We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, best pool in SanJuan” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gran Oceano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gran Oceano
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable, best pool in SanJuan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Comfortable and clean rooms. Ask for first level floor, we moved because of vents ...Breakfast was not so good and the staff was mixed. Looked at at least 6 places before camping here.The staff were interesting and somewhat helpful. Would I stay here again, yes if it were just the 2 of us traveling.The pool was in the parking lot next to outdoor eating. clean and cool with plenty of space to lounge.

Room Tip: Ask for main level. Rooms are bigger with fans and garden courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaynKj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    30
    13
    10
See reviews for
23
33
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. Very clean with a nice pool. Close to everything. Breakfast & coffee included. The only drawback is the coconuts falling on our roof in the night. Not a good sleep. Tried to get a different room but they said there weren't any available. Just try not to get room 118.
Price was 56.00 a night.

Room Tip: Stay clear of the very back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srborden57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My first time in SJDS, female, travelling on my own. Perfect location, walking distance to everything, clean rooms, a/c, hot showers, breakfast included and a pool. Awesome choice, I would rate it a great 3+*! Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back! Very helpful, friendly staff. Can't go wrong with this choice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PurpleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Second year in a row at San Juan del Sur and initially found this hotel a year ago while staying somewhere else.

This hotel (stay of March 4 to 8, 2013) is ideally located close to the beach, great pool and clean rooms and facilities. The staff were very helpful and friendly even with our limited Spanish.

The bedrooms have a small tv, good AC and very clean. The small bathroom is Ok and so is the 12 by 15 foot bedroom with a double bed.

For the $ a great place.

Room Tip: If basic clean accommodation you are looking for, this is the place 3 Star
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Not the cheapest option in town at $40 per night but with hot water, friendly staff and good location it suited us perfectly. The main attraction was the pool as it was so hot in the middle of the day particularly as the beach was sand blown due to the constant winds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia, NB
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is close to the beach. It actually had hot water, clean pool and a nice breakfast. We were pleased with our stay. The rooms are clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was quiet and well run. They had unlimited coffee in the morning which is nice if you are waiting for someone to wake up :) .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Utopianvoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We tried to get information on room availability three times during the day - each time we met up with a young arrogant unfriendly male receptionist who went out of his way to be difficult. Even the other staff who were nearby looked shocked at his attitude.

There were rooms available for that night and there were empty rooms that had been cleaned but we were told we couldn't see any, we couldn't leave our bags anywhere and that we needed to come back later.

Now why would we want to stay in a place like that? We didn't!

Not good enough - I wouldn't recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIWIBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
La Estacion
La Estacion
#27 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#24 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#20 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Oceano

Property: Hotel Gran Oceano
Address: Del Parque Central 2c. y 1/2 hacia el mar, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Gran Oceano Hotel
Hotel Gran Oceano Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing