We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Destination!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We wanted a honeymoon where we could experience a new culture, relax, go on fun excursions, and feel safe. We got all of this and excellent service with Villas de Palermo. They helped us book any activities we wanted, they gave us free shuttles to the city and beach a few minutes away, and they were always ready to help. We absolutely loved this place. Every morning we would wake up and look out at our gorgeous view; every night we would sit out on the balcony, drinking wine and enjoying the gorgeous Nicaraguan sunset. Our villa was high up on the hill so we had an incredible view. The lady at the front desk was always ready to help. Can't say enough great things about this place. We bought our stay off of Groupon, stayed for ten nights and loved it. We would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We asked for a villa higher up on the hill to get the best view. If you choose a villa lower on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We enjoyed you guys, as well! I really think it helps to settle in, slow-down and absorb the culture in Nicaragua. The pace of life is so different and the smiles on people's faces are a welcome change to many locales where we all live the rest of the time.

We look forward to seeing you and your friends in the future. Come enjoy a different season in San Juan del Sur! The flowers, fishing and activities all change a couple times a year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    82
    24
    11
    9
See reviews for
118
88
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our villa was beautiful however the staff was not very accommadating. When we first arrived we were told that we could take a shuttle into town anytime before 6:00. Later that afternoon when we tried to take the shuttle we were told that they only left on the o'clock....then we were told that actually the shuttle was broken. Moments later we saw the shuttle driving around the property and when we asked about it they told us that the driver did not have his license and he could not leave the Palermo. After a long discussion with the staff and manager we were finally told that we would have someone pick us up and take us into town in 15 minutes. We were also told by the staff that after hours they would call us a safe cab into town that would cost between 20-30 cordoba per person. Later that night they called us a cab and the driver demanded 40-50 cordoba per person. After staying at the Pelican Eyes for 4 days it was hard adjusting to the not-so accomodating staff at the Palermo. Although the villas are very beautiful and well kept, it is very dark around the property so you may want to take a flashlight with you. The food was very good however a lot of the waiters do not speak much (if any) english just fyi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkees4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Kayaker, Guest Relations Manager at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thanks for letting us know what you liked and what needs improvement!

Our resort provides free transportation on the hour during daylight hours back and forth to San Juan del Sur. We are sorry that you had difficulty arranging for a ride when you wanted to go into town. The taxis we don't have much control over! Even with negotiated rates, the drivers are sometimes optomistic that guests will pay a little more. We encourage guests ask for help in the reception office or at the front gate if they feel that they are being overcharged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had very low expectations for this property. We were very happy with our stay. Suites were excellent and pool area is nice.

Please try the Yoga. The instructor "Joe" is a nice resource for information on the area.

Choose the correct beaches and events and you will have a great time.

Staff at hotel speaks mostly spanish.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickphoenix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Kayaker, Guest Relations Manager at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
We hope to see you and your friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I started our Nicaraguan honeymoon with a four night stay at Villas de Palermo. We discovered the hotel, and purchased our package through LivingSocial. It was a bit of an impulse purchase, and we didn't do a whole lot of research beforehand - so we didn't entirely know what to expect. Now I can say, even if I did have high expectations, they would have been exceeded.

Our package included several activities including airport transportation, a welcome cocktail and BBQ dinner, zipline canopy tour, surf lessons, and ATV rentals. All of the activities were quite fun, and the staff at the hotel did an excellent job arranging our activities and helping us to communicate with drivers in spanish when necessary (our spanish is embarrassingly bad, but more on that later).

Upon arriving to the Villas, it was more beautiful than we expected. The photos online don't do the property or the villas justice. The views of SJDS from the restaurant and pool are incredible, the pool was clean and inviting, and the villa itself was much larger and better appointed than we'd expected. The furniture in the villa also stood out: Everything was solid wood and very sturdily constructed. We could have easily (and quite comfortably) moved right in.

Perhaps the best part, however, was the friendly service. Nicaragua's service, overall, tends to be a lot slower than what one might expect in the US - but it was extremely friendly. Everyone at the hotel and restaurant were responsive, and exceedingly patient as my wife and I made attempts to practice our spanish. Through our time at Villas de Palermo we (slightly) improved our spanish and learned several key phrases that helped us get around the rest of the country.

The only downside was the ants in our villa. I understand that bugs are to be expected, but the ants did throw me off. It was a four-day struggle for space: The ants vs. me and my wife. The cleaning staff were responsive and came to spray for ants whenever we asked, but they always seemed to return. If it weren't for the ants (which the hotel may have very little control over) I'd have given this a 5 instead of a 4.

To summarize:
- Great food
- Excellent service
- Gorgeous views
- Comfortable accommodations

Not sure if SJDS, overall, was quite our scene - but if we do decide to return, we'd stay at Villas de Palermo again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The lower villas are easier to walk to. Theoretically the villas higher on the hill may have a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We just had our wedding here this passed weekend and it was beyond my wildest dreams. We had preiviously stayed at Palermo the year before when we were tring to choose whereto have our wedding. The two choices were Pelican and Palermo. Palermo won by a land slide. Their customer serviceis amazing, Miss Jessica who was our event corrdinator was very effecient and always on top of things. Miss Arlen was also just as wonderful, she accomadated my parents on their stay as best she could and she couldnt have done a bette job. One of the drives who we got to know so well that we got confortable calling Memo (Guillermo) for short was that best driver we had to tske us into town. He always found us the best deals in eveything. The day of our wedding the staff on duty made everybody feel comfortable. The nigt went off without a hiccup. The manager stayed part of the nigt to make sure everything was as it should be. I could not have been happier to have chosen Palermo. I did notice that they did getknew people in the front desk and the women now is less helpful thanmiss Arlen was but the times that we delt with her was very minimal, I wont coount that against them because thee is always someone who needs additional training. But hands down Villas de Palemo is the place to be in SJDS and to tie the night!!! Happy vacation!!! P.S. I didnt mention all the things Miss Jessica helped us add to the wedding to make it extra special like an amazing boat ride, and a decidant rehesal dinner. Cant wait to be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizziehadalittlelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our stay at La Palermo was amazing. Our Villa was clean, spacious, well decorated and very comfortable. The restaurant was great and the service is very good! The restaurant and pool are impeccably clean and well maintained. We stayed for 5 nights and didn't want to leave. The staff is so nice and helpful--they really made you feel at home. And don't miss out on the yoga--the setting is so relaxing and the instructor is amazing! We highly recommend La Palermo!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciapadilla55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Villas de Palermo is such a treat! I love the view of your own personal villa looking over the valley from the pair of rocking chairs each villa has on its deck. The pool is also amazing! Great view, drinks, and ambiance. I did yoga one morning out by the pool with Vanessa (who has a yoga studio in town) and it was the best yoga experience I've had. The decor and house is also very hospitable. I love that it is away from town a bit- you get much more of a relaxing experience that way but you can easily get into to town as well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All villas/rooms are the same I think- all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Property: Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, poolside spa, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Villas are for rent by the day, week or month, as well as for sale as vacation homes. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. Locally sourced, vegetarian, vegan, healthy and Nicaraguan meal service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort
Villas De Palermo Hotel & Resort Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing