We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem - Fit for a President”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute gem - Fit for a President”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I spent the last four nights of our honeymoon at Pelican Eyes, and it exceeded every expectation. The food is great, the service is amazing, the staff is incredibly nice and accommodating.

On our first night there, we learned that one of the former presidents of the US and his family were also there on a vacation. And that night we had dinner one table over from the president. (He seemed to love it as well.)

The view from each of the three infinity pools is amazing. And our hotel room overlooked the marina/harbor of San Juan del Sur, so we were treated to an amazing fireworks show on new years eve.

The hotel is is a very short walk to the center of town and only a few more blocks to the waterfront. It is a spectacular destination for anyone wanting to enjoy San Juan del Sur (which is a developing beach town - of sorts) while still enjoying luxury and relaxation.

Room Tip: We were in the Cabana Brazil (which had an amazing view - and was giant)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear,

First of all thank you for having taken the time to write this review. I am glad to hear you had an extraordinary stay, which exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your complementary comments on the food, service and staff. I always appreciate hearing how nice and accommodating the staff was. I can only add that we look forward being you of service again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    189
    67
    48
    30
See reviews for
180
263
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I were married in Costa Rica and on our way to travel Nicaragua, this was our first stop (I had a great Groupon rate). I mentioned that it would be our honeymoon and I feel they actually read my email because I feel we had the BEST room on the resort. It was the top floor of Aguas Azules and it had the most spectacular view of the town and bay! It below our minds the second we walked in which was perfect timing to enjoy a beer from the mini bar (affordable compared to the North American mini bars we're used to) and the sunset. The only downside was that there were no curtains for the windows/doors that were the entire wall facing the ocean. Everything else about the room was great - spacious and a comfy bed too!

Yes, there are a lot of stairs but we were told any time we wanted a ride to the reception area to just call. The only time we utilized this service was the initial ride to our room and when we were leaving as both times we had our luggage with us. Other than that, we just walked and got over the stairs. The resort sits on the hillside looking over the town but you can be in the middle of town in 5 minutes (from the reception area) by walking.

We made one trek up to the family pool area and it was another great view of the town/bay. The staff by the bar up there were very quick/attentive with our beverage needs.
We had a free dinner on the first night, and the food was great. My husband has the ceviche salad to start and I wanted to make him trade me appies.

The staff all over this resort were great and friendly.

Room Tip: Take a look at their resort map on their website and pick something in the middle/lower area. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissMissCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this review. I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful honeymoon at Pelican Eyes and I hope that it was everything that you expected it to be. I really appreciate your compliments on our staff. We look forward being you of service again in the future.

Best regards,
Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Let me start off by saying we got a deal on Groupon, so payed quite a bit less than normal. That made this place a great value, but it really is lovely for any price. The room was fabulous. Very big and impeccably outfitted. High quality digs for sure. The pools were nice, and the bar was plush. The prices for food and drink are kind of absurd by local standards, but fair by international resort standards. We had great chicken wings, a very good ceviche, and a horrible caesar salad. Mostly though we just walked into town and had great eats and drinks for a fraction of the price. Important tip, if you want to do that easily make sure you get a room down near the bottom of the resort, where its a pretty easy walk to town, and not up at the top where you will be wiped out by the time you return to your room. We had cabina Jasmine, which was perfectly situated right at the bottom, but still had a beautiful view of the bay and town from the private patio.

Room Tip: Stay lower down for easier access to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doronamiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this review. I am pleased hearing you enjoyed staying at Pelican Eyes. It is always nice to hear guests being giving praising comments. Looking forward being you of service again in one of our ‘high quality digs’ and ‘plush bar’.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend in December with my friend after a week in the jungle helping build a school. We loved it, the property is beautiful, the pools and the view are amazing. We were treated exceptionally well at the restaurant. The service and the food was excellent. The restaurant manager was very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear,

First of all thank you for having taken the time to write this review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at our resort. Thank you for your complimenting remarks, comments about our employees are always greatly appreciated. We look forward being you of service again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We LOVED it but it started off a bit rocky. All rooms in pelican eyes are like small homes (full kitchen, bathroom, living room, plenty of storage, etc.) I rented a room with a group of 6 friends (it was a 2 bedroom "casita" we rented). When we arrived, we were taken to a casita that had one closed bedroom and a "bedroom" that was semi private on the second floor but was not enclosed. This would mean that light from all windows would go in and noise from the kitchen would wake everyone up (not all casitas have this issues so just be sure to ask).

We complained A LOT as we paid for two bedrooms (walls and doors should be standard) and they finally agreed to move us to another room. Since we were visiting during high season (new years) the only casita they had left is one that is usually reserved for special occasions like weddings or private parties. We we thrilled with the space.

My only warning for this hotel is that it has A LOT of steps. Meaning, if you're out of shape, you will be out of breath often (depending on your casita location). You may be in a casita so far from the lobby that you have to call the front desk for a ride. If you have your own car, be sure to ask for a casita that is near by a parking lot.

One other great thing about the hotel is that while all the other hotels on the strip lost water at some point, we never lost water or electricity.

Lastly, the views are beautiful. Make sure to get a casita with an ocean view (there are some casitas that have garden views instead).

Highly recommend this place but be mindful if you are traveling with elderly or handicapped as there are A LOT of steps (it's on the side of a mountain).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arguelcld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this review. First of all I would like to apologize for the rocky start you encountered at Pelican Eyes. Luckily the issue was solved and you were able to enjoy your stay at the resort. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodation and that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward being you of service again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed five nights recently. First, the positives. Rooms are big, spacious and good for a family. Had no bug or critter issues like others mention, other than some ants and other insects but it was no big deal. Grounds are beautiful, the views ares stunning and the pools are nice.

Lots of stairs, which did not bother us but could be a problem for some.

Now, the negatives. The service is awful. Other than one particular individual, the staff is weak. Some are surly, but they all are just not trained.

Had two houses for two families, cold showers two nights. Took way too long to get fixed only because maintenance was in no hurry. And the worst, allowing dozens of non-guests to frolic around the pool, with children under three not wearing diapers, naked and literally vomiting in the pool. We learned the policy is that non-guests can use the pool but have to pay 20 USD per person, but was not being enforced.

They say this is the nicest hotel in San Juan. Maybe, but stay elsewhere then because San Juan is a decent town with a decent beach, but the beaches north and south are gorgeous.

Finally, we spoke directly to the manager who is a good guy and sincerely is working to address the issues. I am confident he will, the question is when.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Taits2672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear,

First of all I would like to thank you for providing us with this helpful feedback. I am happy to hear that you did not encounter any inconveniences concerning bugs and that you were satisfied with the rooms. Concerning your comment about the staff, at the moment we are implementing a process of better introduction for new employees and monthly trainings in customer attention, service and language amongst others. As for the cold shower, we are fixing and replacing the heater, so that this issue will not occur again in the future and we have also implemented more strict policies concerning the swimming pools. Thank you for addressing the points that still have room for improvement, I appreciate your opinion, commentary like this makes us want to further improve our services. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port McNeill, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I would HIGHLY recommend staying here and especially using this place for an event. My wife and I just got married there this past November and were down with 40 of our friends for a 5 day stay. Joel and Allison from the hotel did an amazing job with the event coordination and made our wedding day a great success. The staff were very helpful and everyone went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. We look forward to returning in the future to revisit the place where it all happened. Thank you so much Pelican Eyes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steepndeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear,

I would like to say that I am very pleased hearing your Pelican Eyes experience was so memorable and that you and your 40 friends enjoyed the wedding day. Thank you so much for your praising comments, the ones regarding our team members are particularly appreciated, your opinion is very important to us. That being said I would like to say that we also look forward seeing you in the future, in order for us to provide you with the service you have gotten to admire.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5.1 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.2 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing