We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Something special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

We were a little concerned about stay at this hotel after viewing some of the earlier reviews but we didn't encounter any of the issues other guests had experienced. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were friendly and attentive. The pools were in great shape and we didn't notice any damage. Everything was clean and well maintained. We ate at the restaurant daily and the food was great. The waiter at the bar on the upper pool was great and the service was fast.

The rooms themselves are lovely. We had an ocean view room with a front terrace. There is nothing better than spending an evening on that terrace watching the sun set over the ocean. We could easily walk into town from our room within 10 minutes. It took a little longer to walk back because of the stairs and climb up the hillside (but this is what gives you the fantastic view from your terrace!).

We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InsightCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    183
    65
    48
    29
See reviews for
175
261
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

we had such a great time in Pelican , the personal is so sweet, doing their best to make us feel happy,.. the manager Paolo always here to respond any questions ... yes there is few ants but we know about tropical environment like in any other tropical destination in the world. thank you Pelican for existing in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brigitte020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

My 15 year old daughter and I met up with some friends here after visiting inland Costa Rica. When we arrived, we were delighted with the views of the bay from the top, the choice of three pools and the super friendliness of the staff. The staff helped us to arrange a wonderful sailboat trip out to Coco Beach, where the crew prepared us a wonderful lunch over a fire and we had plenty of time to swim and explore the beach. One concern some folks might have of the property: be wary of the stairs as they can sometimes be slippery due to the weather and be prepared to trek some 200+ to the top! I personally loved the work out!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebug59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Spent the week at Pelican Eyes last November and had a wonderful time! Our needs were well cared for by the staff who graciously attended to all our needs. We loved our spacious villa and all its special amenities. The white stucco walls accented by arched wood windows and doors, thatched roofs and Saltillo tiles throughout added to the ambiance and beauty of the Pelican Eyes resort. The views of San Juan Del Sur and its crescent shaped bay were breathtaking, especially the brilliant orange sunsets over the ocean outlined by the lush flowering gardens. A highlight we enjoyed the most and not to be missed is swimming in the infinity pools. Even our meals were were scrumptious and tantalizing! I will be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoNicatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Our stay at Pelican Eyes was wonderful. The staff was super fast and helpful and luckily for us their English was great since our Spanish is not! Our room was beautiful and modern with a over the top bathroom, large TV and DVD player. Fresh flowers showed up during our stay and the mini bar items were reasonably priced which was nice. The view was fantastic. The restaurants and pools are beautiful and the included breakfast was great. I would recommend the place to anyone. The only warning I give is be sure to require a room near the main reception desk. That way you're close to one restaurant and pool and as close as possible to the city and the beach. We were at the absolute top of the hill, and though we are fairly young and fairly fit, the climb up was a bear! Especially at night in the dark or mid day when it's quite hot. You can request to be driven up or down the hill (which we did!) but you do have to wait for a car each time then. Would have been easier to just have a lower room.

If you're looking for a Mexico alternative this is a good one. The beach is San Juan del Sur nice but not like a Mexico resort so I'd suggest considering your time at Pelican Eyes more of a pool vacation and then booking some day trips - the full day sail from Pelican Eyes, maybe some surf lessons, a fishing trip, etc. That will allow you to see some of the better beaches.

One more plug for the hotel, when we checked in we were surprised to find we had no hot water. We called the front desk and maintenance was at our room lighting fast - maybe 8 minutes? I don't think we would have gotten service that fast at a US hotel! They had the problem fixed shortly after that and waited until we confirmed we did in fact have hot water before leaving. Very impressed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateandevesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

After seeing some bad reviews, we decided to only consider what was good. We are thankful we did this because it turned out to be a great 10 days. The casa we had, Casa Perdesio, was wonderful. We had a private pool, gas outside grill and a beautiful view of the ocean and valley view. The landscape of our casa was well taken care of. We met the gardener and he showed us the all the plants. We had fresh bananas and othe fresh food. It was wonderful to be able to go out in the morning and gather fresh fruit fit the day. The staff was very helpful. Alexandra from the front desk help us with everything including a great smile each day. Lori in guest services went out of her way to accomplish every request we had. We cannot speak more highly of the service and smiles we received. We don't speak much Spanish but, the staff all spoke good English. Would I come back, you bet.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

we stayed over New Year's 2010/11, We paid top dollar. $450 per night. There is absolutely no service. Beds not made until after 4 pm and 2 telephone calls. Good food, but always cold. Breakfast was a buffet, however, when you went to your seat you could not get a knife and fork for 10 mins. Coffee you were lucky to get it by the end of breakfast! We had planned to stay for 6 nights but left after 3 because the service was so bad. No chairs by the pool. Look for these prices over the holiday you have to have some descent service. It appears they have no visible management. People were nice but had absolutely no direction from any management. Everybody was complaining. Look anyone going to Nicaragua should think very carefully and read the State department reports. We drove from the northwest down to the southwest. Got shaken down by one policeman on the last day in Managua. We were on the road to the airport and he pulled us over and asked for C.600=approx.$30. We handed it over. Don't wear any jewelery over $20. We were stopped one other time by police but he let us go. Remember this is a third world country.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hbockweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5.1 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.1 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing