We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a great price”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Beach Fun Casa 28
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Place for a great price”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The group I was with and I ended up staying about a week to a week and a half at Beach Fun Casa 28. The price was awesome, and the fact that they were able to accommodate our group of 6 easily was great!

The kitchen and common areas are small but clean, but watch out for the side bar table as they have a resident pigeon that likes to poop on people.

The rooms were average, clean and ours had a few fans which was great because we had 4 people in our room.

The location is really nice as well,very central and easy to get to all over the town!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharissa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

For $8/night, you truly can't beat this place. Located right in the middle of town, you can get from your bed to the beach in less than 5 minutes. There are a couple of bars close by and I wouldn't recommend it for your honeymoon but other than that, A+

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,121 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night and switched hostel first thing in the morning!
The hostel is located next to a bar which was really noisy until after midnight.
Although the guy that works the day shift is really nice, the night shift guy is a bit of a disaster.
He smoked in reception, and as our room was the closest to reception, we got to "enjoy" the smoke too.
He also sat down with one of the guests at 1:30am (just outside our room) and at least one of them was sniffing cocaine. I would like to think it wasn't the employee but he should still not allow this. And they kept us awake until the early hours of the morning.

The rooms were basic but I guess decent for the price we paid ($8 per head).

The shower facilities were good although only 1 out of 3 or 4 toilets actually had a plastic seat to sit on.

The best thing about this place is the cleaning lady as she is very friendly and kept the place clean and tidy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelReviewer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Beaverton, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had intended to stay at Hostal Beach Fun Casa 28 for only a few days but ended up staying for a week. The hostel isn't much to write home about but the area is great: in the middle of it all, bars, restaurants, and a couple of blocks from the beach. Our room had 2 single beds and was clean and basic. There is no tv, but internet works well (outside of the rooms). They have rooms with private baths but we opted for the shared bath to save money (about $8 per person).
Bathrooms were clean enough but could use more frequent cleaning (garbage cans were often full, smelly). The kitchen was a bit of a disaster and the refrigerator should have been condemned as a health hazard. Despite signs asking guests to clean up after themselves, there was often leftover food out on the counter all night, dirty dishes piled in the sink, food scraps in the drain, and dishes soaking in a cesspool of water in the bottom of the 'drying' rack.
The area is a little loud but we weren't really disturbed by noise from the street despite a pub being next door. No drinking on the premises after 10 p.m.
A good, budget option if you don't mind putting up with a bit of uncleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lildrling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Rancho Chilamate Off-Grid Guest Ranch
0.0 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Beach Fun Casa 28? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Beach Fun Casa 28

Property: Hostal Beach Fun Casa 28
Address: Zona Central, de la cabanita 50 mtrs al sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 74 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Also Known As:
Hostal Beach Fun Casa 28 Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing