We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Park Avenue Villas
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I planned a stay at Park Avenue Villa during April 2012. I made reservations online with Renda. I told her how many people would be joint me and she gave me a rate. When I arrived she said not that many people could stay in the room. She stated we needed to rent two rooms (even though we had rented the two bedroom suite and had plenty of room) I showed her the email where we had agreed on a price and how many people were with me, however she stated we still had to rent another room. So of course that was additional money we had not planned on. SO be careful when renting from her. She screwed us. Then her husband screamed at our kids 3-4 times a day not to splash in the pool because it would kill the plants surrounding the pool. He also was yelling at other patrons for being too noisy, even though they were not overly loud. I would not recommend this place at all to anyone with kids. We were told we could not have our door open as well. I feel like we paid $1000.00 for four days and if we want our door open it is our right. The elderly and Seniors would enjoy this place, however the guards let anyone in that wants in spite of the gate. Checkout time was noon, and at 10:00 they entered our room and started cleaning without our permission. I feel like they should have waited until we were gone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MsGann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 133 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

having never been to San Juan del Sur, i put a lot of faith in picking this hotel based on this site and wasn't at all disappointed. San Juan del Sur will grow in it tourism trade i believe and right now it's still a backpackers and locals vacation spot with amazing value for the dollar. Park Avenue is a very clean well run hotel that would cost twice the amount in Costa Rica or Mexico and three times the amount in the Carib.
The true measure is the owners that have the personal touch to make any stay better. Ralph and Renda are great inn keepers, but Ralph really proved his true self when my daughter tripped over a large curb and nearly broke her ankle. Ralph took us to the local clinic and when it was found out that we needed the hospital 40 miles away, he arranged the transportation. It may sound simple, but him being there made two scared parents and a hurt teenager much more comfortable about getting care in a foreign country.
Renda also upgraded our rooms on check-in at no extra price, the hotel support staff are trustworthy and very friendly, wonderful views from the balcony and good wifi as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is the second time my husband and I stayed at Park Avenue Villas. We just got back on Thursday (March 29th) and can't wait to go back! The location, in the middle of town, can't be beat. It is close enough to the action, but far enough to keep the noise level down. We stay in the Ritz which has a private balcony which is awesome! We would sit there in the morning (when it was cool, and the sky was so incredibly blue), and in the evening to watch the sunsets. The little apartment style suite is comfortable. We used the stove every day to make breakfast. The staff is friendly, and we've always felt safe at the hotel. Ralph & Renda welcome you with open arms, and always remind you that if you need something, just ask. They make you feel like you are visiting your home away from home. Totally recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask Ralph & Renda about when the next scheduled power outages are. There is no water when the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clt124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Park Avenue Villas is a wonderful, quiet, boutique hotel just two blocks from the main downtown area. The location is excellent and the staff very friendly. Guests usually gather on the balcony with the knowledgeable and helpful owners to watch the sun go down, have a couple drinks, and enjoy the conversation. I highly recommend sailing on "No Bad Days" with the owner Ralph and the Sea Scouts.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trcvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We just returned (2/25/12) after spending 6 nights at Park Avenue Villas. We stayed in the Seville and we could not have been happier. The suite was very comfortable, clean and set up so that we could cook and eat in the kitchen The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Ralph and Renda the owners are the perfect hosts. Anything you needed they were there for you. They truly went out of their way to make sure our stay was was the best .They are so knowledgeable about the area and it's history. We really enjoyed spending time with them. We went out on their sailboat one afternoon and had a truly wonderful day. (Ralph is a great sailor as are his Sea Scouts). The hotel is in the perfect location. Close to the beach, restaurants, and shopping. You can easily walk to any of these places. The sunset and daily happy hour up on the second story balcony are the best in town. There was always a great breeze up there too. We met some wonderful people while we were there. It was very hard to leave because we felt like we were home. Thanks so much to the staff at the Villas and to Ralph and Renda for an unforgettable vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandL561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We got to park avenue villas on saturday 24th of February to participate in the harley event that took place en san juan del sur,we left all our stuff in the hotel and went for lunch,when we came back we found one of the rooms with the door open and the bags and a helmet that were there were missing,when we called the owners ,they said that they saw a car came ,a couple went into the hotel and took the three bags and helmet, and when they asked us to translate why the guard they have there let them in,he told us that the thieves told him that a friend is staying in that room and they gave him a name that not even was one of us,and when i told him that why didn´t he check with the owner if the name they gave him was in that room or not,well guess what? there´s no comunication between them ,he doesn´t speak english ,and they don´t speak spanish,they said they were gonna call the police ,the police never showed up,they charged us in advance,and the next day when we were checking out they disapeared,they saw the crooks and helped them to steal our stuff,and didn´t refund or cove the losses,not even an apology,it seems like they´re used to it ,worst hotel administration we´ve ever seen, ZERO SECURITY!!!!!!!,BAD EXPERIENCE!!!!!
ROBERT

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lebanesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I just returned (2/24/12) from six nights at the Park Avenue Villas. We stayed in the Bel-Air suite and it was fantastic. We had a full living/dining room, kitchen, bath and bedroom. A private balcony was right outside the living room. We spent the majority of our tim on the second level porch that had a great breeze most times of the day. Ralph and Renda truly want their guests to enjoy their time in San Juan Del Sur and to love it as much as they did. Their staff was courteous and did a wonderful job. We didn't cook in, but did take advantage of the local fruit and vegetable market for light lunch material. The restaurants in town are inexpensive and offer good food. Wireless was available all the time, with good reception in the rooms and great reception on the upstairs porch. Cable TV is available from the Caribbean and has all the major stations from the U.S.
This is a good location for those wishing to spend a week or a month or more. It is well run the detail to personal attention is the best.

Room Tip: Bel Air suite was located next to the gathering area around the pool, but most times of the day was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Posada Azul
La Posada Azul
#3 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Avenue Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Avenue Villas

Address: Park Avenue # 1 | From Rest. El Timon, 2 blocks north, 1 block east, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $120 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Avenue Villas is a condo hotel only a block from the beach within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, activities in the middle of town. The hotel is on a slight hill so you get a panaramic view of the bay with awesome sunsets from our second floor deck.We have long and short term rates and 4 selections of suites. Our motto, the longer you stay, the less you pay... We offer one and two bedroom suites with airconditioning, TV, DVD players, great selection of DVDs free...ceiling fans and hot water throughout the hotel. courtyard pool is on the lower floor. Call or email for pricing.In San Juan del Sur and Park Avenue Villas, there is truly No Bad Days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Park Avenue Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Avenue Villas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing