We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Park Avenue Villas
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful hotel”
Reviewed August 18, 2007

A friend recommended Park Avenue Villas for our first adventure in any Central American country, and it was a perfect place for us. Our hosts helped with arrangements when the language barrier would have been an issue for us. We loved our suite, having a kitchen, and the deck and view are beyond wonderful. Ralph designed the hotel to stay as cool as possible and catch the breeze. My husband I definitely would go back.

A question for Trip Advisor: What's the definition of "Other Lodging"? Why isn't this place in the "Hotels" listing? It took me a bit of searching to find ... thanks.

Miriam

  • Liked — Location & views
  • Disliked — Not a thing. It was all great.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattleite85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    10
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
67
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

The Park Avenue Villas is a brand new hotel in downtown San Juan. It is a smaller hotel in a higher price bracket , however, the perks make it more than worth it's weight in cordobas. The American ex-pats who designed, built and manage the hotel are warm and sweet ,and made our vacation feel more like a trip to gram's than to central america. Every night, all of the guests would meet on the balcony with a glass of wine and watch the brilliant sun set over the ocean. I would recommend this to families and backpackers alike.

  • Liked — the owners, the view, and the kitchen
  • Disliked — the mattresses were very firm
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank m3rvelous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

Park Avenue Villas is the place to stay in San Juan del Sur, hands down.
The faciltiies are excellent, hot water, air conditioning, daily maid service... The rooms/apartments are a lap of luxery, and the customer service leaves the pricest of places behind in the dust. It should be noted that you wont run into your crazy, run of the mill traveler. Park Avenue Villas is as welcoming to a cheery family, as it is to a group of young happy travlers, yet sorts out the less desirable ( anyone who has travelled knows excatly what I am talking about. = a plus to us all). To top it all off, the owners Ralph and Renda are to die for, I am already missing them. If you have a question they always have an answer, with a pleasent touch of southern charm. I look forward to my next stay at Park Avenue Villas.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Les_is_more35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2007

Our stay at the Villas was exactly what we were looking for on our christmas vacation.
The owners made us feel at home and provided us with all the resources we needed to enjoy our stay. It was lovely.
The Villas are clean, beautiful and comfortable.
And the views at sunset are not to be missed.
Relax and Enjoy!

  • Liked — The comfort of the whole building , suites and the balcony
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shannahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

I stayed at the Park Avenue Villas on my first visit to Nicaragua and San Juan del Sur, and I can't think of a better introduction. Everything about the hotel was great - the owner, staff, location, room, and especially the balcony were the perfect way to get to know the area. In my opinion, this hotel offers everything you could need for either a short or extended stay, and is right in town but just enough off the beaten path that the atmosphere is very calm and relaxing. The sunset views are excellent, and you're just a very short walk to the beach, the market, restaurants and shopping. We also did a little cooking in our suite, which is a great option to have. The hotel/rooms are spotless, comfortable and beautifully done. Having a pool is also nice. The owner is a terrific host - tons of fun, and can recommend lots of activities and places to see and go out to eat. I would highly recommend to anyone as an excellent place to stay, and will definitely return!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, atmosphere, owners
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2007

We loved our stay, the friendly owners where terrific. The new villas are spottless and offer stunning views. The pool was refreshing and the staff made us feel like royalty

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank leecation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2006

My girlfried and I came to [---] and had a little trouble finding a nice place when we first arrived. We eventually checked into the Park Avenue Villas and ended up staying for a month. The accommodations are very nice and the hosts were wonderful. I would highly recommend both San Juan del Sur and the Park Avenue Villas to anyone.

  • Liked — Felt like home
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at El Colibri/$5 wireless internet all day at Pelican Eyes on the hill
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cpowell623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
2.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 58 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Avenue Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Avenue Villas

Property: Hotel Park Avenue Villas
Address: Park Avenue # 1 | From Rest. El Timon, 2 blocks north, 1 block east, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Avenue Villas is a condo hotel only a block from the beach within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, activities in the middle of town. The hotel is on a slight hill so you get a panaramic view of the bay with awesome sunsets from our second floor deck.We have long and short term rates and 4 selections of suites. Our motto, the longer you stay, the less you pay... We offer one and two bedroom suites with airconditioning, TV, DVD players, great selection of DVDs free...ceiling fans and hot water throughout the hotel. courtyard pool is on the lower floor. Call or email for pricing.In San Juan del Sur and Park Avenue Villas, there is truly No Bad Days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Avenue Villas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing