We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port McNeill, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience.”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I would HIGHLY recommend staying here and especially using this place for an event. My wife and I just got married there this past November and were down with 40 of our friends for a 5 day stay. Joel and Allison from the hotel did an amazing job with the event coordination and made our wedding day a great success. The staff were very helpful and everyone went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. We look forward to returning in the future to revisit the place where it all happened. Thank you so much Pelican Eyes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steepndeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear,

I would like to say that I am very pleased hearing your Pelican Eyes experience was so memorable and that you and your 40 friends enjoyed the wedding day. Thank you so much for your praising comments, the ones regarding our team members are particularly appreciated, your opinion is very important to us. That being said I would like to say that we also look forward seeing you in the future, in order for us to provide you with the service you have gotten to admire.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    189
    69
    48
    32
See reviews for
183
265
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We bought this vacation through a mystery auction in 2012 from LuxuryLink. The package include airport transfers, daily breakfast and a welcome drink. When we arrived we found our driver and made our way to the resort. It was a 2 hour trek but well worth it. Saw many volcanoes and different crops along the way.

The resort is on the side of a hill and has a bazillion stairs. This is not a vacation for the out of shape. I believe it was 153 steps from the reception area to our casa (Casa Ensueno). We were flabbergasted by the size of our accommodations. We were expecting a one bedroom typical sized hotel; instead we had an entire house to ourselves. We could have slept in a different bed almost every night. It was a two bedroom, three bed and a futon set up. Would be perfect for a large family! The Casa includes 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, dining room and living room. The TVs are a bit outdated, but we didn't travel to Nicaragua to watch the tube. And there was wifi so we were all set with our devices.

The resort is kept up very well and absolutely stunning. We went in early November and the resort seemed pretty empty. We had our choice of the three different pools; rarely did we have to share a pool.

It's about a 10 minute walk 'downtown' downhill. Tons of great little shops in the city and restaurants along the beach. The resort restaurant is pretty great as well and they have room service in the event you don't want to make the 100+ step trek down to dine.

The spa is also fantastic. We did a 1.5 hour couples massage and it was absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: If you aren't looking for a work out, request a room closer to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tutudanc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for reviewing our resort. I am very happy hearing that you describe us as a perfect getaway location’, that you were impressed by our accommodations and that you enjoyed your stay at the spa. We appreciate your commentary and we look forward to serving you again in the future

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

A perfect little town filled with great people and plenty of things to do, like shopping, fishing, surfing.The resort has a great look and feel with great views of the ocean, wonderful accomodations, with spectacular pools, food and service. Will go back again and again

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LarnedMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review of our resort. I am always very pleased hearing guests had a pleasant stay at our resort. We look forward to seeing you again (and again) at Pelican Eyes.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I'm torn between three and four stars for this property. It falls somewhere between 'Average' and 'Very Good'. First, let's get the obvious out of the way: the hotel is by far the most luxurious property in SJDS, and one of the top in the whole country. The views from the property cannot be beat. And, the rooms are huge. The Casa we stayed in was bigger than my apartment at home! But, for all of that, something is still lacking to make it a really great place to stay.

The major issue I had was bugs. I know it's common in the area, and I'm not squeamish, but there were A LOT of bugs in our room. Mostly in the bathroom, but also the bedroom, kitchen and living room areas. Lots of ants, and spiders, but also worms, flies and pincher bugs. I found myself wishing the property spent more effort on bug control and/or cleaning than they did on the appearance of looking fancy. We stayed 4 nights, and the problem got better the longer we were there which makes me think they weren't cleaning the room before we arrived.

The other issue, which is easily overcome, but still worth noting, is the prices at the bar and restaraunt are laughably high. Like, 3 to 5 times what you'd pay anywhere else. It's obvious that they are playing up their status as the luxury property in town, and perhaps think travelers will want to pay the higher prices to inidcate better quality or something. In any event, don't bother eating or drinking here, just take the walk in to town for the same service at a fraction of the price.

Finally, as noted, there are lots of steps. It didn't bother me, but if walking up steps is going to ruin your vacation, don't stay here. The one time we requested the shuttle it took two phone calls and an extra 30 minutes of waiting before they arrived, so I would imagine using it regularly is quite a frustration.

I think if you are travelling to SJDS (and you shoud, the town is really fun and interesting), I would reccomend staying here. However, I wouldn't tell you to go out of your way just to stay here. It's not that type of luxury property quite yet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear,

First of all thank you for taking your time for reviewing our resort. I am happy to hear that you liked the accommodations and view we have. I would like to personally apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at Pelican Eyes. We regularly fumigate the rooms, unfortunately due to the fact that our hotel is located in a tropical area it might occur that bugs still find their way in, like what you encountered. Thank you again for your feedback, we appreciate your opinion and we will address the by you mentioned issue. We constantly try to improve and to provide every guest with the top-notch care they deserve. We hope to be able to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I visited San Juan del Sur Nov2-7, I stayed at Pelican again and had a fantastic stay. I had some new visitors and 1 that had been with me before. Just as gorgeous as always and our group loved the spacious Casa's we had. We had planned on cooking 1 or 2 nights but the food in La Cascada was so good we never got a chance to use the kitchen :)It was the end of offseason so the upper restaurant was closed. Great sunsets again and not enough time to enjoy the wonderful pools, as we chose to sail with Captain Mario on the Pelican Eyes sailboat, horseback ride with Rancho Chilamate,the Spa,and did the walk to Jesus, and our favorite School donations with Fundacion A J Brugger. Another successful visit to Paradise. And I was just as impressed with Pelican Eyes Resort as the first time I visited in 2004!

Room Tip: the upper rooms have fantastic views of water or valley. a lot of stairs to climb, but well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cannonballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay at Pelican Eyes. Deducting from your review you had an excellent holiday. Also a special thanks to you for supporting the AJ Brugger Fundation. we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We picked Pelican Eyes for a vacation with friends AND family. I find myself very happy with the choice.
The homes were comfortable and filled with light, and they staircase up the hill affording each a grand view of both San Juan Bay and, at day's end, the setting sun. The architecture feels very much in keeping with traditional local building and, at the same time, made visitors like me, feel right at home.
Breakfast was a pleasure in the thatched hut bistro perched on the edge of one of the pools and, like everything else, overlooking the bay. There's a fine restaurant and bar on site for dinner, but since Pelican is perched right on the edge of town, you can easily wander into town and explore dining there, which we took full advantage of.

Room Tip: We stayed in the home called 'Suenos del Mar' and enjoyed it thoroughly. But we got to visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this review. I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our resort and that it made you feel right at home. We really appreciate your commentaries. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

For my first visit to San Juan Del Sur I wanted someplace with character but I like my luxuries. Pelican Eyes exceeded expectations. Our room was open and spacious, with stunning vistas off our private deck. I cannot say enough about the professional service - I want to especially mention the engaging restaurant staff, Sophia, Javier, and Raphael, who went to great lengths to accommodate us, and the concierge, Lorna, who set up the best sail boat excursion I've ever experienced.

Room Tip: I didn't see all the rooms, but ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drtracijordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear,

First of all thank you for taking your time to write this review. I am very happy to hear that your stay at Pelican Eyes exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your comments, especially the ones regarding our team members are particularly appreciated. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5.1 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.2 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
318 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
284 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing