We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Estrella
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Victoriano(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$85
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$120
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $35/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Bahia Hotel(Playa Marsella)
$70
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$73
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcazar(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$104
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

HC Liri Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$55
$49
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$365
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
$300
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
16
22
17
8
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
22
17
8
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsincluded breakfastbathrooms and showersyogurtbalconieshostel
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 82 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Hotel Estrella is a great little place to stay. It's a mix between hotel meets hostel. All rooms are private with any number of beds available in them, it's hostel dorm room priced and all rooms have a balcony that allow you views of the bay along with its gorgeous sunsets. The bathrooms are shared and at the bottom of a creaky old narrow stairwell. Breakfast is hotel styled and delicious served to you by the owner and her son. It's a family affair and the abuelos sit in their rocking chair in the main room. Don't expect 5 star service but it's definitely a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had a room at the front wich was very nice as the view is amazing. However the room was very small and basic. We only had two separated beds (we are a couple), a table and two chairs. The street was quite noisy at night. The bathroom is downstairs so it was an effort to get there. The included breakfast is good and not poor. There is a cupboard full of books that you can borrow. If you are on a budget I would recommend you this place, I you are not, you could find better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We paid 25$USD each to go snorkelling but we couldn't because the visibility was less than a meter. Everywhere else they would have advised you do to something else or to wait for the next day... I tried to explain it nicely to the guy but it didn't work...so basically we paid for something we couldn't do. What a rip off !

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Hotel would be ok, except they are obsessive about requiring people to wear these hideous hotel bracelets. If you say anything about it, they try to kick you out.

What's next, star of david armbands?

I had wondered why this was the cheapest hotel in town, but people kept recommending I stay away from it. Now I know. I'll pay an extra $5 to be treated like an adult, thank you.

Also the staff are virtually never present, I've come into the hotel at least ten times and walked past it countless times over the last month, and the only times I've seen anyone there were after a ten minute wait today, and just now when they went all Gestapo on me.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob528745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

There are alot of new places to stay in and around San Juan Del Sur.if you are traveling through central america you have stayed at a lot of cool places. I have noticed that one place blends into the next and aside from the name on the can of beer there is no indication that I am in a different country.Do your self a favor when yo get to San Juan del Sur check into the Hotel Estrella. you will feel like you are in a famliy owned NICARAGUAN hotel. Yes the bathrooms are on the first floor but the building is awsome the location is great and Carlos and his Mon Lorrian are cool as hell. They have new surfboards to rent a car to diiferent surf beaches and a BOAT TO EMPTY POINT BREAKS. I have stayed with them on a couple of diierent trips got great surf and chilled out on one of the balconies. We partied in San Juan del Sur and walked back,woke up and took an awsome boat ride It is supper afordable and they were awsome Good luck enjoy nicaragua

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arturo-Shane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews