We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, best place in town, super helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Alcazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alcazar
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I really liked this place. Great value for money & great place

Staff were brilliant - booked us a lot of trips (esp a great hike up the volcano on omatepe!) & everything was great. Really clean etc

Really good location, good bfast. STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 180 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Hotel Alcazar. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable-nice bed, bathroom and good AC. The hotel is conveniently located on the main street running parallel to the beach and has great views and easy access to everything in town. You have a choice to have breakfast downstairs or they will deliver to your room. (Great bonus). We had ours on our beautiful balcony. This is when we really felt like we were on vacation. Wonderful way to begin the day. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WideWorldGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel Alcazar was a last minute find, and I was certainly glad I came across it. The hotel exceeded my every expectation. Located right in front of the sea, the views from the room were stunning, and quickly proved to be the best spot to watch the stunning sunsets each evening. Waking up to views of the sea from the terrace was equally as beautiful. The staff were all very accommodating and helpful when I had questions about San Juan Del Sur, or anything else. The hotel was very safe, with a security on duty every night. I truly enjoyed my time in San Juan Del Sur and at Hotel Alcazar. I shall return. Thank you for making my stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Room #7 on the very top floor provided for unrivaled views of the sunset. Watch it from your terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDawson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Spent a lot of time on the internet trying to figure out the best place to stay in San Juan del sur. this was my choice and I think I scored big. Nice view of the ocean from the balcony, great restaurant directly across the street (any shrimp dish), and very friendly/helpful staff. Stayed 5 nights in February 2014. Neil and Linda.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flash9696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I spent 2 nights at the Hotel Alacazar. The rooms were beautiful and clean with great Ocean view. The staff was friendly and helpful. Directly across a small, lightly traveled street, is a very large and pristine beach. It is in a bay surrounded by picturesque mountains. The beach front restaurants are very nice and very cheap ( fresh lobster for $9). The rooms are spacious and well appointed with all the modern amenities. The terrace is spectacular. A terrific place and a wonderful experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minuteman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed two nights at this hotel and I was very impressed with the hotel and the service.
I stayed in room 7 and that was an awesome beautiful room, more like a penthouse room with a big patio overlooking the beach. I can really recommend it. Gorgeous views!
The staff was very friendly and service minded. A small breakfast was included (coffe or juice and a ball with fresh fruits).
Hotel is very centrally located next to the beach and with walking distance to everything. Everything is newly renovated and with beautiful finishes and materials. The hotel feel like it is new built.
The pool area are more like a courtyard with a soaking pool.
Yes there are some noise in the evenings from nearby bars and clubs but I had my windows and doors closed and had no problems with it.
This is the best location in town.
I will definitely stay here again and I recommend it to others.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Dannes-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was a perfect place to stay! The room was wonderful, and you can't beat the location - across the street from the beach. We even ran out of the hotel barefoot one day so we wouldn't have to worry about our stuff at the beach.

We made great use of our private balcony overlooking the beach. I highly recommend springing for a room that has one of those.

My only complaint was that fellow guest upstairs played his music a little loud when we were trying to sleep. But, I'll cut him some slack 'cause playing at the beach had us going to bed at 8:30pm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeansebasroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#7 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#13 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
338 reviews
4.7 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
143 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#14 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcazar

Address: Calle El Paseo Del Rey. Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte | Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $111 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alcazar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alcazar is a beautiful boutique hotel featuring nine custom designed suites, each with its own unique personality. Totally renovated and updated in 2012, we are located just steps from the Pacific Ocean in the charming fishing village of San Juan Del Sur. Enjoy the aromas of the tropical off shore breezes and famous Latin American sunsets, unbelievable!Step back in time as you travel to San Juan Del Sur about two hours from Managua's international airport. You will pass through small villages, fields of sugar cane, groves of papaya and plantain trees and pass ox carts carrying products to local markets as they have done for hundreds of years. ALCAZARING-Al-ca'-zahr-ing(al-kuh-zahr-ing) verb: indulgent relaxation on our open air balconies or beaches while enjoying your favorite beverage as the sun slow sets. Nestle into the comfort of your suite with generous ocean view balconies furnished for comfort, conversation and total relaxation. Our staff is local and attentive to helping you enjoy your stay in as relaxed or as adventurous mode as you desire. Alcazar features stone graced walls accented with exotic woods from the local surroundings. Baths are detailed with handmade ceramic tiles, basins and fixtures. Services and facilities include: Swimming pool, laundry service, in room spa services, bi-lingual staff, full concierge services and tour organization. Lose yourself in a hideaway world of first-class comfort and service set within classic, sophisticated architecture graced with state of the art comforts, artfully nestled among beautiful features, handmade from nothing but the finest materials that Nicaragua has to offer. Please come stay with us...You will return with your friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alcazar Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing