We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and we had a wonderful time. Our habitation was spotless and the staff was great. Very accommodating, Mr. Romero provided us with excellent service. We're going back to Nicaragua and we're definitely staying at pelican eyes again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verubabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    189
    69
    48
    32
See reviews for
183
265
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a disappointment it was, went there and everything looked and smelled dirty the crowd was noisy and cheap. I was told the original Californian who built this hotel left and ever since is downhill. I wouldn't stay in this hotel even if they would give me the room for free.

Let's hope they change owners and go back to the California boutique hotel it used to be!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Alessandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our family has stayed here a couple of times. It is quiet, comfortable and relaxed and within walking distance of town. The walk up hill at the end of the day will make you feel virtuous eating a delicious meal at the restaraunt. It is obviously far more expensive that a room in town but it it dramatically superior to anything you would get for a similar price in the U.S. or Canada.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapitalD771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, GA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pelican Eyes is a unique resort located on the hillside of San Juan del Sur. It is 10-15 minute walk down to the bay. The resort is comprised of very nice casa's or condo like units. Ours was a 3 story two bedroom unit. It has beautiful architecture. We loved it. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and spacious. Our unit (Margarita) was near the top of the hill and had a wonderful view of the bay from each bedroom and the den. Be warned, the resort is on the side of a hill so there are lots (and lots) of stairs. If you are in reasonable shape this will not be a problem. The resort will provide transportation for $5 to and from the town. Our family of 4 rarely used it. There is a grocery store within a 5 minute drive. You can stock up and make use of the kitchen. Book a trip on the resort's sailboat - it was great. The restaurants are nice and predictable. The prices are a little high but they are convenient. Get to the pool(s) early as the chairs get occupied very early.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentdiner63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you aren't staying in a Pelican Eyes villa be prepared to pay $5.00 to use there pool. And also be in good shape to get to the upper pool. However, good things come to those who wait and have strong legs. The view from the Infiniti pool is insane. Super clean and friendly staff. By far the nicest resort in SJDS. Just like everywhere in Nica. if you are hungry or thirsty order as soon as you have a chance.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjay0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The "room" is a large house with a deep classy balcony and perfect 180 degree view of the bay, town and hills. We were provided with coffee and coffee maker plus a refrig. Tv good free internet plus three fans and 2 AC in the room bathroom is large and well equipped. Five minute walk to town and stairs are not that bad and well lit at night. Safe in room and it appears there is plenty of security. Pools are very modern with zero edge and clean. Quiet classy place I want to return to. I see 149 a night for 7 nights on Expedia. I paid $ 160 per night on Hotels.com for ocean view for 2. Good bed, linens etc. I think this is likely the best option in town ( you do need to be able to walk a bit)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very clean, view was fantastic, and most importantly the service was great! They offered a great breakfast and also had some of the best coffee we had while spending time in Nicaragua. We had a great experience overall the only downfall was that we thought it was a little overpriced.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5.1 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.2 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
318 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
284 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing