We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Affordable Nicaragua Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
“Affordable Nicaragua Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pelican Eyes Resort is amazing. It's far and away the nicest place I've ever stayed in Nicaragua. The staff was incredibly helpful and professional. The food and drinks were excellent -- their seafood and wine are not to be missed. The accommodations were grandiose. My private villa had towering ceilings, a full kitchen, a dining room with a large, tasteful painting by a local artist, air conditioning, large comfy beds, three bathrooms, a private driveway, and an expansive veranda with rocking chairs and epic views of the Pacific. Beautiful tropical flowers were everywhere; they obviously pay close attention to gardening and landscaping the grounds. The three different infinity pools are spacious and have amazing views of the town of San Juan and the bay, which is a short five-minute walk down the hill. The highlight of my stay was sailing on their private yacht to a secluded beach. Snorkeling, sailing, free drinks, ceviche, and tajadas... and then the captain dropped us off at a beach break for a surf on the way home and someone from the resort came and picked us up after sunset. I didn't make it to the spa but they have a spa in the resort that I heard was amazing and inexpensive. My friend went and got a treatment from their acupuncturist and chiropractor. My stay at Pelican Eyes was especially relaxing and comfortable. This type of resort is extremely hard to find in Nicaragua. The people in charge are doing a great job. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Each villa has different characteristics, i.e. some have more rooms, private driveways, ocean views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    175
    58
    44
    26
See reviews for
158
243
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our recent family trip to Nicaragua was planned to be an exploration of all that the country had to offer and to provide a much needed rest from the hustle and bustle of our day to day lives in the U.S. Once we arrived at the Pelican Eyes resort we were greeted warmly by staff who made us feel welcome and seemed to share our excitement at being in such a beautiful resort. When we got to our room I was taken back by the awesom views of the ocean and surrounding area of San Juan del Sur. The pools were cool, clean, and relaxing and also provided incredible views of the area. Staff was helpful in obtaining information concerning local beaches, horseback riding, and sailing tours, as well as top rated local restauraunts.
At pelican Eyes we got the vacation that we were wishing for and hope that others can take advantage of such a beautiful resort!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was probably my favorite hotel I have ever stayed at. The casas were gigantic and clean. Most importantly the service was unreal. I have never experienced the service that we had at Pelican Eyes. I remember Rigorberto doing a great job at both of our dinners. He made us feel really special on our honeymoon and he was very professional. He always seemed to be around at the perfect time and never was intrusive. The breakfasts were amazing as well.

Overall, I highly recommend to anybody looking to relax and enjoy a great hotel.

Room Tip: Casa El Faro was off to the side and seemed really private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Seriously. I stayed at Pelican Eyes with a group of friends and was incredibly impressed. The villa is really nice, has a really great kitchen for cooking, and an awesome view to wake up to. The beds are really comfortable, the bathrooms are nice, and the living room was only alright. The food at the restaurant (a short walk from your villa, depending on where you are actually located) was delicious, well worth the VERY long wait. However, both the A/C and oven (not stove) didn't function correctly...but the service staff was quick to arrive and resolve the problems. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Pelican Eyes resort...the infinity pool is awesome for San Juan's incredible sunsets. I repeat, incredible (:

Room Tip: check your A/C as soon as you check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElCheleNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just came home from one of the most relaxing vacations I have ever had-swimming around in the pools and the incredible few! The room/house were lovely and all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Best margaritas in town! We will be going back soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Roo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This resort has a wonderful location in a hillside overlookingthe town and the bay. Our rooms was very nice and a splendid location of the swimming pool. But they need to improve the routines for the towels. Why have numbers on the towel cards, when you can not find the key to give us right cards back? The hotel info told us to pay a high fee if we did not return the towel cards. The food in the restaurant was also just average. My beef was not tender.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsaethre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Pelican Eye this past week for almost 3 days. I'm glad I didn't pay for a longer stay. The views from my hotel room was absolutely beautiful. The pools were nice and clean and the view also breathtaking. However, the hotel is not worth the $150 a night I paid for. First of all, I think they hadn't cleaned our room since the last person stayed there about 3 months ago. When I tried going to bed, and pulled the covers, I found two spiders in the bed and a few little bugs. I understand that when you open the door to the balcony you will have some bugs coming inside, but the staff should clean the room before the guests arrive. Also, the coffee maker and the microwave were disgusting. Now about the food...if you're not from Nicaragua and you're not really looking forward to enjoy true Nica food, then you will love the food there. But I'm originally from Nicaragua and I can tell you that the food is much better in other less upscale hotels in the country. I suggest you try "Delicious Peruvian', they had very delicious food (although Peruvian) but it was worth the money. Overall, I will not be staying at the Pelican again. I was told by a few natives that Palermo is a lot better and cleaner. However, it is not as close to town as the Pelican. But next time I go to San Juan del Sur, that's where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lovetraveling009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa. We appreciate your feedback. We are troubled by your experience, as this is not customary for our resort. If you could, please contact reservations@pelicaneyesresort.com, as our management team would like to speak with you personally about your stay.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
5.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.1 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#7 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#14 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
12.7 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
14.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing