We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spooky, but Beachfront”
Review of Hotel Estrella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Estrella
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spooky, but Beachfront”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We originally planned to stay here for a night and ended up with three instead. The house is on the block opposite the beach with the bars/restaurants right out front. Our room was upstairs with a balcony at a side angle to the water. We had a view of the Christ statue lit up at night and the sound of the waves to put us to sleep.

The family that owns it is not overly friendly, but they are polite and attentive. Our room was $16 total for two and included our breakfasts. The bathrooms are downstairs and outside, which when the power is out (every night the power goes out in town during the stormy season) it can be a scary trek outdoors. There is a nice security guard there so you are safe...the scary part was my own imagination.

Rooms are very basic and kinda clean. There is also wi-fi.

All that for $16? I'd be back.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony facing the water. You cam sleep with the doors open safely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTime619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    17
    7
    17
See reviews for
2
26
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

First off, the picture posted to this hotel is absolutely not the Hotel Estrella in San Juan del Sur, Nic. Hotel Estrella is a 1920's colonial style hotel that has never been updated. The rooms are very bare. They really only have a bed and a fan. No more no less. Simple, yet worked out great for us. The hotel is run by a woman and her son. We each paid $8/night which included breakfast and a room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The breakfast was very good. They have wifi and a computer to use. You can also use the kitchen from 5pm-8pm. If you're looking for an inexpensive place right by the beach, you can't beat this spot.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We visited Hotel Estrella because of it's awesome location overlooking the bay at SJDS. The rooms are modest and bare but it does not matter since most rooms have nice balconies go people watch from and we didnt spend much time in the rooms anyway. The few things I didn't like... When we arrived we asked if it was possible to put our water bottle in a refridgerator, and there was a mostly empty one in front where they sell various drinks, and they said no. Also, they do not allow alcohol upstairs so they made us stay downstairs in a random ugly room vs keep to ourselves playing cards and being quite on the balcony of our own. Lastly, the bathrooms were far from the rooms.. All the way down some skinny narrow stairs and it's scary at night since they have no lights. Still, this hotel is the best place to stay in San Juan, expecially for only $6 per night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohhlaurrren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. The mother and son who ran it were very nice. Between the on the beach location, quiet nights, and awesome balconies it was a perfect place for me to spend a much needed week to myself. Plus it was close enough to everything that I could go out at night as well. And it was cheap and had a pretty good kitchen that they served food from. Would definetly recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Call ahead to see if you can reserve a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nctopdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2010

The picture from my room that is attached to this review says it all! After we traveled all around Costa Rica and Nicaragua, my friends and I found Hotel Estrella to be the best bang for your buck in Central America. Incredible views, perfect location, awesome breeze coming off of Lago Nicaragua to keep your room cool, and all for 7 dollars U.S. a night. This is the place to stay in San Juan Del Sur. The staff is friendly enough, if you know how to communicate with them, and the internet was always available and always working.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepthevibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Having travelled for 3 months in Central America, Hotel Estrella has been one of the worst places I have ever stayed in. The service is really crap and the staff and owner are the most unfriendly people I have come across in Nicaragua.

The rooms are OK for the price, although they seem to go up frequently, so always check the room before committing to stay.

The strange thing about the hotel is that you are forced to wear a stupid armband (which makes you feel like you are going into a nightclub or an exclusive hotel - which is not the case) and then if you choose to go out for dinner, you may come back to the hotel to find it in total darkness and locked up like fort knox. Strangely, the owners don't tell you that this is the case, and you spend a while trying to figure out how to get back inside. Trick is to find the gate around the corner to make your way in.

Whilst San Juan del Sur is a fun place if you are looking to party and get drunk, the waves are OK and you have to hire a boat to take you out to the waves and the cost is rather alot, so come with friends to share the expense (the water taxi ticket booth is just across the road) - one of the only good things about the hotel is that you get free internet from 7am to 7pm (when the hotel turns to darkenss) and the location is right on the beach.

Our overall stay has been disappointing due to the hotel. I would not recommed you stay at this hotel, but give the Pueblo of San Juan a go.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank americanbeauty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
La Estacion
La Estacion
#27 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#26 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#20 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estrella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estrella

Property: Hotel Estrella
Address: Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 330
Also Known As:
Hotel Estrella Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing