We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent a night at this hotel, our room was small and very clean, the front of hotel was nice with rocking chairs and hammocks to relax. The eating area was nice outdoor, breakfast was delicious and staff was very friendly. Price was a bit high $75.00 a night considering that was off season.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beto6700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 77 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Casablanca is a fine hotel, right across from the Pacific ocean, and all the bars that line the beach. The room was clean, the breakfast was good. The pool looked ok, but didn't have time to use it since I was there for only one night. They also had a computer to use for internet.
I unfortunately picked the worst night of the year, Feb 14th. This is their big party night. The bar right across the street had music blaring quite loud till 2pm. I'm not much of a late night partier and had to go to work the next day. Didn't get to sleep till after the noise stopped.
The hotel would have been ok any other nite.

Room Tip: The room on the upper level was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Hotel Casablanca numerous times usually for up to 10 days at a time while surfing in area. It was always clean and the staff friendly.
It can be noisy at times, allot of Nicaraguans stay there for their holidays. Downtown where all the action is, plenty of restaurants right across the street do try The El Timon.
They are not a romantic destination hotel but a reasonably priced, safe and clean. It has couple of nice hammocks to chill in on the front porch and watch the locals and tourist cruise by.

Room Tip: visit each room, try thr upstairs rooms they were comfortable and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fastfishracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in this place Feb 2012, liked it at first and the price was ok. The room we were put in looked ok, but when we wanted to go to bed, only then did we notice 4 or more air-condition units right under the window. The noise was horrible, it was like being on a long haul flight. Then asked to change to a different one, but it was too small, in the end slept in another room, but no good either. The noise from the music outside is unbearable, it goes on until about 2 or 3 o'clock in the morning. Finally we were given a different room, which was ok and had its own terrace but air condition didn't work.
If you are ever there do not stay in room 5 (I think) on ground floor on the left as you leave the reception, with all air conditioning big units, horrible.
I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't ever stay in room number 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brankica1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

One warning for those who don't speak Spanish: I don't think any of the front desk staff spoke English. Or maybe they did & decided my Spanish was good enough. It's not very good but they did understand me well enough to schedule a late afternoon tour to Playa Hermosa (recommended), & to take care of whatever else we needed. Let me use their laptop when the desktop wasn't working. Service at breakfast was good. The pancakes were tasty, serving size not enough to get fat on. I slept badly, but that wasn't the fault of the hotel, was a noisy town & there was a strong wind storm going on. Earplugs helped.

SJDS wasn't my favorite place we went in Nicaragua (too much a party town), but I'm glad we checked it out, & I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tolarjev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks and had a wonderful experience. We had a great room with good bed, very clean and perfect bath all with airconditioning. Ask to see your room first though because some had very tiny room. We lucked out. We loved the wide and deep porch with hammocks and hung out regularly with a rum or beer at night just enjoying the evening breeze. Pool is small but we were more interested in beach and swimming there so no worries. The staff was very friendly and when we were there they had an "honor" bar self-serve. Just 3 blocks to the beach and so convenient to all restaurants. The typical Nica breakfast of eggs, fruit, rice, beans, breads, juices and endless coffee was immense and included in the room rate. We tried another place on a different visit and will stick to this hotel in the future. We purchased property outside San Juan del Sur so we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you commit. Some are very spacious but a few are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColleeninPiegaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Close to everything. The only thing I did not like was that the room had a very small window. Other than that, the a/c worked good, the bed was ok, bathroom had hot water. The breakfast was decent. and the WIFI connection worked very well. The staff was great. The lady who worked at the front desk was very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: The suite above the reception area has windows overlooking the street and the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#13 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
183 reviews
0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Estacion
La Estacion
#27 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
52 reviews
2.9 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Address: Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing