We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotelito El Coco Azul
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for our first two nights in Nicaragua. The hotel is clean and modern; and has a very beach-town feel. It's a short 3-minute walk to the beach. There is beautiful and brightly-colored art decorating the walls of the hotel. We stayed in one of the rooms with a private bathroom; but there were two sets of bunk-beds and a queen sized bed in the room, which was a little odd for us (just two people traveling together). It made the room feel cramped, and we wished that we had chosen one of the less-cramped rooms with a shared bathroom. Breakfasts were yummy (fruit, eggs/gallo pinto) and the staff was helpful at setting up our ziplining tour. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah451985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

El Coco Azul was really good value for money, there are so many hotels that are overpriced and dirty this is not one of them. Everything is modern and fresh looking, the rooms are serviced daily. The rooms are huge, free breakfast is a nice bonus they sometimes serve the most amazing rice and beans and salsa. Everything felt safe and it is in a great location walk to the beach!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slothie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here as a treat from usual budget hostels though not all that much more costly and overall with breakfast (and a good two course with yum refill coffee) was not really all that much more expensive.

Rooms are luvly with a balcony with a laegw spacious and well decorated living area. Few people here when we stayed so had a heaps of space to self clean bathrooms and well poweres showers.

Staff were v. Friendly and helpful, storing my luggage once I'd checked out and I came back to eat a take away food in their faned livin area to await my shuttle no problem.

Definitely would recommend as value for money and great place to chillax.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at El Coco Azul, and loved it. We had a private room with a queen size bed and a bunk bed. It was spacious with a cute balcony. And we shared a clean and comfortable bathroom (no hot water, but we expected this). The communal areas are lovely - spacious, impeccably clean and comfortable, and the decor is very pretty with lots of artisanal Nicaraguan furniture and decor. There is a quiet courtyard out back where you can read your book in a hammock and listen to the parrots in the trees above you. We did not try the breakfast that was included in the price as we were up early to get to the surf breaks every day. It was the low season, so we paid $35 for the room - and were let off the tax as we stayed an additional night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I love the decor of this little 6-room hotel--all white and blue, with tile floors, almost like being in Greece. The public spaces, where breakfast is prepared to your order, are airy and inviting. Our upstairs room had a double bed and bunks, a small balcony, and French screen doors that, combined with the ceiling fan, kept the room cool. It wasn't until our second night there that we realized there were also solid doors that were opened to the balcony and could be shut in case of rain--which we ended up needing when it poured at night. Our first night, we had the shared bathroom to ourselves, which was wonderful as it was very very clean. Then, when other guests checked in, they didn't bother to deal with the sand from their swimsuits and the bathroom quickly became dirty, which isn't the hotel's fault. One of my travel mates inadvertently broke the soap dispenser in the shower (they slide off very easily), told the clerk about it, and was charged the equivalent of $10, which seems a bit steep--so do be careful with the dispensers! The gallo pinto and the pancakes (breakfast options) were both delicious, and the hotel has a laptop with Internet for guests' use. The hotel is just steps away from the water and nightlife, which means you will hear some noise, so if you are a very light sleeper this might not be the place for you.

Room Tip: There's a parrot in the adjacent lot that you can hear very clearly from the rear rooms. Lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MStarAsaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

the hotel is clean, beautiful and comfortable!! people is very nice. it has a very good breakfast and the rooms are very big. it is in the middle of the downtown and you can see the sea from the door.
a very good place to stay at. we stayed there for 2 nights and had a great time there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleySofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked two nights at Hotelito Coco Azul after waiting till the last minute to reserve a room in SJDS. Most other places around town were already booked but after reading the reviews we decided to go with this hotel after finding out they had availability. Although we'd have to share a bathroom with another room, we liked the location and found it to be fairly inexpensive. The room was spacious but the bed was a bit firm for our liking, nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay at Coco Azul. Turns out we were the only people staying in the rooms upstairs so we had the bathroom to ourselves. We awoke early both mornings, thanks to the local birds, which helped us get off to an early start to enjoy our day in San Juan del Sur. Breakfast was simple but tasty, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada Azul
La Posada Azul
#3 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelito El Coco Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito El Coco Azul

Address: Calle Camino Real 30 metros aleste de Banco BDF, adjacent to La Posada Azul, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $53 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelito El Coco Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Coco Azul offers a more moderate priced stay in San Juan del Sur but with the same cleanliness and attention to detail as we are known for at our La Posada Azul. El Coco Azul has six rooms, four that sleep up to four people, and 2 rooms which sleep up to six. All rooms have screened, shuttered windows and plenty of fans to keep you cool. Upstairs rooms have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotelito El Coco Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelito El Coco Azul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing