We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Posada Azul
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Victoriano(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
$42
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$63
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcazar(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrio Cafe Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$365
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Rosa Nicaragua(Playa Marsella)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
$290
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
293
67
7
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
67
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonor barcovered porchfresh fruit platebreakfast was delicioushalf block from the beachwonderful oasishonor systemcourtyard areasmall hotelhot watertwin bedsstreet noiseeach morningnice poolroom was largelocation was perfectin town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 372 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was my first time in SJDS and I wasn't sure what to expect. Our stay at the Pozada Azul was outstanding. We immediately felt at home. Andy was very helpful and provided us with directions, tips on where to go and what to do, and even gave us coupons for the restaurants. All the staff went above and beyond, and the place was always clean. We loved it and it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at La Posada Azul and would have like to stay longer but they were all booked up. There are a total of 7 rooms with rooms 6 and 7 having their own veranda's overlooking the courtyard and pool. We stayed in room 6 - just steps to the pool and to the shaded lounge area with honor bar. It was never too busy at the pool and it felt like our own private retreat! The rooms are not large but there are a lot of nice touches - most importantly, the beds were comfortable! The breakfasts were the best we had in Nicaragua! Each day breakfast started with a platter of fresh fruit, juice and small fresh-baked muffins followed by the breakfast for the day (ie: huevos rancheros, breakfast americano, frittata and the best raison cinnamon french toast! The location was ideal - less than a 1/2 block to the beach!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rain-Proof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great location in a historical house. The hotel is nicely decorated, clean and has a great gift shop. The staff is top notch. The pool is located in a back courtyard with a nice bar area for relaxing. The breakfast provided was good, and the food very fresh. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a small , homely, hotel, with large rooms and a nice, old fashioned lounge. At the rear is an open sided dining area and a small pool in a courtyard. The room and bathroom we had was not modern, but functional, and the bed comfortable

Breakfast was included, and comprised juice, fresh fruit and a cooked dish that varied each day. Service was okay and the reception staff were helpful and spoke good english

The location was excellent, being about about 50 yards from the beach along a quiet road, with easy access to restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank assheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have stayed at a number of hotels in San Juan in the past. All have been good, but La Posada Azul is by far the best...
100 yds from the beach and restaurants.
Wonderfully kept and designed/ Great, friendly, and helpful staff. And in the morning always a great breakfast!!
I recommend this to all .

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are great...We stayed in the rear with our own porch..Nice touch, but you can't go wrong anywhere(room)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews