We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under Contruction” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alcazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alcazar
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
louisville,colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Under Contruction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights and for the money I would have picked another hotel. It's still under construction so if you have breathing problems, look elsewhere. Power is on and off, woke up to no water. Can't use the toilet. And across the street is a club that spills into the street and is a very loud party all night long . They give you earplugs to use, so that's a sign...
Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the balcony very nice.
To make up for the inconveniences they gave us a free manicure and pedicure.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GteHotelAlcazar, General Manager at Hotel Alcazar, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear ljc65,

Greetings from San Juan del Sur. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your constructive feedback as well as to point out the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We apologize for the fact that you had clearly not enjoyed your time here. However there are things that are out of our control as it is our noisy neighbors or the fact that there is a construction to improve the public water system in town causing troubles with water supply. We are sorry that your stay with us did not fulfill your expectations – we are continually trying to improve our performance and make our guests stay the best possible which is why we were having the remodeling which will be finish in two weeks.

Your review has made us work even harder and try to make things much better as well as communicate all details to our guests before arrival.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and pointing out the great things about us and we hope to have you here once we are completely done with the remodeling.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    45
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
20
71
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
louisville,colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights and for the money I would have picked another hotel. It's still under construction so if you have breathing problems, look elsewhere. Power is on and off, woke up to no water. Can't use the toilet. And across the street is a club that spills into the street and is a very loud party all night long . They give you earplugs to use, so that's a sign...
Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the balcony very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Alcazar is a bit spendy for San Juan but the terrace of our room had a couch, two chairs and a table overlooking the beach (which is across the street), making it like a suite with outdoor living room. The room was clean and attractive, with free wifi, safe, air conditioning and ceiling fans in the room and the terrace. Very small but adequate bathroom with hot water. The hotel does not have a restaurant but is surrounded by them. The pool is too small for swimming, it's more like a plunge pool, but is in attractive surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floor for the best view. All rooms face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a really nice time in San Juan del Sur. We stayed at Hotel Alcazar which was very modern by Nica standards. The room we had was large with a large balcony with a great view of the beach. Daniel, Alexandria and Marion at the hotel were super nice as well as the night security. The hotel is very safe but I did manage to "lose" a bra and 2 yoga pants in my room. The pool is very small about 8' x 10' so not really a great hotel for sunny, Pelican Eyes is better for that. We hung out there for the day so it didn't matter that we didn't have a pool, we liked the closeness of being in town.

Be warned - there is a lot of noise/music from the neighbouring restaurants and hotels. We live in a city so we were used to that but if you want quiet, this place is not for you. Also the wireless was non existent in the room which didn't matter to us as we checked emails in the lobby.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which had a large balcony and a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank modn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I picked this hotel from the Trip Advisor reviews and so happy with it. I was torn between staying here or at pelican resorts. My boyfriend and I decided we wanted to stay in the heart of things and we were very glad with our choice. I worked with Alexandra in booking this trip and when we got to the hotel everyone was very helpful. They had great recommendations for places to eat, take surf lessons, and a day trip to Costa Rica. Our room was very nice, great balcony with ocean view. the A/C worked great!!! Odd that the hot water was turned off during certain hours but this wasn't a problem for us- in fact I think if you need the hot water during off hours the hotel will turn it on. They had a very small pool, good if you have kids but we don't and didn't go into it. Many reviews talked about noise level, there is a Hostel behind the hotel but the music didn't bother us. We didn't need the earplugs supplied.

Bummer no breakfast served but this encourage us to go out for it- we went to an awesome place ( Negro Gato i think).

My boyfriend complained the mattress was hard- definitely not what we're use to but it wan't that bad.

I did have to ask for more shampoo and they didn't have hair conditioner (at least this is what I was told) but that's not a big deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Alcazar was very enjoyable and satisfactory. We were warmly and friendly welcomed by Alexandra who made us feel quite comfortable and at ease. The hotel is well appointed, clean, and modern. The rooms are big, with a beautiful balcony, a nice bed, and a small fridge. Daniel and Alexandra, both at the front desk, were very helpful at all times and treated us with much professionalism and respect. They guided us and provided all the necessary information to visit the most important and beautiful places in the city. Coincidentally,
we were there on the day of Virgin del Carmen's eve, patroness of town, and gladly enjoyed the faithful celebration and feast in her honor. That was a great religious experience that we will never forget. May God bless San Juan del Sur!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationJan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

So its a small boutique hotel in a good location- very well appointed- a small pool- staff are friendly and helpful- there are some negatives- no breakfast and a very limited amount of coffee is made in the morning- no hot water before 6AM which I experienced taking a shower
a little pricey-some construction noise from next door
overall good- lanai is the best feature

Room Tip: 3fr floor with large balcony overlooking everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.7 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.8 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcazar

Property: Hotel Alcazar
Address: Calle El Paseo Del Rey. Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte | Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alcazar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alcazar is a beautiful boutique hotel featuring nine custom designed suites, each with its own unique personality. Totally renovated and updated in 2012, we are located just steps from the Pacific Ocean in the charming fishing village of San Juan Del Sur. Enjoy the aromas of the tropical off shore breezes and famous Latin American sunsets, unbelievable!Step back in time as you travel to San Juan Del Sur about two hours from Managua's international airport. You will pass through small villages, fields of sugar cane, groves of papaya and plantain trees and pass ox carts carrying products to local markets as they have done for hundreds of years. ALCAZARING-Al-ca'-zahr-ing(al-kuh-zahr-ing) verb: indulgent relaxation on our open air balconies or beaches while enjoying your favorite beverage as the sun slow sets. Nestle into the comfort of your suite with generous ocean view balconies furnished for comfort, conversation and total relaxation. Our staff is local and attentive to helping you enjoy your stay in as relaxed or as adventurous mode as you desire. Alcazar features stone graced walls accented with exotic woods from the local surroundings. Baths are detailed with handmade ceramic tiles, basins and fixtures. Services and facilities include: Swimming pool, laundry service, in room spa services, bi-lingual staff, full concierge services and tour organization. Lose yourself in a hideaway world of first-class comfort and service set within classic, sophisticated architecture graced with state of the art comforts, artfully nestled among beautiful features, handmade from nothing but the finest materials that Nicaragua has to offer. Please come stay with us...You will return with your friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alcazar Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing