We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommmend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 20, 2007

We just got back from a week at Pelican Eyes, and we loved it. The staff was great, very helpful and accommodating, attentive and nice, most of the front desk staff and waiters spoke English which was good for us b/c we don't speak Spanish. The upper pool was fabulous (I too have a picture of this view) and we did the day sail too and the crew was great and it was a wonderful day and very affordable. The only downside was that this place is built on a hillside and there are a lot of stairs to get everywhere (it was 180 steep steps up to the upper pool from our house). Of course, once we got up there, we loved it! They can also arrange travel for you from/to the Managua airport which we did.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 746 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2007

My family and I stayed at Piedras y Olas last summer. I'm not sure I've ever enjoyed a resort so much. The staff was amazing, patient and kind. Accommodations were luxurious and clean. I have a picture in my office taken from the upper swimming pool overlooking the ocean and I always receive comments about it. The Pelican Eyes sailing tour was absolutely fantastic!

In fact - we are travelling to Nicaragua again this summer (in 2 weeks!) and built a few extra days into the trip just so we could go back to Piedras y Olas.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mom7782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Truly an oasis! Clean, lovely large rooms with stunning views! Delicious food - by far the best in San Juan del Sur or the surrounding area. Gorgeous landscaping. Friendly and helpful staff. Wildlife refuge on grounds to benefit sick and injured animals. Another plus is the Foundation to assist the social needs of Nicaragua, ie, to benefit the local children.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjrhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2007

This is our 4th stay at Piedras y Olas and we feel as though we are part of the family they have created there. While we stayed on this trip there was a flurry of talk about a recently posted review by folks that were not so happy. Suddenly it seemed prudent to share our experience.

As you will read in other review "perhaps" this wonderful place isn't for everybody. There ARE animals about the premises and they are treated with quite a bit of reverence. One can learn (we found out) about the vet clinic they support which is part of the foundation which is the base of their project. We didn't know this.

But what everyone will enjoy and recognize is the attention to detail, the warm and friendly staff that makes you feel like an honored guest, the great food, and general fun property. Over our four years of visits, we have watched the resort grow and we look forward to the surprises and improvements.

We have stayed in bungalows and in villas and have been very, very impressed with both. We learned early on that we were visiting the largest stairmaster in that part of the world so that is no longer a challenge for us. Our kids don't seem to notice but we did!

The last two years the construction has been noticeable and we were grateful to be warned by the staff as well as offerred an incentive to stay near to it of 20% (I think). As long as we knew, we were prepared.

We love this place and recommend it to everyone. I see the owner's name bantered about in other reviews and that is the only reason we'll say, Thanks Chris, for a job well done. You have a wonderful place with a warm and loving staff.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NuevaVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

In general our 3 day stay was very enjoyable. The layout of the resort is excellent as well as the archtecture of the villas.
The fact that the cats were jumping on our laps several times during dinner and breakfast is unbearable. And the way the lady manager then was carrying the cats on her arms and loving them didn't seem the right reaction either. In our beautiful villa we had hundreds of ants ( big ones ). Even after spraying twice they were still there in all the closets and drawers.
The service and the food in the restaurant were very good.
Taking in consideration that the standards of hotels in Nicaragua are not comparable to US standards there is still a lot of room for improvement in the hotel's management.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseAsian-Pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Great place to stay!! I just came back from Nicaragua, and spent the last three days at Pelican Eyes,and it was wonderful! We had the two story two bedroom casa and it was beautiful,with a great view of the town and ocean. The food was great and the staff wonderful. I could go on and on about the layout and the the beauty of this resort,but I'll just say that in most places this type of resort would run $1,000 a night!

Stayed: March 2007
Thank paul14Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We have stayed at Piedras y Olas twice over the last year for several days each time. It is wonderfully conceived and executed as a low key, relatively small, definitely Central American resort with an emphasis on both visitor comfort and local community well-being. In our experience the hotel's setting is gorgeous, rooms are spectacular in design, house-keeping has been exemplary, pools fabulous, and restaurant terrific (especially for breakfast).

Keep in mind that electrical power comes and goes across the entire country on a pretty regular basis, there is a building boom in beach areas that goes on almost constantly and many of the local folks, although quite friendly and helpful, have not quite tuned into the quirky requirements of non-Spanish speaking tourists.

I was moved to write because of one particularly negative review posted here. Yes, there ARE bugs and there are bugs everywhere in Central America. This, and some of the other complaints registered, seem to fall in the category of things people need to accept and get over when traveling in the second-poorest nation in the Western Hemisphere. At any rate, when the disgruntled guest complained to Chris, the owner, he says he was given a refund for all four nights!!! That is, in my view, pretty darn generous - just about unprecedented for an inn-keeper.

Piedras y Olas is a great resort with great management.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank nicatourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5.1 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
293 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $122 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing