We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular sunsets and exotic relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband and I have been visiting Nicaragua on and off for the past five years, most recenly in November. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villas de Palermo. The villa was extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated with Nicaraguan hardwood furniture and local accessories. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were lush with greenery and flowering plants. The sunsets from our terrace or from the clubhouse restaurant were truly spectacular, and different each night. We made it a point to be in position to view the sunset each evening with the local Flor de Cana in hand. Dinner in the restaurant was delicous. We especially loved the grass fed beef.

The Internet worked well in our villa so I was able to do some work (regretfully). this will allow us to come back again for a longer stay knowing I can stay in touch with my office.
And we will most definitely return.

Room Tip: Because the villas are built into the hillside those with mobility issues or not inclined to walk up...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Resort Palermo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 320 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our stay at the Villas dePalermo was a wonderfully relaxing time. The villas are beautifully built and maintained. The service is exellent and the atmosphere is warm and friendly.
Everything you need is available at the resort or the free shuttle service can take you into town in just minutes. The views are gorgeous and sitting on our patio with a morning coffee was a perfect way to start each day.
I had been to San Juan twice before looking at property and wishing I could stay. I have made Villas de Palermo my home away from home and plan to spend a great deal of time there.

Room Tip: Higher numbered units are farther from the resort, with better views and privacy. Lower numbered un...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SindiChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Kayaker, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Sindi,

Thanks for your glowing review of the resort. It sure helps to hear from previous guests when selecting a hotel for a vacation!

Sincerely,
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I felt very comfortable with my four year old and wife. Having great food and a pool within the complex makes for a very relaxing vacation. I can not say enough good things about the staff and their attitude. The head grounds keeper even trimmed the bushes in front of our villa to get a better view.

Room Tip: i think all villas are the same. Ask for one close to the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Kayaker, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Thanks for letting others know that we're a great family location. The pool is large enough for kids, as well as adults swimming laps or just sipping a cocktail watching the ocean. I especially like to sit on the deck and read a book under the shade of the almond trees - close enough to the pool to keep an eye on the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We are staying on and off for a two-year mission trip. We are staying at Palermo a bit for the winter months and some in the spring. It has a wonderful staff, great amenities and views and it's secure and safe with little ones. The grounds are breathtaking and the staff is beyond friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying long or short term as well as with a family. Great price too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kqr241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Me and my family stayed there for a few days while visiting town on a short vacation through the country and found this hotel to be everything we expected and more. The staff was very friendly and willing to help us with every inquiry we had. The place is perfect for relaxation and fun times altogether,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here about three years ago and it's still the same now; top notch quality property. Spacuious villas with two bedroons and baths. Decent sized and well equiped kitchen. Great views overlooking the town and Pacific. Ocean. The Villas are very clean and well cared for. Breakfast is included in the daily rate. Nice pool and dining/bar area. The Chef cooked us our catch of Red Snapper from a local fishing trip. Great place for kids, staff is great. Will return a third time soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank temple1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

On our last night, someone entered the villa as we slept and took all our valuables. When we awakened @3:30-4:00 a.m., we ran down to the security guard house and no one was there. We screamed for help and after more than 5 minutes, the guard arrived. We had to tell security to call police, Jose and Ray (general manager). Once we returned to the villa, we discovered the thief exited by the balcony door because a container of orange juice from the refrigerator and a knife were left on the hilly area. It is interesting that the thief ran down the side of the hill which is in front a guard house that is unattended. We find it rather curious that this theft occurred on our last night and we were conveniently and intentionally left with only our passports and clothes. Other than filing a police report, the Management did not appear overly concerned. In fact, a comment was made that we had left the door unlocked.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
14  Thank dfy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Kayaker, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

We are all saddened by this experience and find ourselves in a difficult position. The authorities were called in immediately upon your report of theft. However, they did not find any evidence that a robbery occurred and offered a different scenario in their written report. We can all agree that you left without paying a significant portion of your bill and only in the process of trying to collect your unpaid balance after your departure from Nicaragua did you post this negative review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
292 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
426 reviews
3.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
149 reviews
3.5 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Resort Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Resort Palermo

Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $85 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Resort Palermo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, poolside spa, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Villas are for rent by the day, week or month, as well as for sale as vacation homes. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. Locally sourced, vegetarian, vegan, healthy and Nicaraguan meal service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Resort Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel & Resort Palermo Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing