor with AC. Upstairs the rooms are larger but no AC.GO with the AC if you are coming from a colder climate as it is VERY HOT and humid in this country. Pleasant garden/open courtyard between rooms.
Internet service - sporadic. We got used to telling then WHEN we needed it as they get charged by the hour so they do not leave it on all the time. THere are computer places and phone places everywhere in town so don;t bring a phone or a computer.
Breakfast comes with the room from 7 - 9:30 a.m It was always the same but very clean and good. Beans and rice (gallo pinto) with eggs, fruit if you ask, coffee etc.
Remember that nica's have limited resources to feed themselves and be courteous and thankful for what you get ! They are wonderful polite people and they deserve respect :*)
Beach is 1/2 block away, bank with machine is on the corner, lots of restaurants along beach with good food (local fish esp.). Bring LIGHT clothing (cotton, wicking material, nothing clingy) as it 32 - 36 C every day & humid.
Learn some Spanish BEFORE you come or you may have difficulty!
Anyway... it will vastly improve your experience as well !
! Todos han sido muy amigables conmigo aqui!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FineTuned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Stayed 3 nights in April 09.
Highpoints: good location, Very clean, comfortable bed, everyone is nice, prices are reasonable and breakfest is included
Other points : Owners son who we saw once in 3 days is the only one that spoke any English at all. Breakfest of coffee, orange juice, egg and rice/beans, not bad just the same everyday and although suppossed to start at 7am usually 20-30 mins late. Electric shower head very hard to regulate, generally either to hot or cold. Nothing bad and I enjoyed my stay just an FYI.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trying-4-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

I stayed at the hotel and found the staff very pleasant. The rooms were cleaned daily and very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel. While I was there the restaurant being constructed, the work was not disturbing at anytime.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 09282012d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0 mi away
La Estacion
La Estacion
#28 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
57 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#22 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
6 reviews
0 mi away
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe
#16 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Royal Chateau Hotel
Royal Chateau Hotel
#18 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
106 reviews
0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#7 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
247 reviews
0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#6 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Oceano

Address: Del Parque Central 2c. y 1/2 hacia el mar, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $42 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Gran Oceano Hotel
Hotel Gran Oceano Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing