We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveler rating
407
197
76
53
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
197
76
53
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper pool in town sailing trip main restaurant great exercise reception area san juan breathtaking views living room beautiful property destination wedding lounge chairs included breakfast amazing place pools infinity casa
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 768 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The experience at this hotel left us with a bittersweet taste of San Juan Del Sur; although the bay views from the hotel and the nature aspect of the area is quite beautiful, the hotel showed a strong lack of genuine care for the well-being of their guests experience in the following ways:
1. The first day we arrived at the hotel the toilet got clogged. The gentleman from the maintenance department who came to the room to fix it and clean it up decided it was ok to use our shower as the best place to squeeze out the mop, leaving our bathroom and shower with water from the toilet... we were not able to take a shower without flip flops for the rest of our stay.
2. Even though the views from the pools were outstanding they were not cleaned properly, leaving guests to enjoy only a section of the pool (the least dirty part of the pool)
3. Only the pool by the restaurant seemed to be the one getting semi-consistent clean ups (the one by our room was not cleaned throughout our stay).
4. The first night we arrived the generator by our room was not working leaving us in the dark (this seems to be the norm in San Juan del Sur as the electricity goes out quite often)
5. After the generator for our room was fixed we went back to our room only to find a colony of ants living by our light switch (picture attached), we complained and the hotel sent a maintenance person with some sort of bug spray which only worked for a few hours (we found out later that the whole hotel has an ant problem from some of the other hotel guests who also had complained of that same problem)
6. The hotel granted us a free sailing trip to "make-up" for the ant situation, and although we were a little more relaxed after the sailing trip, we came back and the hotel had not taken the courtesy to check or clean our room leaving us with ants for one more night. This same night as i was going to sleep we found a spider walking on our bedsheets.. this was the worst part of it all by far.

We were expecting that going by going to the most expensive hotel in SJDS, our experience would be different. This hotel has a lot of potential...it is beautiful and the views are breathtaking but we would never go back. The price does not match the quality, especially if you are going during high season.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nicolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Room did not have hot water and had to wait almost 2 hours to be fixed.
A/C had only On/Off and no way to regulate temperature
There was dog feces on the side of the pool.
If you decide to stay at this hotel make sure you ask if your room has hot water. Apparently not all rooms have it and they do not tell you until you call reception from your room

Room tip: Look for other options in San Juan del Sur. Definitely not worth the price.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Arumman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear,

First and foremost thank you for contribution. I would like to personally apologize for the inconveniences you went through. I am stunned to hear your experience at the pool; I can assure you this will not ever occur again in the future. We are very keen on learning from our mistakes and are happy that you provided us with this honest feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Pelican Eyes in the future to provide you with the service you deserve.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

There are very few upscale lodging options in SJDS. The view from the property is amazing, truly beautiful. The nightly rate is steep and I think if there were more options in the town they would have trouble maintaining those rates with current level of service.

We rented 2 bedroom casa but had to switch casa's the first night - a couple times due to mouse infestations. The casa's weren't adequately cleaned in advance of our arrival - evidence of mouse infestation everywhere. We booked for 2 week stay and left a little early. They advertise a spa but they have NO service or facilities even resembling a spa - really weak.
The pools are nice. The food is sub par. We purchased food at the market in town from farmers

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, your opinion is very important to us. We value each and every guest that comes to Pelican Eyes and we appreciate you choosing our resort as your choice hotel in San Juan del Sur. We take our customers comments very seriously.

I am glad you were able to enjoy our views and that you found our property truly beautiful. I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced with our units. I can assure you that we run a tight fumigation schedule and we have never had any issues with rodents.

Our full service spa offers a large range of services, including room service massages, outdoor massages, body wraps, facials as well as many more luxury services.

Again we are sorry to have disappointed you during your stay, we truly do strive to deliver a topnotch service unlike any other in Nicaragua. Please accept our sincere apology, every client is important to us and we wish to give everyone the Pelican Eyes experience our clients have come to love. We really do appreciate your business and invite you back to let us prove to you why we are one of best luxury resorts in Nicaragua. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at reservations@pelicaneyesresort.com I will personally take care of your stay.

Best,

Gabriel Holt,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Overall very good service, villas are nicely equipped with everything, housekeeping excellent service, food very good except for brunch was very disappointing.....
The only inconvenience is the roads to the villas can be very dangerous since they are dirt and rocks...... Beautiful view and peaceful ambience.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. I am happy to hear that overall you had a more than pleasant stay at Pelican Eyes. I am sorry you did encounter some inconveniences, thank you for your feedback. I will look into the by you mentioned points and will do our best to further improve our services and accommodations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I personally love the pools and enjoy drinking at the bar. The rooms are nice and clean. The view is truly amazing. Always available for transportation if you are need. Overall a very good experience.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey06759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear,

First and for most thank you for your review. I am always happy to hear that our guests had a pleasant time at our resort. I appreciate your comments. Looking forward serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews