We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Place, Good Location”
Review of Rositas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rositas Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap Place, Good Location”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This place was cheap and met our needs of a place to sleep and nothing more. My friend and I stayed in their dorm room for one night, although the room was probably the stuffiest room I've ever stayed in. The dorm room had no windows and only a couple of wall fans to try to make the heat bearable. The beds were alright... not hard as bricks, but not super comfy either. The bathrooms were cleaner than other places that we stayed in Nicaragua, which was a refreshing change. The vibe of this place, though, was not the vibe of a hostel. There was no common area and hostel guests were not allowed to use the kitchen, so there really wasn't any gathering location for the travelers to congregate and share stories. There were some tables and chairs set up on the sidewalk in front of the hostel, though, which was a mice place to pass time since the dorm room was a little uncomfortable and cave-like.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmfrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rositas-Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Rositas Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank You for your very helpful review - We appreciate that.
Sometimes guests see problems that we miss or are unaware of.
To solve that problem and a noise problem we have eliminated our shared, dorm-style hostel room and only offer private rooms with private baths.
We are remodeling that room for better ventilation and converting it to be a large private room with private bath.
Thank you again for your help!
Rositas Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    44
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
12
60
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Close to the beach and mid street of the goodness. And surprisingly quiet at night. Would most definately recommend ! We had a private bath and aircon. No complaints at all. Stayed 3 nights in room one and was fine !

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Merpcicl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

It was a decent stay overall, you can put some stuff in their freezer, but there's no installation for cooking, the kitchen are only reserved for the staff. During the time I was there, there were a some Iranian guys you did make a hell out of noise every night (3 night in a row). If I were a member of the staff, I would have kicked them out the 2nd night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rositas-Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Rositas Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review - It has helped us to solve that noise problem,
We are VERY sorry - We did not realize that we had that noise problem for 3 nights and that is our fault.
We have a zero tolerance policy to obnoxious noise like that and we have instructed our night reception & night guard to be much more aware.
We WILL 100% demand that noisy guests that bother others check out and leave.
We have also eliminated our shared, dorm-style hostel room so that all guests will have a private room to relax quietly at night.
Out lounge on the 2nd floor closes at 10:30 and will be monitored more closely for excess noise ALL hours.

BTW - We feel it is not proper to mention the name of a country because a small # of guests from that country have caused a problem. We scan ALL passports for police requirements and those guests were NOT from the country you stated!

Thank you again for helping us,

Rositas manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

For couples, friends, even families.. Nice, super clean rooms (with air con and individuals fans for every bed) , very safe and the prices are ok.. fridge in the rooms, good kitchen facilities in the garden (including few blenders) .. Feels like home. The workers are superfriendly (helped us to find cheap taxi´s after we had bad luck missing our bus) . Awsome location, right next to the beach, good atmosphere, all the guests sitting outside the hotel. quiet, relaxing, definetly one of the best places i ever stayed on my travels!!
I was traveling that time with 5 friends . and we were supposed to stay 2 nights , stayed 5. and i had to fly back to finland, but 2 girls from our group stayed there another 2 weeks:)
-Heidi from finland

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hese812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My backpacking friends and I booked this place simply based on location and price. Needless to say we were all blown away by the quality of this hotel. Suited for families, friends and solo travellers alike, this budget hotel is fitted with great beds, room fridges and aircon which is a rare find at these prices. The outdoor facilities are great and the communal dining area is well equipped for those wanting to cook meals. Location wise it's perfect, we walked most nights on the streets after 10pm and felt really safe with all of the lighting and guards.
Basically I cannot flaw this property, if something is wrong they'll fix it asap! I was so impressed we went back for a few weeks. Definitely recommend this to those budget friendly travellers

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
231 reviews
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rositas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rositas Hotel

Property: Rositas Hotel
Address: Market 1 & 1/2 Block west | 1/3 Block East From Beach, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large economy hotel with 24 private rooms & suites for 1 to 10 persons all with private baths & warm showers. 1/3 Block from the beach in a quiet & safe location next to all the action. Open 24/7 with live on duty front desk reception for walk-in, check-in, customer service, and incoming phone calls. Hotel amenities include all linens & towels, daily housekeeping, WIFI & optional AC & free coffee 24 hours. No minimum stay requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rositas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rositas Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing