We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not coming back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not coming back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Breathtaking beauitiful place, lovely room, best shower anywhere, But....we had a room at the top of the property. A nearly impossible walk up or down from lobby/restaurant area. Staff very accomodating with a car, but the ride was over impossibly rutted, irregular dirt road and took 5-7 minutes. Once called from room and took over 20 minutes to get down to restaurant. Lap pool was unavailable for laps, as over-run with young people drinking and hanging around and in the pool. Restaurant area was quite beautiful, food good, but not outstanding for the prices. Service impeccable. During our last night there a reading light fixture imbedded in the ceiling over our beds fell out of the ceiling, releasing a metal clamp which awakened me when it hit me on the cheek at 2 AM! The light fell out about 10 inches, tethered on its wire. Not at all a pleasant night. The front desk said they were "sorry" period. Also, if you're not a surfer SJdS has little to offer, except that it is a relatively short distance to some attractive viewing, hiking areas. The only thing that compels me to give two stars instead of one is that the room and its views were really quite spectacular (even the reading lights were a nice touch until they started falling out.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanEyes, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Owen M.,
Thank you for your thoughtful review of Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa.

We are aware of the bumpy road connecting some of the units and we are working to improve this. We are glad that you were able to utilize the free shuttle service offered by the hotel in the meantime.

We do have a wonderful mix of guests both young and old. However, should you ever feel bothered by other guests, we do encourage you to speak to someone in management who would happily address the situation for you.

And we are sorry to hear that you weren't able to take advantage of the many wonderful activities in San Juan. The hotel offers assistance in planning sailing and fishing tours, horseback riding tours, rappelling, atv rentals, stand-up paddle board rentals, yoga classes, spa days, surf lessons, and more. We can also help to arrange for day trips to some of the surrounding areas offering both adventure and historical experiences.

Again, thank you for your helpful review of the resort. It is with this feedback that we can continue to improve upon our services.

All the best,
Pelican Eyes Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    179
    58
    44
    26
See reviews for
161
250
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 7 nights at the beginning of February 2013.

Reception arranged transfers for us from the airport in Managua, which worked brilliantly. We were delayed two hours and the drivers kindly waited for us.

Upon arrival we were upgraded from a 1 bedroom ocean view room to a casa in the upper stage 2 part of the development. Such a beautiful house! Two terraces (including one off the top floor bedroom) and a kitchen and lounge area.

The resort is very peaceful and beautifully landscaped with tiled stairways twisting through lush foliage up the (steep) hill side.

The hill setting is very beautiful and the views are breathtaking especially at sunset.

We opted to walk to and from our accommodation to the main restaurant/reception/San Juan but it's quite a hike - we enjoyed it but it wouldn't suit some. The hotel does offer a car service for a fee.

The staff are very friendly and helpful throughout the resort.

We did have a number of power cuts but were happy to open the doors/windows and let the fresh air blow through.

The restaurant food was a good mix of local inspired dishes and more Western food and of a high quality. We started each day sipping Nica coffee gazing out over the bay at La Cascada restaurant and typically ended the day in the same place!

The reception kindly arranged a tour through Edwin (awesome) at Macua Tours who took us to Granada and Masaya for the day.

We also liked San Juan very much. It's a sleepy little beach village. Just a touch rough around the edges but Gato Negro cafe is especially charming and El Timon does fantastic sea food. The locals are very friendly.

All together an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EFB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I would definitely stay there again. The accommodations are quite nice and roomy since they are homes. The views at the bar/pool and up at the infinity pool are absolutely breaktaking. The food , especially the salads were excellent. The restaurant staff worked quite diligently to make sure all the patrons were content. There is no question the front desk staff was well trained and believed in top customer service. The manager was also quite nice. The only consideration I thought would be helpful was to move the trash house from the bottom of the stairs where you walk up to your rooms. It was smelly and took away from the beauty of the property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgivray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My partner, sister and myself stayed for 12 days oct 12. The service was exceptional and I felt so pampered! Our casa was fantastic and very comfortable. I would definitely return and we have recommended to friends.

Room Tip: Casa no 4 has a clear view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in one of the small houses on the property. It was a long walk up to the infinity pool but well worth it. The views are spectacular. Our favorite excursion while in San Juan del Sur was a trip we took on Pelican Eye's sailboat. That was worth every penny - great service, good food, a nice beach. This property is pricey but it's worht it. This would be a fabulous honeymoon location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyCAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is a wonderful place for a short, relaxing vacation - we would have loved to stay longer but it is too expensive for a longer stay - at least for us. But while we were there we enjoyed every minute!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

On March 6th, our friends, who had visited the Pelican last year wanted to surprise us by showing us this beautiful resort with the Infiniti Pool. On the internent, it quoted $7.00 per person to use the pool. However, when we reached the gate to the premises, we were told that it would be $20.00 per person. We then walked up to the reception area and was told the same. The gentleman there did call another person in authority(supposedly) but came back with the same answer. My husband and I were so disappointed as were our friends. Obviously, they didn't want any outsiders to use the facilities.
We returned to our hotel, Gran Oceano and used its pool. We had fun with our friends. We did not let the Pelican spoil our day. It's their loss.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie_Millie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanEyes, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Ollie Millie,

Thank you for providing us with your helpful feedback regarding your visit to Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa. We are pleased to hear that your friends found the setting so lovely that they wanted to return and share it with you. We do apologize for the misinformation on the website and will be sure that it is updated promptly.

Thanks you for taking the time to share your review with us.
All the best,
Pelican Eyes Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
5.1 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.1 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#17 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
14.2 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing