We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty rooms, terrible restaurant, go anywhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Anamar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Anamar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms, terrible restaurant, go anywhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my family 1 night was all we could handle...Going to stay 3 nights. We were in 2 rooms and both were dirty with a smell like garbage in one room. Pool is very nice and the owners sons girlfriend is super nice, but the owners were jerks. Apart from that, it was an overall terrible stay. All 4 of us couldnt wait to leave. Checked into a hostel for $40 cheaper and it was way better. Restaurant is overpriced very slow and has horrible service

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip4life007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lchamorro84, Owner at Hotel Anamar, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We're deeply sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your experience here at Anamar. We do our best to provide a safe,clean, quiet and comfortable environment for our guests. Again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We always make sure our guest rooms are clean and fresh. I will review your comments with our staff and reinforce our policies regarding cleanliness and attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    2
    6
    8
See reviews for
9
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We just completed a 5 night stay here and loved everything about the place. The pool being right on the beach provided great views and the huge palm trees kept it shaded most of the day, with nice breezes. Made us forget we were in Nicaragua. The area is away from the noisy part of town and very peaceful. The staff was very friendly and anxious to help out. Several spoke a little English, too. The rooms could be a little nicer, but you don't stay in the rooms except to sleep and the bed was very comfortable. We look forward to staying here again real soon, since it is only a couple of hours away from us in Granada.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lchamorro84, Manager at Hotel Anamar, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments, we appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Anamar. It is rewarding for us to have satisfied guests! We will be pleased to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went to Anamar hotel San Juan del sur it was the worst experience ive had in years.
My daughter loves swimmingpools and the beach so that's why ive choosen this hotel
First they ask 70 dollar for a room value of 30 Dollars but we stayed there for the child and the swimming pool.
Then came the night.. my daughter woke up 1 at night crying..she was been bitting.
After looking in the room we found BEDBUGS so at 2 o'clock the segurity guy changed the room for another room. when we woke up nobody asked us how it was going (my child has been bittin a lot of times and here legs and back where red) but we paid in advance so i suposed to stay at this terrible place. then another night came..and again we found bedbugs ( im glad we found them before sleeping) so i went to the responsible ( friendly guy) of the hotel and he told me we could sleep in another room ..but i told him i wanted to leave because i wanted to get a good night sleep. then the female owner went to our room and i told here i want to leave this hotel then she said ok you can leave..so i asked here my 70 dollars back then she said no i can not give you 70 dollars back i give you 50 because you paid with creditcard, then i told here she's crazy first we coulden't sleep the first night and after she want to give only 50 dollars .. at the end she gave us our 70 dollars and we went to sleep at a very good hotel. please never go the this place.. there are a lot of better places in San juan Del sur

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lchamorro84, Owner at Hotel Anamar, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We apologize for your unpleasant experience here in Anamar. We are a new business and run into road bumps here and there but are always trying to improve our facilities and the quality of our guests’ stay. We discovered that the origin of the insects were some new pieces of furniture we had recently installed from a farm outside of town. The day that you and your family left we fumigated and re-cleaned the entire hotel and have been inspecting thoroughly throughout the past weeks for any reappearance of the bed bugs. This issue has been resolved and we hope that your experience will not deter future guests from choosing our family owned hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Last month, my friend, toddler and I stayed at Hotel Anamar. It was a great little beach hotel with a bar, restaurant and pool. It is situated about a 3 min walk from the 'busy' part of the beach so you can relax in peace or take a short walk to get to shopping and tourists.

We especially enjoyed the beach side restaurant and bar with the pool. It was reasonably priced so we ate there often during our stay. We loved sitting on the pool deck and munching out while the sun set or the locals and tourists wandered by. The pool was perfect for kids, too, as it had different levels to play in.

The best part about our stay though was the manager and his girlfriend. They truly treat you like guests, not customers. They were quick with tips and advice about the area. They even reminded us to print-out a proof of return tickets when we crossed into Costa Rica... saved us money! haha

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to other travelers and friends.

Room Tip: The nights of the first half of the week are very peaceful and then the weekend brings in music from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lchamorro84, Manager at Hotel Anamar, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your generous feedback. We are glad that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will return at Hotel Anamar soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel experience was GREAT!!! One of the only hotels in the area that the owners speak English. The rooms are spacious and nice. Drinks were very reasonable. We stayed there for 4 nights we only intended on 2 but the place and people were awesome!!! The pool is wonderful and sits right on the ocean. We checked alot of other hotels in San Juan Del Sur and far they had the nicest pool and rooms and people were friendly. I would stay there again in a heart beat. The only thing that I would change is that the restaurant and bar a little slow at getting you what you asked but it is the same as any where else you go in Nicaragua.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 and it was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billie3036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lchamorro84, Manager at Hotel Anamar, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Than you for the time you have taken to review to our hotel. We are glad that you had a good stay. We also hope to see you at Hotel Anamar again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HC Suites Hotel
HC Suites Hotel
#17 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Posada Azul
La Posada Azul
#3 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Pacifico Hotel
El Pacifico Hotel
#7 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anamar

Property: Hotel Anamar
Address: Calle Paseo del Rey | Zona Costera Norte, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel in the sand in the center of town...and with a pool...nothing beats it. Come relax in the shade of our palms and enjoy refreshing cocktails and fresh seafood specials from our bar restaurant. Take a dip in the pool or the ocean, a stroll around our little fishing village or seek adventure on sea or land. All is possible - you just have to get yourself here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Anamar Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing