We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ending for your meals”

Superfrutto Gelateria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect ending for your meals”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After sunset dinner in one of the restaurants nearby and because of a recommendation from our hotel's hosts, me and my husband decided to go for it. We were glad to be in early as they had plenty of every flavor. We couldn't help to notice the bright color of the dragon fruit gelato. Both of us had 2 different tastes so we could try the most of them. The gelato is great and for the price you cannot go wrong!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    34
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good ice cream, but service with an attitude. Went there a few times and no one smiled. There are about 14 flavors of gelato, not bad for a small town. Unfortunately the gelato is not frozen all the way through and it melts very quickly. I have learned to order at the smaller size in a cup and return for seconds if I am still hungry. Much better than the Nicaraguan ice cream shop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Gelato, Period.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I can't understand the less than stellar review of Superfrutto Gelateria in SJDS... the gelato was on par with the best I've had in Italy, US, Spain... anywhere... and it's a fraction of the price in Nica. I'm partial to caffe, but others in our group were just as impressed with the stracciatella and yogurt flavors.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle-Rico-Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“real ice cream in an unexpected place.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

For a special after dinner treat of of Superfrutto's unusual flavors never ceases to hit the spot. It is a step up in ice cream quality. The prices are reasonable and the service almost instantaneous. It is 99% take out but I wouldn't let that hold you back. It is just steps from the boardwalk where you can watch one of San Juan del Sur's spectacular sunsets. This place is suitable for children of all ages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Had higher expectations”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Although I am not an expert on all things gelatto, I did find the gellato here a tad on the sweet and syrupy side compared to other gelattos I have sampled.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mochilero22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Superfrutto Gelateria also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Superfrutto Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing