We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Pelican Eyes is a great resort with very friendly staff and good, clean accommodations. The rooms were all a very good size and the views over the harbour were spectacular. It was only a very short walk in to town or the hotel provides cheap transportation to anywhere in town. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dylan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 753 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Pelican Eyes is excellent. It is a really nice resort and it is connected/integrated with the town of San Juan del Sur so you can have a simultaneous taste of resort luxury with all the fun and offerings of a small Nicaraguan beach town. You are not trapped at the resort!

As with most properties the staff make the experience. From the front desk to house keeping to the restaurant the staff is friendly and competent. If you don't speak much Spanish there is always someone around that does.

There are a lot of reviews so take an average. I see some negative reviews. It seems like those writers stayed at a different Pelican Eyes than I did. I'm guessing that, regardless of the hotel throughout the world, guests get the the same treatment that their behavior deserves. Karma? For me and my wife, the karma was great.

At departure I made sure to book a week for 2014!

Room Tip: There is a Phase 1 and Phase 2. Phase one has the best ocean views and is close to the pools. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRBillJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The resort is gorgeous and the service outstanding. We stayed in a lovely villa with a spectacular view of the sunset over the Pacific from our balcony. The staff of the resort were very friendly and customer service-oriented, and we loved the people of San Juan del Sur. I'd love to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hildy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in a Casa last December and were initially very impressed. The gardens are gorgeous and the pools and view are one of a kind. But the cleanliness of our bedroom was appalling. The sheets were dirty with black dots and hair. The bed cover never gets washed and was covered in tiny black dots. Room service tried to replace the sheets, but all the 5 new sheets they brought were covered in hair. Cockroaches live in the AC unit just above the bed and between the mattress and boxspring. When you turn on the AC the cockroaches will fall onto the pillow. This is not a romantic place. We looked at other places in town and they were all clean. The gardens and pool are usually filled with non-guests and families since non-guests can use all the facilities for $5 per day. Besides for one person the staff only speaks spanish and the management did not think that cleanliness is important. We recommend for you to visit the pool but stay somewhere else in town where it's less run down.

Room Tip: Inspect the room for bed bugs and cockroaches when you first arrive. Pull back the cover sheet and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank colibritravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and we had a wonderful time. Our habitation was spotless and the staff was great. Very accommodating, Mr. Romero provided us with excellent service. We're going back to Nicaragua and we're definitely staying at pelican eyes again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verubabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a disappointment it was, went there and everything looked and smelled dirty the crowd was noisy and cheap. I was told the original Californian who built this hotel left and ever since is downhill. I wouldn't stay in this hotel even if they would give me the room for free.

Let's hope they change owners and go back to the California boutique hotel it used to be!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Alessandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our family has stayed here a couple of times. It is quiet, comfortable and relaxed and within walking distance of town. The walk up hill at the end of the day will make you feel virtuous eating a delicious meal at the restaraunt. It is obviously far more expensive that a room in town but it it dramatically superior to anything you would get for a similar price in the U.S. or Canada.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapitalD771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5.1 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
326 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
172 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
236 reviews
3.6 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $239 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing