We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

Was there just before Christmas 2008 - Very well designed villas w/two bedrooms - kitchen was up-to-date, pots & pans & coffee maker. The pool was very nice and relaxing on mountain with distant view of the Pacific. Pool bar is decent food and drinks are very inexpensive. Went fishing one day and brought catch back to hotel and the chef cooked it for us!! Lost power for about 8 hours one day, but we heard it's pretty normal for the area - Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank temple1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    75
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
111
84
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TrojanBruin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

The first thing I noticed upon arrival was the diligent security (which I later learned is there 'round the clock). Next I was greeted and checked in at the beautiful commons center, which includes a fantastic restaurant and bar, both next to the incredible pool. I was shocked at how big the villas are when I was shown to mine and was directed to the master bedroom. Also, I knew it would be relatively nice for Nicaragua, but I think it was more nicely furnished than my own home! The patios both afforded a beautiful view of the town and bay, as does the restaurant and pool area. I set up shop next to the pool with my laptop and was able to make calls home with Skype using the highspeed wireless internet. The service is fantastic and friendly. Bosco is available throughout the day to take you into town and drive you back, free of charge. They staff will also arrange for a taxi after hours or for longer treks and will set you straight about proper cab fare. I could go on and on, but will end with a few words about the restaurant., since I'm something of a foodie.

The food on-site was absolutely delicious. The coffee was, without exaggeration, the best I've ever had. I started every morning enjoying the view while I sipped two cups (no sugar or cream necessary) and about half of my mornings with the juveos rancheros (though I didn't have a single menu item I didn't love). You should also order shrimp tacos (I don't believe they're on the menu, but the chef will make whatever you want). The corn tortillas are locally made and to die for.

Also, try the food at Pelican Eyes in town. Bosco will drive you there. It's much pricier to get a room at Pelican eyes, but they have a great happy hour and very reasonably priced fancier fare ($12 gigantic filet mignon with garlic mashed potatoes and fried onions). In town, there's plenty of nightlife and tons of tourists out for a good time. Things ramp up after 10PM or so.

Villas de Palermo is awesome. I'm absolutely going back.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrojanBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

After traveling in Nicaragua for a week we came to Palermo with a recommendation from a friend. Quiet, clean and with an extremely helpful staff, we were able fully relax and enjoy the town of San Juan del Sur. Beautiful spacious villas, refreshing pool, and a restaurant with delicious food, made our stay all the better. The free shuttle to town was available to us when we wanted to explore the area or when we wanted to escape back to the villas. Taxis are easy to find after hours to enjoy the great nightlife. Palermo is a perfect spot to get away and the surfing town of San Juan del Sur is charming and hospitable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeytirabassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenants harbor, maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

Our villa, shared with a friend was clean, functional and comfortable. The views of the Pacific from the veranda were great. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped though we did very little cooing. The restaurant included in this gated resort was adequate but nothing special, though prices were quite reasonable. The resort is a 3 minute distance outside of San Juan del Sur, which was fine with us, since that surfer town can be noisy, especially on weekend evenings.

  • Liked — Views / weather
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank earll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

We stayed at Palermo Hotel Villas with our family the week between Christmas and New Year. The accomodations are new, neat, clean and very well equiped with the modern appliances. The two bedroom villas are beautifully constructed, maintained, designed and offer spectacular views of the lush valley and the San Juan Del Sur Bay (We enjoyed panoramic views as our villa was near the top of the complex). The sunsets offer spectacular color combinations even though they seem to go very quick.ly. We planned our evenings around enjoying the sunsets together. The pool. restaurant and clubhouse are relaxing, beautiful and comfortable The food at the restaurant is gourmet quality and the priceds are very reasonable. The staff are very attentive and genuinly friendly. Palermo is a short distance from downtown San Juan Del Sur ( 5-8 minutes by taxi or hotel shuttle.) So, it is very quiet and relaxing. I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Liked — Beautiful views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CAC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

The view of the bay from the Villa was just magnificent. Our two room villa was clean and spacious. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The food was great and the lounging next to the pool with drink in hand was so relaxing.

Waking up to the sound of Howler Monkeys was a new experience for us. The town of San Juan del Sur is charming. We were amazed at the variety and quality of the restaurants - the food is wonderful!

  • Liked — Beautiful locations, views and very clean, roomy accomodations
  • Disliked — It is a ~mile from the beach
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sac909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2008

My husband and I made a return visit to Villas de Palermo this November, and once again the stay was magnificent. We had just spent a week volunteering in a hospital in El Salvador and were in much need of some rest and relaxation. VDP hit the spot with its pristine pool, clean villas, lush landscape, beautiful sunsets, exquisite food and personalized service. We spent our time reading, lounging, sipping cocktails at the bar, cooking in our villa and visiting some of the nearby beaches and restaurants. There are a few really good new places in town that are not to be missed. Bambu Beach (used to be Ol Sole Mio, which has moved to hotel La Dolce Vita) and El Pozo, both have great menus and Bambu Beach has movies two nights a week, shown on a large white "canvas" that is hung between two palm trees. The road from La Virgen to SJDS is in excellent shape with it's recent completion of repaving. I highley suggest VDP for those who want a little piece of solitude while not being too far from all of the action of downtown SJDS.

  • Liked — Serene, lush tropical ambiance in a spacious private villa.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.2 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Property: Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, poolside spa, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Villas are for rent by the day, week or month, as well as for sale as vacation homes. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. Locally sourced, vegetarian, vegan, healthy and Nicaraguan meal service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Villas De Palermo Hotel & Resort Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing