We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potentially good hotel,poor value due to bad neighbours”
Review of Hotel Alcazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alcazar
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

While in good location,and well appointed,they still have problems from new ownership. There is no breakfast,and few restaurants are open nearby at an early hour. The greatest negative is a construction site next door,where uncouth,workers molest women with their unwanted and obnoxious gestures. In my case my wife and I could not leave the hotel for a walk without provoking this type of outrageous behaviour. I stopped a police patrol and asked them to explain that this neanderthal behaviour is forcing us to cancel a stay I prepaid, as I refuse to accept insults in a place where I am a paying customer. The hotel staff itself was reluctant to even ask the construction foreman to stop the unwanted gestures.. I strongly advise female travellers or couples to avoid this hotel,due to the obnoxious workers next door.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious,and clean. There is no breakfast,even COFFEE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetnicagirl, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alcazar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Mike,

Thank you for your comment about our hotel.

We are relatively a new hotel, and we are in the process of adding all the services that we would like to offer to our guests.

The building is still in the process of redesign, and remodeling, so there are still some missing services and amenities in our facilities that we still have to add to make our guests have a more comfortable and pleasant stay in our hotel.

We are indeed really sorry for what happened to your wife and you outside of the hotel. We know it is so upsetting being bothered or molested on the street, however we do not have any control over the things or problems that happen to our guests on the streets, it is beyond our will and control these kind of bad experiences, but it is too bad that this happened to you and that you have blamed it on the hotel staff. We are and we will always be responsible for all the things that happen to our guests in our hotel, in our building, inside our premises only.

It is always good that these kinds of bad situations like molestations, harassments, or any other kind of verbal or physical abuse to be reported to the police or the respective authorities just like you did when you called the police to talk to those people who bothered you.

Once again we are really sorry that this happened to you in our town which is normally a very tranquil, and laid back town.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 173 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Yeimy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marycela2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Josse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CPORTUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.7 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
329 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#13 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
183 reviews
3.3 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcazar

Address: Calle El Paseo Del Rey. Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte | Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $113 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alcazar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alcazar is a beautiful boutique hotel featuring nine custom designed suites, each with its own unique personality. Totally renovated and updated in 2012, we are located just steps from the Pacific Ocean in the charming fishing village of San Juan Del Sur. Enjoy the aromas of the tropical off shore breezes and famous Latin American sunsets, unbelievable!Step back in time as you travel to San Juan Del Sur about two hours from Managua's international airport. You will pass through small villages, fields of sugar cane, groves of papaya and plantain trees and pass ox carts carrying products to local markets as they have done for hundreds of years. ALCAZARING-Al-ca'-zahr-ing(al-kuh-zahr-ing) verb: indulgent relaxation on our open air balconies or beaches while enjoying your favorite beverage as the sun slow sets. Nestle into the comfort of your suite with generous ocean view balconies furnished for comfort, conversation and total relaxation. Our staff is local and attentive to helping you enjoy your stay in as relaxed or as adventurous mode as you desire. Alcazar features stone graced walls accented with exotic woods from the local surroundings. Baths are detailed with handmade ceramic tiles, basins and fixtures. Services and facilities include: Swimming pool, laundry service, in room spa services, bi-lingual staff, full concierge services and tour organization. Lose yourself in a hideaway world of first-class comfort and service set within classic, sophisticated architecture graced with state of the art comforts, artfully nestled among beautiful features, handmade from nothing but the finest materials that Nicaragua has to offer. Please come stay with us...You will return with your friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alcazar Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing