We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room, beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel is lovely and the view cannot be beat. The casa rooms are indeed very house-like with tons of storage space and decorated very artfully. The pool nearest our hotel room was closed often for private events. And the walk to the front of the property is long. We got a ride once, but the driver made fun of us and said it was "two meters." It was more like a half-mile plus up a winding hill and I had a heel injury. But I walked it the rest of our stay.

The staff -- especially the restaurant staff and housekeeping -- were very kind. The rooms were clean and giants would have had enough room in the spacious interior. The beach itself in San Juan del Sur was nothing special -- much better beaches to the south and north. This place was gorgeous, but I might try something different if I went back closer to one of the other beaches. Still, our family was very happy to be here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 759 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

What a lovely place. The staff is friendly (especially in the bar right at the top), the rooms are nice and the views are beautiful. Only slightly let down by the building work outside our room - but we were right on the fence line and if we had a room further up, I am sure we would not even have known about it.

Room Tip: We were right on the fence line (bottom corner) which was a bit noise. Try to get a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I went there for my BF's Bday and i had reserved a house for the two of us but by mistake they reserved the half of a house and a family was next to us, we talked to the guy that made the reservation and because of the mistake he gave us a different and better house for that weekend. the transportation was included, to everywhere we wanted to go, the pool was amazing and the staff was very polite and nice. I must say that they made our stay a great weekend. The only reason why i don't give the 5 points is because the food was too expensive and it was not worth the prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrizzaAnahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Service and facilities were exceptional at the Pelican Eyes. Paradise for sure.

I would only express some concern with security at the property. On two evenings at our beautiful villa/casa (after midnight) we were woken by strangers who were seemingly trying to gain entrance while we slept. When I rose and arrived at the door they quickly scurried away. While there is significant security at the two access roads to the resort, it does seem that one could readily walk onto the beautiful grounds and property after dark. After the second evening stranger at our doorstep we decided to push a couch in front of the beautiful french doors for added security when we went to bed (and never had another problem).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here in March of 2014. The staff is very nice and accommodated us as to room location. We would not have been able to stay if they did not help us. The view from any of the pools is beautiful. We ate almost all our meals by the pool and the food was delicious- I have been trying to recreate the Chimichurri sauce since we got home! Rooms were good size with very good water pressure. Any questions, please contact me I would be happy to answer.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank flycatcher06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you are looking for relaxing accommodations and some pampering I would highly recommend Pelican Eyes. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated with exceptional service. The accommodations were lovely! Our townhouse had two balconies with breath taking ocean views of San Juan Del Sur. The food and drinks were delicious, the pool was stunning, and the aroma therapy massage was the icing on the cake. All I can say is I wish I would have stayed longer. Cheers to the staff at Pelican Eyes! I look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapitolaSuites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you are looking for the hotel with the best view in SJDS, Pelican Eyes is it. A resort set on a hill side, it has a commanding view of the bay and of the nightly sunsets that just seemed to get better with each day. The atmosphere is charming in that though it is classified as a resort, it has more of a feel of a boutique resort than the larger, all-inclusive chain resorts (which you won't find in Nicaragua). The accommodation has a very tropical feel, with beautiful wooden furniture made locally, the rocking chairs being an especial favourite of the group I travelled with. With three infinity pools with bar service, the upper pool is the place to be at sunset.

Be forewarned, if you have any walking disabilities, this is not the resort for you. Being on a hill and quite a large resort, you either have to be willing to include hiking up and down the property as part of your daily routine or be prepared to wait on the ground transportation as one dissatisfied customer testified having to do. Having read the reviews, I made sure to book a casa as close to the lower and main restaurant as possible so had no issue with the walk, though in 35C heat would not want to do that walk to many times a day.

Food quality was okay, resort food, not the best meals we had during our stay, but still good. Their special entertainment nights are worth staying in the hotel to eat. Otherwise head down to the beach and have some of the simple but freshest, tastiest fare you have ever had.

We booked one of their packages, the Adventure one I believe, which we were able to adapt to our needs, which was very good value for the money. With daily trips and lunch included, you cannot go wrong. Breakfast was included though only the Nicaraguan breakfast, which after a few days, does get a little repetitive. You have to pay for anything else.

Staff are very friendly and willing to cater to your every need. I will have to agree though with some of the reviews, that perhaps, some things do get lost in translation. Though you don't need Spanish, some knowledge would be handy, as their English proficiency is not as good as I have been told it is in Costa Rica. Face to face service was very good, but trying to book anything ahead of time is where you can run into problems. So double check that something you have booked is recorded and be prepared to roll with punches when all does not go smoothly.

Overall, a wonderful vacation, made more so by the attentive staff at Pelican Eyes and by the lovely setting of this hotel complex. Would return and recommend to friends, with some provisos.

Room Tip: Choose accommodation as close to the main restaurant as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KamaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
5.1 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#13 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
338 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#7 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
635 reviews
3.6 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
143 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#24 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $226 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing