We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst tour ever !”
Review of Hotel Estrella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Estrella
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We paid 25$USD each to go snorkelling but we couldn't because the visibility was less than a meter. Everywhere else they would have advised you do to something else or to wait for the next day... I tried to explain it nicely to the guy but it didn't work...so basically we paid for something we couldn't do. What a rip off !

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Estrella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 77 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

Hotel would be ok, except they are obsessive about requiring people to wear these hideous hotel bracelets. If you say anything about it, they try to kick you out.

What's next, star of david armbands?

I had wondered why this was the cheapest hotel in town, but people kept recommending I stay away from it. Now I know. I'll pay an extra $5 to be treated like an adult, thank you.

Also the staff are virtually never present, I've come into the hotel at least ten times and walked past it countless times over the last month, and the only times I've seen anyone there were after a ten minute wait today, and just now when they went all Gestapo on me.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob528745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

There are alot of new places to stay in and around San Juan Del Sur.if you are traveling through central america you have stayed at a lot of cool places. I have noticed that one place blends into the next and aside from the name on the can of beer there is no indication that I am in a different country.Do your self a favor when yo get to San Juan del Sur check into the Hotel Estrella. you will feel like you are in a famliy owned NICARAGUAN hotel. Yes the bathrooms are on the first floor but the building is awsome the location is great and Carlos and his Mon Lorrian are cool as hell. They have new surfboards to rent a car to diiferent surf beaches and a BOAT TO EMPTY POINT BREAKS. I have stayed with them on a couple of diierent trips got great surf and chilled out on one of the balconies. We partied in San Juan del Sur and walked back,woke up and took an awsome boat ride It is supper afordable and they were awsome Good luck enjoy nicaragua

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arturo-Shane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

One friend recommended this hostel and we couldn't be happier with the suggestion. Our group of 4 showed up December 20 without any kind of reservation or communication and the owner gladly welcomed us. For $8 per night we had our own room by default with an incredible ocean food, spectacular location, amazing (free) breakfast, and the most helpful staff that we encountered on our 4 country trip. They were amazing in arranging a surf trip and fishing trip with about 30 minutes of notice. I really wish we had spent more nights at hotel Estrella and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MolicaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We originally planned to stay here for a night and ended up with three instead. The house is on the block opposite the beach with the bars/restaurants right out front. Our room was upstairs with a balcony at a side angle to the water. We had a view of the Christ statue lit up at night and the sound of the waves to put us to sleep.

The family that owns it is not overly friendly, but they are polite and attentive. Our room was $16 total for two and included our breakfasts. The bathrooms are downstairs and outside, which when the power is out (every night the power goes out in town during the stormy season) it can be a scary trek outdoors. There is a nice security guard there so you are safe...the scary part was my own imagination.

Rooms are very basic and kinda clean. There is also wi-fi.

All that for $16? I'd be back.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony facing the water. You cam sleep with the doors open safely.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelTime619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

First off, the picture posted to this hotel is absolutely not the Hotel Estrella in San Juan del Sur, Nic. Hotel Estrella is a 1920's colonial style hotel that has never been updated. The rooms are very bare. They really only have a bed and a fan. No more no less. Simple, yet worked out great for us. The hotel is run by a woman and her son. We each paid $8/night which included breakfast and a room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The breakfast was very good. They have wifi and a computer to use. You can also use the kitchen from 5pm-8pm. If you're looking for an inexpensive place right by the beach, you can't beat this spot.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We visited Hotel Estrella because of it's awesome location overlooking the bay at SJDS. The rooms are modest and bare but it does not matter since most rooms have nice balconies go people watch from and we didnt spend much time in the rooms anyway. The few things I didn't like... When we arrived we asked if it was possible to put our water bottle in a refridgerator, and there was a mostly empty one in front where they sell various drinks, and they said no. Also, they do not allow alcohol upstairs so they made us stay downstairs in a random ugly room vs keep to ourselves playing cards and being quite on the balcony of our own. Lastly, the bathrooms were far from the rooms.. All the way down some skinny narrow stairs and it's scary at night since they have no lights. Still, this hotel is the best place to stay in San Juan, expecially for only $6 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohhlaurrren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
7.0 mi away
La Estacion
La Estacion
#27 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estrella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estrella

Address: Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 330
Also Known As:
Hotel Estrella Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing