We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met and Exceeded our expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Park Avenue Villas
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Met and Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The cleanliness and friendliness of the staff was beyond welcoming. The accommodations were comfy and clean. Ralph and Renda treated my family- and my boys like family. Highly recommend the sailing excursion. The hotel is a short walk to everywhere- dining, convenience stores, bars, beach yet far away enough to be quiet. Jorge is very knowledgable as well and an asset to Park Avenue staff. Thanks Ralph, Renda and Jorge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    10
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
67
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I recently returned home from SJdS and Park Avenue Villas where we have stayed for a month the last 4 yrs. We truely feel like this is our 2nd home and Ralph and Renda make us feel like family. This year was even more so as my husband flew off a motorcycle and broke his collar bone. What do you do when you are so far from home and have a medical emergency? Well, Ralph and Jorge, an exceptional employee/friend, took us to the local clinic and when we were told we would have to go to Rivas, 30 miles away, Ralph said, "Let's go"! I had to decline such a generous offer as I had no idea how long we would be gone. Ralph took us to get a cab and Jorge went with us to act as interpreter. The medical emergency was attended to just as it would have been back home and with great professionalism. Hubby is mending nicely and I want everyone to know of the kindness and care of Ralph, Renda and the exceptional Jorge! It would have been so much more difficult without him. So if you are looking for a very clean, well kept property to stay at go no further than Park Avenue Villas. You will be treated with kindness and will feel very welcome. Thank you to Ralph, Renda, Jorge and all the staff. We've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandRMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed with Ralph and Renda and were incredibly happy with our choice. They are located in a convenient location in town and have a balcony to watch the sunsets. They made us feel welcome from the instant we walked in the door. We were treated like part of the family and given suggestions of things to do and places to eat. The owners live on the property and were always available for advice or suggestions. Their staff speaks English well and was happy to help whenever possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karebarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We ended up coming here on short notice - we were staying about 20 minutes out of town and decided we wanted to stay in town instead after a day trip. Park Avenue Villas had a room available for the 3 nights we wanted, so we jumped on it. They kind of just let us pick a room that was within the price we were quoted (bunch of guests were just heading out after New Year's so they were cleaning everything), so we ended up in the Venetian. It was a nice, comfortable room with two queen beds and I enjoyed the air conditioning. I also really liked the design of the bathroom. The location is great too; it's close to where all the action is without being in the center of it. It's set back a bit from the main street where most of the bars and restaurants are so it's nice and quiet. We didn't stay in one of the suites, but we could see them when they were being cleaned and they looked very nice.
I would definitely recommend this hotel
We took advantage of the pool because the beach in SJDS doesn't really have anywhere to sit down and isn't the greatest swimming spot anyways. The view from the balcony area upstairs is incredible, especially at sunset. You could not ask for anything better. Their wifi works pretty well, but we had to go out of our room to use it because the signal didn't make it into our room.
Then you have the owners, Ralph and Renda, who are so very charming and friendly. During our stay, they were always all over the hotel making sure things were running smoothly. We work in construction so we actually had a very long, interesting talk with Ralph about how they built the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you are looking for something different in a town where a hostel is almost every second building.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Staying here is like staying with family. The owners, ex pats from Texas, will make you feel at home. Not only will they tell you all the best places to check out in town, but they'll sit and chat with you out on the veranda. Be sure to take Ralph up on his offers for a sailboat tour- so much fun!
The rooms are great if you're thinking about staying in town a while, like little apartments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Park Avenue Villas is an absolute must-visit on your trip to San Juan del sur. We had a 1 bedroom apartment with an extra mattress for our son. We were able to use the kitchen facilities frequently, and the suite provided ample room for the 3 of us. The atmosphere of the complex is spectacular, with amazing sunset views every night. There are many areas where you can read, check email, or gaze out into the distance spaced out around the building. The pool was perfect for cooling off after a climb up to the Jesus statue.
More than anything, we felt welcomed and enjoyed by the staff, notably Renda & Ralph and Lucas. Our son referred to 'Grandpa Ralph' frequently since our return home, and Lucas was always so kind and quick to help us with anything we needed.
The restaurant recommendations were spot on, and SJDS restaurants are so affordable. We were so glad to have spent the last days of our Central American adventure with the Hewitts at Park Avenue Villas.

Room Tip: A couple of suites have bedrooms facing the street, which were a bit noisy a couple of nights due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwidewebers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great rooms, great view, great access and even better company. The view from the porch/balcony is a deal maker. The rooms are great, but you are not going to want to spend a lot of time there. There are nice areas to sit outside. There are markets and a beach nearby. The local food is quite good in spots. The beach cafe/bars are some of the best values anywhere. Buy your fresh fruits etc at the market.
Ralph and Renda are great hosts. The staff is also very helpful.

Room Tip: I was given a tour of all the unoccupied rooms. They all had their own personality and were very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 466Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
4.7 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.2 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Avenue Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Avenue Villas

Property: Hotel Park Avenue Villas
Address: Park Avenue # 1 | From Rest. El Timon, 2 blocks north, 1 block east, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Avenue Villas is a condo hotel only a block from the beach within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, activities in the middle of town. The hotel is on a slight hill so you get a panaramic view of the bay with awesome sunsets from our second floor deck.We have long and short term rates and 4 selections of suites. Our motto, the longer you stay, the less you pay... We offer one and two bedroom suites with airconditioning, TV, DVD players, great selection of DVDs free...ceiling fans and hot water throughout the hotel. courtyard pool is on the lower floor. Call or email for pricing.In San Juan del Sur and Park Avenue Villas, there is truly No Bad Days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Avenue Villas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing