We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little hotel in SJDS!”
Review of La Posada Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Posada Azul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect little hotel in SJDS!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We happened upon this hotel and what a little slice of pleasure in what is a grungy beach town. Very lovely staff and the most adorable back garden. Our room was spacious with two comfy beds and a totally fine bathroom. We sat by the cute pool and felt miles away from the grungy ness of town.
Delicious breakfast!
Good security at night - and overall a pleasure. Prime location if you want something in town.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CdninLondon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    62
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
189
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I saw this little BNB in Lonely Planet's Aug 2013 edition. We stopped in without a reservation in Oct (low season) and got a nicely-sized room (#6) in the back part of the hotel, in front of the pool. The location is central, so easy for walking. It was a hot day so after some touring around,we enjoyed a dip in the small pool to cool off. I even had space to do a few laps!

The room was extremely clean, the Q bed very comfortable. The safety box was bolted down in the closet (not always the case in Central America). I asked if we could do a load of laundry and was able to give it to the empleada for an easy 8 dollars for the load, which was back in an hour!

When we took a night tour to go see the nesting turtles, the watchman let us back in at 11 pm.

We felt safe,secure, comfortable and very well cared for here at La Posada Azul. And at only 80 bucks for the room and a tasty breakfast, we're quite pleased!

Nice gift shop too.

Room Tip: #6 back by the pool is very quiet, at least in low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at La Posada Azul for two nights in August 2013 while traveling with my two sisters (ages 36-22). First off, the hotel is in a really great location. It's one block off the beach on the South side of town. Stepping out the door you are greeted with ocean and mountain views. The hotel itself was very quaint - it was originally a private home and has been converted. The room was clean and the breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed coming back to the hotel after dinner and enjoying a few beverages from the honor bar in the courtyard by the pool and felt that was a nice, added bonus. Their one room that slept 3 was room #1, the closest to the front door. I'd say its location was the only negative - the hotel has a security gate that locks at night and a security guard placed by the front door. So, the guard was basically sitting directly outside our door all night, which was great from a safety perspective but not so great from a privacy perspective. This issue would be eliminated in any of the other rooms at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sta617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed at La Posada Azul for 5 days and 4 nights. The location couldn't be better for someone looking to get close to the downtown area and near the beach. The people were very friendly and laid back. It's very peaceful inside. The free breakfast was just right. The pool was well maintained and I enjoyed a daily swim to relax. Everyone was very friendly. I made a last minute reservation and had the room across from the office which fronted the main street. However, there was no noise problem and I was able to enjoy a quiet room. The room was well maintained and the air conditioning worked great. The be was comfortable and I had no problems with the wifi. I left some clothes out to be washed every day and they were placed back in my room by the end of the day. I will definitely be back to stay there on my next trip to San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian214617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 6 Contributor
734 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If I ever run away from home and live at the beach, this is where I will end up. My little bungalow was in a great location back away from the front desk, beside the pool. The room was large, comfortable, and cool. It was hot outside and the pool provided much needed relief. The beach was a short block walk away and it was two different beaches. On the weekend it is busy and active with dozens of buses bringing people from inland. During the week it is your own private beach. Most mornings I would walk the entire mile of beach and perhaps see 5 other people. The staff at the hotel are very helpful in suggesting activities and dining spots. The best thing to do at the beach is to sun a little, nap a little and at night go to Vivian for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the rear of the property. That means number six or higher. There is not a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Boutique elegance at its best! We loved the gentle atmosphere provided by the staff and the beauty of the place. The location is great. You are in a serene bubble while life in sjds carry on with whatever business outside! A wonderful oasis.

Room Tip: Ask for the room next to the honor bar and pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have now stayed four times at La Posada Azul or The Blue Inn in SJDS. Every time I come to renew my VISA from Costa Rica where I live, it is very hard for me to stop coming here. Very nice staff, nice rooms, relaxing courtyard with a pool surrounded by beautiful plants. The breakfast is wroth a the nights stay. Come check it out for yourself, you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: Try to book room #6 my favourite in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
224 reviews
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
174 reviews
3.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Azul

Property: La Posada Azul
Address: Avenida del Parque, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada Azul is located just steps from the beach in a beautifully refurbished historic wood house in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua . Each elegantly appointed room has a private bath, hot water and air conditioning. Enjoy a cold drink in the palapa by our large pool in our garden that is filled with colorful bougainvillas. Our famous breakfasts are served on the porch and are included in the room rate.We are proud to announce the opening of our "little sister" Hotelito El Coco Azul located adjacent to our Posada. El Coco Azul offers a more moderate priced stay in San Juan del Sur, but with the same cleanliness and attention to detail as we are known for at La Posada Azul ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your La Posada Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Azul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
La Posada Azul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing