We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay but poor value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotelito El Coco Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Decent stay but poor value”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a nice stay but I don't think the price justifies what you get. You can easily find private rooms in SJDS for $8-$30 so when we paid US$60 after taxes, we were expecting to get a little more. Our $60 private room included a shared bathroom, no air conditioning, and a balcony with no chairs and a beautiful view of the side of the neighboring hotel (sarcasm).
I will say that the room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The shower pressure was good and the water was hot. Also the wifi was strong and reliable. The breakfast pretty good. One morning it was pancakes and fruit. The next, it was fruit, egg burrito, and gallo pinto.
We had a fine stay but you should be able to find better value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
19
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
Level Contributor
275 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Good service, nice people. Quality of rooms is very different, we were offered 5 person room for 2 on the second floor, the problem was that not all the windows have nets and internet was not available there. But our room was changed quickly on our complaint. Nice breakfast, nothing extraordinary. Just 1 minute from the SJDS beach what is ok. A bit overpriced.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely three night stay at CocoAzul, one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for a long time. Amazing friendly staff and great atention to detail! I would highly recommend this as top of the lost for places to stay in San Juna del Sur.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Madame F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great location- a very short walk to the beach and bars/restaurants. The staff were all very nice and the breakfasts were delicious. The rooms were very clean and freshly decorated. We loved our little balcony outside the room. I would definitely recommend El Coco Azul!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for our first two nights in Nicaragua. The hotel is clean and modern; and has a very beach-town feel. It's a short 3-minute walk to the beach. There is beautiful and brightly-colored art decorating the walls of the hotel. We stayed in one of the rooms with a private bathroom; but there were two sets of bunk-beds and a queen sized bed in the room, which was a little odd for us (just two people traveling together). It made the room feel cramped, and we wished that we had chosen one of the less-cramped rooms with a shared bathroom. Breakfasts were yummy (fruit, eggs/gallo pinto) and the staff was helpful at setting up our ziplining tour. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah451985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

El Coco Azul was really good value for money, there are so many hotels that are overpriced and dirty this is not one of them. Everything is modern and fresh looking, the rooms are serviced daily. The rooms are huge, free breakfast is a nice bonus they sometimes serve the most amazing rice and beans and salsa. Everything felt safe and it is in a great location walk to the beach!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slothie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here as a treat from usual budget hostels though not all that much more costly and overall with breakfast (and a good two course with yum refill coffee) was not really all that much more expensive.

Rooms are luvly with a balcony with a laegw spacious and well decorated living area. Few people here when we stayed so had a heaps of space to self clean bathrooms and well poweres showers.

Staff were v. Friendly and helpful, storing my luggage once I'd checked out and I came back to eat a take away food in their faned livin area to await my shuttle no problem.

Definitely would recommend as value for money and great place to chillax.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelito El Coco Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito El Coco Azul

Property: Hotelito El Coco Azul
Address: Calle Camino Real 30 metros aleste de Banco BDF, adjacent to La Posada Azul, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelito El Coco Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Coco Azul offers a more moderate priced stay in San Juan del Sur but with the same cleanliness and attention to detail as we are known for at our La Posada Azul. El Coco Azul has six rooms, four that sleep up to four people, and 2 rooms which sleep up to six. All rooms have screened, shuttered windows and plenty of fans to keep you cool. Upstairs rooms have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotelito El Coco Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelito El Coco Azul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing