We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Indeed”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I would definitely stay there again. The accommodations are quite nice and roomy since they are homes. The views at the bar/pool and up at the infinity pool are absolutely breaktaking. The food , especially the salads were excellent. The restaurant staff worked quite diligently to make sure all the patrons were content. There is no question the front desk staff was well trained and believed in top customer service. The manager was also quite nice. The only consideration I thought would be helpful was to move the trash house from the bottom of the stairs where you walk up to your rooms. It was smelly and took away from the beauty of the property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgivray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    189
    68
    48
    32
See reviews for
182
264
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My partner, sister and myself stayed for 12 days oct 12. The service was exceptional and I felt so pampered! Our casa was fantastic and very comfortable. I would definitely return and we have recommended to friends.

Room Tip: Casa no 4 has a clear view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in one of the small houses on the property. It was a long walk up to the infinity pool but well worth it. The views are spectacular. Our favorite excursion while in San Juan del Sur was a trip we took on Pelican Eye's sailboat. That was worth every penny - great service, good food, a nice beach. This property is pricey but it's worht it. This would be a fabulous honeymoon location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyCAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is a wonderful place for a short, relaxing vacation - we would have loved to stay longer but it is too expensive for a longer stay - at least for us. But while we were there we enjoyed every minute!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

On March 6th, our friends, who had visited the Pelican last year wanted to surprise us by showing us this beautiful resort with the Infiniti Pool. On the internent, it quoted $7.00 per person to use the pool. However, when we reached the gate to the premises, we were told that it would be $20.00 per person. We then walked up to the reception area and was told the same. The gentleman there did call another person in authority(supposedly) but came back with the same answer. My husband and I were so disappointed as were our friends. Obviously, they didn't want any outsiders to use the facilities.
We returned to our hotel, Gran Oceano and used its pool. We had fun with our friends. We did not let the Pelican spoil our day. It's their loss.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie_Millie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanEyes, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Ollie Millie,

Thank you for providing us with your helpful feedback regarding your visit to Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa. We are pleased to hear that your friends found the setting so lovely that they wanted to return and share it with you. We do apologize for the misinformation on the website and will be sure that it is updated promptly.

Thanks you for taking the time to share your review with us.
All the best,
Pelican Eyes Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I where at the Pelican Eyes Resort actually a year ago 2012 and through an outside group enjoyed their pool and facilities (water arobics ) which enticed us back for a day to use the pools/bar and restaurant for $5 each per day, HOWEVER going back this year March 6, 2013, the security guard stated it is now $20 per person, reception confirmed this with "Marie" and they stated that is the new rate, take it or leave it even if we stated we would eat and use the bar.

I wanted to show my two visiting retire friends this 5 star resort? but $80 to use the facilities was way too much and the staffs attitude indifferent and somewhat rude.

We turned around and returned to use the pool at our hotel, Hotel Gran Oceano, maybe not a 5 star but friendly staff and large clean pool.

I will never recommend the Pelican Eyes to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This resort is very high on style and good on service and quality issues. The location is lovely, on the east end of San Juan del Sur. As many have said, it is a vertical place with many stairs to even the lower level rooms on the hillside. We counted over 100 steps up to Llama del Bosque, but we were determined to get our exercise when we could. (We are over 60 and in reasonable shape, but not high performance athletes, but any stretch of the imagination.) Our room was of a spectacular design, with 2 queen beds...one worked out great for holding our luggage, a kitchenette, safe and cool bathroom with rain shower. We didn't have hot water the first day, but only because the gas was out. The problem was corrected in 15 minutes, but the staff probably should have been aware and taken care of it before we arrived.

The reception staff was capable, but not especially warm and welcoming, but we were treated to a lovely tropical punch drink when we checked in. Two wonderful assistants helped us get our heavy luggage to our room. We did use the complimentary transportation to the upper pools a couple times. These are lovely and were uncrowded while we were there. One day was windy enough to cover a lot of the pool with flower petals, but no big deal. A staffer did come and skim the pool, but it's a losing battle. The wind continues to blow.

We ate breakfast at the lower pool restaurant several times as well as one supper when we didn't feel like walking into town and back. The food was good, if not as cheap as other places in town and around the country. The resort arranged transport for us to San Jorge as well. We were well satisfied, if not knocked out by our stay here. Our expectations had been very high and the site is beautiful.

There are rumors around San Juan del Sur that the legal problems may overwhelm this resort and from other reviewers, I gather that there are private owners of many casas in Phase II. In my experience, that can be a red flag where quality standards and cleanliness are not consistent. Unfortunately, some caution may be indicated.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Llama del Bosque, which is only 40 steps from the pool, and has a great view. It also has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camera425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5.1 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.2 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
318 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
284 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing