We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in the heart of Old San Juan”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casablanca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place in the heart of Old San Juan”
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We felt right at home the moment we walked through the door. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The area is known for it's restaurants and bars. You can wonder aimlessly like we usually do and find the most amazing places. We asked the front desk for a good local spot and they gave us great advise. The decor is eclectic Moroccan in a modern style. The rooms are clean well appointed and artistic. We are from California and like the smaller boutique hotels so this place was right up our alley.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    11
    7
    9
See reviews for
12
21
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I stayed here with a friend of mine, and you couldn't ask for a better location in San Juan Del Sur. Right on the beach, next to all the bars and party spots in town. The Staff was awesome, super helpful. There isn't hot water, but from what I understand there aren't any hotels/hostels in San Juan Del sur with hot water except Pelican eyes. If you're looking for a place to crash right by the beach, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jscarpulla415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed 3 nights, room was very very small, Once we open the door, bed is just in the front of us. No space at all, we couldn't open the refrigirator without moving our luggage(we just brought small trolley).Only bath towel provided, no face towel nor small towel. Every morning we were asked if room require cleaned up. If it's the "hotel", every day cleaning and linen change should be mandatory. One day, althoujgh we requested room to be cleaned up, house keeper did nothing but just put new bath towel on the bed. Beds have not made up, floor and bath not cleaned up.
Front person could not provide necessary information about tour or taxi rates. They leave before 7pm, after it, only security guy left and couldn't help anything about travel advise.
Breakfast was advised to start from 7:30, but at 7:30 is the time kitchen staff start to arrive, taken more time until breakfast served.
Very noisy in the night because bar along with the beach road kept making big sounds of music.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penguin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Casablanca in January 2009.

While the hotel was very convenient to the beach attractions, the bathrooms, pool, etc. were very dirty. See the pictures attached.

The rooms were definitely not worth the rate they charged.

Reception staff was friendly, but did not know the bus schedule to take a side trip to Granada.

Free breakfast was bland, with same food every day.

The hotel has a small, but beautiful atrium with trees, where the staff served breakfast.

The hotel had WIFI, but intermittent and very slow.

The air conditioners cooled the room to an acceptable level. The showers had heated shower-head for hot water (called "suicide shower-heads"), which is very dangerous.

Both Friday and Saturday nights were noisy because the music thumping from the bars - although that is not because of the fault of the hotel.

In general, the hotel is acceptable, but there are many other cheaper, cleaner options available in town.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA CLARITA,CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Arrived in San Juan Del Sur with no reservations, checked out other hotels and decided to stay at the Casa Blanca. The receptionist showed us a room that was available on the second floor for $80.00 a night. It was clean, had a/c,safe,refer,and decent size bathroom. After going down stairs to check in, I realized my cell phone was not working. The nice lady behind the counter let me borrow her personal cell phone so I could call back to States and let my wife I arrived safely. The next morning they had a free home cooked breakfest. We had only booked the room for one night, but we stayed another 2 nights because of the room and location. They have a great outside patio for relaxing and to people watch. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RIVERYETI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Second the former review of "nasty bathrooms" and the room we stayed in had no view. Beds were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzybeth17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We reserved the suite at the hotel for one night. We arrived early from Granada and the room was not ready, which was understandable. We were told it would be ready in half an hour. 40 minutes later, it was another 10 minutes, then after 10 minutes, we were told it would be another five... Finally she came to tell us the room was ready. I was totally sympathetic that we were there early and not her only concern. The room smelled fresh when we arrived, like it had just been polished. The ceiling was raised and covered in wood; very charming. When we stepped into the bathroom, we could not help but notice all the crumbs of something on the floor and overall how dirty it seemed. We were desperate to hit the beach by this time and left it. Since we did not complain and ask to have the bathroom cleaned again, we suffered through it. Those who chose to shower anyway wore their flip flops.

The front area of Hotel Casablanca was beautiful. There are hammocks and rocking chairs, etc. It is right across the street from the beach and right in the middle of everything. We spent the day at the beach and ate lunch and dinner in the restaurants along the beach. We took the tour to La Flor that evening to see the baby turtles hatching. We returned around midnight and pulled back the sheets on the king size bed, only to find they were covered in blood (stains??) These were little dots of blood all over the sheets, which set in paranoia about bed bugs... The two sleeping in that bed chose to sleep on the covers vs in the bed. After an uncomfortable night, we were relieved not to be covered in bites the next morning.

Breakfast was included, but not very good. We walked to the Espresso bar for some good coffee and a muffin afterwards.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bassgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
La Estacion
La Estacion
#27 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#25 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#20 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Property: Hotel Casablanca
Address: Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing