We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alcazar
Nearby Hotels
$105
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
$42
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$63
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Chateau Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bahia Hotel(Playa Marsella)
$63
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Estacion(San Juan del Sur)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Dolce Vita(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Costa Dulce(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel(Playa Marsella)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
105
52
10
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
52
10
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hoteldirectly across the streetyogurtoffer ear plugsbars and clubsin townbeachfront roomocean viewcontinental breakfastnoisy at nightduring low seasonhuge balconywater pressurewould highly recommend this hotelplunge poolalfredosmall pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 179 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I picked this hotel from the Trip Advisor reviews and so happy with it. I was torn between staying here or at pelican resorts. My boyfriend and I decided we wanted to stay in the heart of things and we were very glad with our choice. I worked with Alexandra in booking this trip and when we got to the hotel everyone was very helpful. They had great recommendations for places to eat, take surf lessons, and a day trip to Costa Rica. Our room was very nice, great balcony with ocean view. the A/C worked great!!! Odd that the hot water was turned off during certain hours but this wasn't a problem for us- in fact I think if you need the hot water during off hours the hotel will turn it on. They had a very small pool, good if you have kids but we don't and didn't go into it. Many reviews talked about noise level, there is a Hostel behind the hotel but the music didn't bother us. We didn't need the earplugs supplied.

Bummer no breakfast served but this encourage us to go out for it- we went to an awesome place ( Negro Gato i think).

My boyfriend complained the mattress was hard- definitely not what we're use to but it wan't that bad.

I did have to ask for more shampoo and they didn't have hair conditioner (at least this is what I was told) but that's not a big deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Alcazar was very enjoyable and satisfactory. We were warmly and friendly welcomed by Alexandra who made us feel quite comfortable and at ease. The hotel is well appointed, clean, and modern. The rooms are big, with a beautiful balcony, a nice bed, and a small fridge. Daniel and Alexandra, both at the front desk, were very helpful at all times and treated us with much professionalism and respect. They guided us and provided all the necessary information to visit the most important and beautiful places in the city. Coincidentally,
we were there on the day of Virgin del Carmen's eve, patroness of town, and gladly enjoyed the faithful celebration and feast in her honor. That was a great religious experience that we will never forget. May God bless San Juan del Sur!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationJan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

So its a small boutique hotel in a good location- very well appointed- a small pool- staff are friendly and helpful- there are some negatives- no breakfast and a very limited amount of coffee is made in the morning- no hot water before 6AM which I experienced taking a shower
a little pricey-some construction noise from next door
overall good- lanai is the best feature

Room Tip: 3fr floor with large balcony overlooking everything
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the hotel is clean and comfortable. We had a spacious room and enjoyed looking out on the Pacific from our balcony. We had to leave our room to get WiFi, but we could always get a signal somewhere in the hotel. We'd recommend it as a decent place to stay if you're visiting SJDS and want accommodations that beat the hostels in town.

We weren't thrilled about San Juan del Sur, in general, though. Pros: great seafood and the surf looks great (though we're not surfers). Cons: SJDS is super noisy and the infrastructure has clearly been shaped almost wholly by backpacker and surfer culture. We'd thought we were going somewhere like Sayulita—but the beaches weren't as nice as Sayulita's, and we were happy to move on (which was no fault of Hotel Alcazar's).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ybanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Believe all the photos of this property! It is a gem. Best location, large rooms and huge patios/decks that are decorated as cool as the rooms. Truly indoor/outdoor living. The experience far exceeds the price. Great value and accommodating staff. Marion, the manager and her Team take care of all your needs. They can put a refrigerator in your room or bring you a bottle of wine from poolside. I felt like I finally got lucky when picking a property from Tripadvisor comments. We took our teenage boys. They stayed in a separate room and we rarely locked door. Trust me, we had every Apple product in tow. We walked to the way more expensive Pelican property and I wouldn't have changed hotels for anything. Alcazar is fantastic. Go!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Danibudnieski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews