We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambiance, great breakfast and clean rooms”
Review of La Posada Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Posada Azul
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance, great breakfast and clean rooms”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel after having experienced four nights in average to under average hotels around Nicaragua. We were super pleased to have found this hotel as it is clean, very nicely decorated and has an amazing staff. The maids in particular were amazing helping us with everything we needed and making wonderful breakfasts in the morning. It is also steps away from the beach and has a nice pool to hang out if you don't like the wind at the beach. We definitely would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 1 is right next to the entrance and faces the street. Other rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_T_V_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    61
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
188
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in room 6 at this hotel. Had our own sitting area overlooking the pool. It felt very intimate and private. We loved the small size of the B&B and the dining area is definitely worth writing home about! Breakfast was absolutely delicious and different everyday. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful..We would recommend these lodgings to everyone visiting San Juan del Sur. Where else would you find an honour bar!

Room Tip: Room 6 definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiousfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for six days in this beautiful hotel. It is small and intimate. We were able to meet lots of great people. All the staff was very helpful and friendly. We liked the honor bar and the pool area. We also used their sound system around the pool. I miss the fabulous fruit tray they made up for us every morning.

Room Tip: number six is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here over new years and had a great time. The managers are wonderful and very helpful. The place is very clean and has a beautiful common area and little pool. There is a stereo hook up by the honour bar but we generally found guests were quiet in this area and it was nice to meet other guests. Notwithstanding the hotel is very central, we didn't not have an issue with noise. It was a little loud before NYE but I am not sure you could have escaped the noise of new years anywhere in SJDS. The breakfasts were plentiful and really good. They have a set menu but you can ask for toast etc. if this does not suit you. I would recommend this place. The rooms are beautifully decorated in general. 6 is definitely one of the nicer rooms but we were in 1 on the last night and it was quiet notwithstanding it faces the street.

Room Tip: 6 is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed five nights over the Christmas holiday.
Overall EXTREMELY clean, and I can't say enough about how much nicer it is than when it was Pachemama last year.
They did a very fine job refurbishing the place!!!
Shared bathrooms, but that didn't seem to be an issue for us since not all the rooms were full and the staff seemed to clean them nearly every 30 minutes!
No air conditioning in the rooms but we slept comfortably with out it.
There was a night guard but it was a little awkward being locked in at night- one night we wanted to get out but settled for staying in, instead of being disruptive to him... maybe our fault for not being more assertive.
Breakfast was included and good, the same each day but eventually we just settled for fruit and coffee and went else where. Jugoso opens at 9am, food was AMAZING!
Didn't love the screens in the windows facing the lobby, basically sucked with the extemely whinny kid staying upstairs. Not the hotels fault, I understand the air flow made our stay more comfortable for the most part. Also, makes for VERY limited passionate partnership- if you get my sentiment...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieLHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We checked in a few hours ago. Staff are friendly and efficient. Thy speak perfect English. Can't say our fellow guests live up to the place. Lots of Jimmy Buffet middle aged types who brought their own loudspeakers that are now blaring from poolside. I'm sure this will go from bad to worse as the night progresses. It is Christmas. You get a different kind of traveler for sure. Especially at the beaches. The front desk says they'll shut them down at 8pm. We'll see.

Room Tip: Normally I would say take the rooms in the back but with this crowd the street side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pruntyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
propietarios1950, Owner at La Posada Azul, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I was very concerned when I read your review about noise .... As we just recently took over the property next door which was a noisy hostel and turned it into a quiet "hotelito" mainly to keep our La Posada Azul a quiet spot! I did call immediately and spoke to our staff and they said the radio was turned down immediately and the guests were off to dinner within an hour, so all was quiet by 6 pm..... So we hope you enjoyed the rest of the peaceful evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We selected La Posada Azul with the thought of treating our daughter, a Nicaraguan Peace Corp volunteer, to some rest and relaxation while on break during the holidays. La Posada did this and more. A wonderful friendly, accommodating staff within a clean, attractive atmosphere. This truly is a beautiful find in San Juan del Sur.

Room Tip: Actually you will do well in any of the six rooms. All,on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhstam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.4 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Azul

Property: La Posada Azul
Address: Avenida del Parque, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada Azul is located just steps from the beach in a beautifully refurbished historic wood house in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua . Each elegantly appointed room has a private bath, hot water and air conditioning. Enjoy a cold drink in the palapa by our large pool in our garden that is filled with colorful bougainvillas. Our famous breakfasts are served on the porch and are included in the room rate.We are proud to announce the opening of our "little sister" Hotelito El Coco Azul located adjacent to our Posada. El Coco Azul offers a more moderate priced stay in San Juan del Sur, but with the same cleanliness and attention to detail as we are known for at La Posada Azul ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your La Posada Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Azul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
La Posada Azul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing