We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villas, excellent service, very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently stayed for 20 days in July. We loved our Villa #20 and the beautiful views. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant and found it delicious and reasonable. It was helpful to have the van drop us of and pick us up in town. Since we stayed so long, we got to know the staff. They are professional, friendly and helpful. We made several excursions -- Ometepe, Masaya, and Leon. Maria and Arlen, at the front desk were especially helpful in suggesting sites to see as well as providing transportation options. Unfortunately, I broke a tooth while on vacation, and Arlen made the arrangements for me to see a dentist. Villas de Palmermo is a wonderful and welcoming place to go as a couple or a family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hi Janet,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at Villas de Palermo. We hope that you will visit again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Resort Palermo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 320 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

I recently joined my boyfriend in Nicaragua for a week and stayed at the Villas de Palermo, where he is living for a few months. The villas are nicely appointed and very comfortable. I liked the woodwork and the front porch, especially. We had a nice view of the beach and "El Grande Jesus" (our name for the big Jesus statue near the beach) from the upper balcony as well. I wouldn't call the Villas de Palermo fancy, but I would call them comfortable, clean and attractive. I agree with the other reviewers about the water in the shower. It was either scalding hot, if the water heater kicked on, or refreshingly cool. We didn't mind that much, but if I HAD to pick something to complain about that would be the only thing.

Having a kitchen was really awesome. We ate breakfast in the villa everyday. I loooooved sitting on the front porch when the rain came through. Very zen. Darn, why did I come back to the US?

It helps a lot if you speak some Spanish in Nicaragua, as both my boyfriend and I do. The staff in the reception area speak English, but i'm not sure if many of the others do. Anyway, it's a Spanish-speaking country, so learn some Spanish. It's a good language to know! I digress...

The pool area was nice and never crowded. My only recommendation about that is that they might consider getting slightly thicker pads for the lounge chairs. They are lovely chairs but made of wood and kind of hard and the pads they have for them are a bit thin.

There are many beautiful flowers around the property. The red hibiscus is my favorite. Also, Nicaragua has many, many butterflies of many different colors. Very magical.

Tip: If you take the mototaxi shuttle to town (the little one with the open sides), sit in the middle. You'll see... :)

Room Tip: We were in one of the lower villas, closer to the pool and restaurant. I think there are better view...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessicabythebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hi Jessica,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with your boyfriend at Villas de Palermo. While many of the employees in reception and the restaurant in Palermo can speak English, we certainly agree that learning some spanish is hugely helpful when traveling in Nicaragua. Thanks for your advice and we hope that you'll visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This past January, my husband and I got married in San Juan Del Sur using a groupon wedding package that the resort was offering. It was gorgeous and the accommodations were great.

The things we loved: The view from the villa (we reserved a villa at the highest point), the food, the prices, the people, and the size of the hotel. The activities like the zip lining was only $30 a person and it was right on the grounds... and it was amazing! San Juan del Sur is great for people that like to explore a new place with some help getting around.

Things we didn't love: The unpredictability of the shower temperature and pressure (not that terrible really), and not having phones in the villas. Normally, this would not be an issue. However, our guests were staying at different villas in different areas of the resort. So in order to communicate, we used the free WiFi to connect to the internet with our phones. if you're coming with a large group, try to stay on close, I guess.

I wish I would have brushed up on my Spanish a little more before going. However, many of the staff members spoke English very well.

Room Tip: If your legs can handle it, we recommend the villas on the top of the hill! Such a great view and ve...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed having your wedding at Palermo. We hope that your guests enjoyed their stay as well. Because of the high iron content in the water in Nicaragua, we are constantly cleaning the shower heads and water system. We apologize if the water in your shower was inconsistent. It is something we are trying to improve for the future. We hope that you will return again some day. We always offer discounts for returning guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel looks more like a house, it has a kitchen, living room, balcony, it has a lot of space. SanJuan is a party town, great for surfing, meeting interesting people or just relax. You can do it all in this place. It is a little far from the city but we always had a suttle bus taking us to downtown. No a problem at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeciaFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit. We are working on continuing the efficiency of the shuttle service to make it easier for people to get to and from town on a regular basis. Thanks for your feedback. We hope to see you down here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Villa for two nights and found the accommodations quite luxurious for the area. We only ate breakfast here but it was very tasty. Our only complaint was that the manager seemed a little rude and wouldn't let us have a glass of water as we were leaving.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maracujagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed in Villa 13 from July 12 - July 18. The villa was situated right accross from the main office / reception area and restaurant. It was absolutely perfect in every way. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant almost every day and the chef prepared absolutely delicious food. Whole grilled snapper, Mayan steak, fresh fruit with almost every meal. The prices were very reasonable and the service was spectacuar in every way. The daily housekeeping service was exceptional and she was vey nice too, by the way. The gate house security did a great job, recognizing us when we returned after each trek to town via local taxis. The daily shuttle van service dropped us off in town wherever we requested. Although it was a few minutes out of town, it was definately worth it ! I will stay no where else on my next trip to San Juan Del Sur !

Room Tip: Villa 13 was located close to the restaurant and office.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review Patti. We really appreciate it. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Palermo. We hope that you will come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had a great stay at Villas de Palermo! The Villas were even nicer than I expected and had beautiful views from every room. The villas are a close walk into town or a short cab or shuttle ride away from the main nightlife and markets in San Juan del Sur. The property has lots of natural wildlife and you can often see rare exotic birds and butterflies while you walk to your villa. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and was always very helpful. I would definitely recommend guests to stay here if they are looking for a more relaxed experience in San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aneesha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Villas de Palermo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
292 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
426 reviews
3.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
149 reviews
3.5 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Resort Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Resort Palermo

Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $85 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Resort Palermo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, poolside spa, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Villas are for rent by the day, week or month, as well as for sale as vacation homes. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. Locally sourced, vegetarian, vegan, healthy and Nicaraguan meal service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Resort Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel & Resort Palermo Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing