We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pacific Vacation Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Our villa, shared with a friend was clean, functional and comfortable. The views of the Pacific from the veranda were great. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped though we did very little cooing. The restaurant included in this gated resort was adequate but nothing special, though prices were quite reasonable. The resort is a 3 minute distance outside of San Juan del Sur, which was fine with us, since that surfer town can be noisy, especially on weekend evenings.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank earll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 335 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2009

We stayed at Palermo Hotel Villas with our family the week between Christmas and New Year. The accomodations are new, neat, clean and very well equiped with the modern appliances. The two bedroom villas are beautifully constructed, maintained, designed and offer spectacular views of the lush valley and the San Juan Del Sur Bay (We enjoyed panoramic views as our villa was near the top of the complex). The sunsets offer spectacular color combinations even though they seem to go very quick.ly. We planned our evenings around enjoying the sunsets together. The pool. restaurant and clubhouse are relaxing, beautiful and comfortable The food at the restaurant is gourmet quality and the priceds are very reasonable. The staff are very attentive and genuinly friendly. Palermo is a short distance from downtown San Juan Del Sur ( 5-8 minutes by taxi or hotel shuttle.) So, it is very quiet and relaxing. I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CAC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

The view of the bay from the Villa was just magnificent. Our two room villa was clean and spacious. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The food was great and the lounging next to the pool with drink in hand was so relaxing.

Waking up to the sound of Howler Monkeys was a new experience for us. The town of San Juan del Sur is charming. We were amazed at the variety and quality of the restaurants - the food is wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sac909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

My husband and I made a return visit to Villas de Palermo this November, and once again the stay was magnificent. We had just spent a week volunteering in a hospital in El Salvador and were in much need of some rest and relaxation. VDP hit the spot with its pristine pool, clean villas, lush landscape, beautiful sunsets, exquisite food and personalized service. We spent our time reading, lounging, sipping cocktails at the bar, cooking in our villa and visiting some of the nearby beaches and restaurants. There are a few really good new places in town that are not to be missed. Bambu Beach (used to be Ol Sole Mio, which has moved to hotel La Dolce Vita) and El Pozo, both have great menus and Bambu Beach has movies two nights a week, shown on a large white "canvas" that is hung between two palm trees. The road from La Virgen to SJDS is in excellent shape with it's recent completion of repaving. I highley suggest VDP for those who want a little piece of solitude while not being too far from all of the action of downtown SJDS.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

Traveling with 6 other friends on a trip to Nicaragua we were looking for something affordable, but nice. Palermo is a great value, very affordably priced, but also a very very nice place. The property is very well maintained, the villas are beautiful, the view is incredible, the staff is very friendly - especially Bosco, our "driver" who took us all over town during our stay. The surrounding area has a lot to do; from zip line canopy tours, horse back riding, beach, fishing, hiking, etc. The club house has a nice restaurant and bar, the food was very good and well priced, and the pool was a great end to the day, watching the sunset over the Pacific. All said and done, this is a great place to stay - you can't go wrong.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank NYjefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Stayed here with friends over a weekend, and was amazed by what good value this place is. You get a HUGE two-bed, two-bath villa, with kitchen, living room, terrace and balcony, all for a little over US$100? astounding. Everything is kitted out in beautiful Nicaraguan wood furniture, and the kitchen has all the mod cons. Living room has TV, DVD and CD player. The views from the terrace and balcony are superb, and the resort itself is great too. The pool is beautiful, the restaurant is excellent (albeit it expensive), and even the resort shop sells great local crafts. I'm not usually a resort person, but at that price and at that level of luxury, why not? The only downside I suppose is that it is a bit of trek into San Juan. They apparently rent out bikes though, but we didn't use them as we were with friends who had a car.
I highly recommend this place - it is actually much nicer than it looks on its website too!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Beautiful resort in the mountains outside of San Juan Del Sur. The villas have great views of the Pacific and have an outside porch for relaxing. Our villa was very clean, quite roomy & very well equipped for cooking. The resort's water supply ceased the 2nd day we were there. After a couple of days they started bringing us large containers of bottled water so we could flush the toilets and cook. Eventually the water came back on sporatically, but they never got the water issue fixed during the week we were there. They also did not offer to reduce our rental fee for the inconveniene. Beautiful pool and great restaurant. After you turn off the main highway onto the road to San Juan Del Sur you will find very very bad roads. Nicaragua is a beautiful country, but it needs to get its electrical & water issues resolved and improve road conditions.

5  Thank Moore57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Kayaker, Owner and marketing manager at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2010

We hope that you will give Nicaragua another chance to impress and pamper you. We have much better roads now than when you visited several years ago - no potholes between the airport in Managua and our hotel.

We still have occasional power outages, and they do remind us that we're in the third world. Water is still delivered by electric wells, so when the power is out we can experience outages. However, we now have two more water tanks and two wells, so the incidence of water! shortages are seldom. In fact, San Juan del Sur is now getting served from a large water main pumping water from Lake Nicaragua. Better quality water and lots of availability.

We invite you to return and see us today!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#26 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
321 reviews
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#5 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
La Jolla de Guasacate
La Jolla de Guasacate
#1 of 1 in Las Salinas
43 reviews
3.5 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
135 reviews
3.3 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#2 of 4 in Playa Marsella
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Resort Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Resort Palermo

Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $111 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Resort Palermo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, poolside spa, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Villas are for rent by the day, week or month, as well as for sale as vacation homes. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. Locally sourced, vegetarian, vegan, healthy and Nicaraguan meal service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel & Resort Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel & Resort Palermo Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing