We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alcazar
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Victoriano(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Chateau Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
$42
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$63
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrio Cafe Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$365
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Rosa Nicaragua(Playa Marsella)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
$290
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
105
52
10
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
52
10
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hoteldirectly across the streetyogurtoffer ear plugsbars and clubsin townbeachfront roomocean viewcontinental breakfastnoisy at nightduring low seasonhuge balconywater pressurewould highly recommend this hotelplunge poolalfredosmall pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 179 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for several days on our way back to Costa Rica and this hotel exceeded our expectations! Very clean and comfortable rooms within minutes to the beach and our favorite restaurant was directly across the street. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you again for a memorable experience!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dayboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Alcazar Hotel for two nights in April 2013. The amenities were lovely, the staff was very helpful and it felt like a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle outside. The manager was extremely attentive and courteous. I felt very safe with a guard on duty. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Oh and the view and location are spectacular, best in San Juan del Sur by far.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Initially I was planning on staying in this hotel for 3 days but ended up staying for a week. One of the best things is that the rooms are spaacious and the bed is cooomfy and you have a little terrace that looks out to the town´s main street (but not the busy part, so is quiet) and the beach. Has a nice pool and the people are extremely nice and helpful. I went out at night and got back quite late (everyday) and there was always someone ready to open the door for me. Its also very safe (impooortant). Also, walking distance (couple of minutes) to awesome nightlife. Awesome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoVK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Alcazar is amazing! The rooms are quite stunning in appearance - wonderfully decorated, spacious and clean, each with a lovely balcony overlooking the Pacific and the main strip of SJDS. Marion (manager) and Daniel (GSA) were both very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is fantastic, but does give way to my only criticism: the noise is almost unbearable. Screaming and loud music from the street until almost 2am and hammering and banging at 6am from within the hotel itself. While totally gorgeous and I would definitely stay again, next time I would undoubtedly bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sivartyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GteHotelAlcazar, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Alcazar, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the features of our facilities and your view about our level of guest service quality.

We are glad that you liked the hotel and that you found the service and attention of our staff to be very good.

In regards with the inconvenience that you experienced with the construction noise, unfortunately it is beyond our will and control because it comes from another building next to us
that is still under construction and it seems as far as we know it will be finished in a couple of months.

As for the noise from across the street or from the nearby bars and restaurants on the beach, it is a normal and usual situation on the weekends or days like fridays, saturdays, sundays and, sometimes even thursdays, the ambience becomes very festive and, again is beyond our control and will.

For all of our customers with light sleep and noise sensitive ears we can offer ear plugs for their convenience, next time you stay with us please mention that you would like to get a pair or two if you are staying with us over the weekend so we can give this to you at the fron desk.

We hope to host you again in a near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Alcazar exhausted after traveling for two days from London and were greeted by extremely warm and hospitable staff at the early hours of the morning. The room was spotless, unexpectedly stylish and comfortable with a big 4-poster bed, TV, air con and a large nicely furnished balcony overlooking the picturesque San Juan del Sur bay. It was the perfect start to our holiday and we are still so appreciative for that after our long travels. We never expected such a high standard of accommodation here and ended up extending our stay at Alcazar because of it.

Downstairs was a private back area which was a little oasis with a nice sized pool, spread out large comfy sofas and a kitchenette where you could help yourself to coffee, keep your wine chilled, great wifi, somewhere to unwind in the heat and feel completely away from it all. Despite the beach being on your doorstep it offered that privacy you need occasionally.

I would say that what sets Alcazar apart from the other hotels we have stayed at is the upscale design, the high standards of cleanliness, attentive staff, and overall value for money. We would hands down say that this is your best bet if you're visiting San Juan del Sur, definitely worth staying longer than just one night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahWhitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews