We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Hotel Gran Oceano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gran Oceano
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Reviewed December 12, 2008

This place was wonderful. The service was great especially to my mother. She in her 70's and stayed behind while my husband and I went to the beaches. They were very helpful to her even checking in on her and going out to get her food during the day. Hotel is lovely and right around the corner from everything.

The only negative was surprising the coffee for breakfast tasted gross. I just became a coffee snob while traveling the country.

Also I got a shock from the shower head thats electrically heated. Just dont touch it and you be fine. We had the hotel replace it but it good to warn anyone.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CelChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 115 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed here in april and we had had a really great time.
We were just a short hop from the beach you cannot beat this poistion and it is quiet in the evening as it is not on the main beach road.
The staff were really friendly if you are looking for the real deal at a good price stay here if you looking for little america then stay at the pelican eyes

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airmiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

I don't remember seeing any reviews of this hotel on TripAdvisor when I looked prior to arriving in SJDS, but it's a great deal ($40/nt) one row back from the beach. I think it's primarily marketed in Spanish to locals...

It's very clean with small rooms. Air conditioning, cable TV, comfortable beds, and a basic breakfast included. This isn't a luxury option, but perfectly adequate. It's just off the main strip, so I think it's significantly quieter than the other more expensive hotels (and probably just as nice).

They also seem to offer sportfishing tours if you're into that sort of thing.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank PolyAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

After finding no vacancies at three previous San Juan hotels, I found Hotel Gran Oceano on Google. I contacted Marlon Carcache of the front desk via the website and he prompty replied and offered me a room at $75 a night. When my son and I arrived we were pleased to find the hotel literally a half block from the beach! Most hotels were far from the beach. We were close to everything but at the same time at the quiet end of the beach. The hotel is close to lots of tourist stops such as eco-tours and restaurants. The hotel can help you book day trips, fishing, surfing, diving or turtle watching. The rooms were adequate with clean beds and bathrooms. No pool was the only bummer but there's no better pool than the warm Pacific waters right outside. The town is quiet and the people are respectful of tourists. Breakfast is included in your stay and at the time of my stay they were also offering a free car rental for one day! If you want to fish, book with Jorge of the hotel. We fished with him and had the time of our lives. We'll definitely be visiting this undiscovered jewel again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Pmramirezjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ginneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank playa3251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0 mi away
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe
#16 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
24 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#23 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
6 reviews
0 mi away
La Estacion
La Estacion
#28 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#13 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
174 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#14 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
187 reviews
0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#5 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Oceano

Address: Del Parque Central 2c. y 1/2 hacia el mar, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $42 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Gran Oceano Hotel
Hotel Gran Oceano Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing